We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #86 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Decent Hotel, Clean rooms, -- very close to the Mall so that you can walk to a lot of the places however if you come to DC in the summers you wont want to do that. Costs approx. USD 15 from the station by cab. Concierge was not really very helpful as was the travel desk but luckily we had made all our bookings prior.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I will look into yur comments about our travel desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    598
    266
    78
    43
See reviews for
496
250
74
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed the time when I was at the hotel
The room is big and comfotable, and there is a great bar in the hotel that has music shows every wednesday.

The location of the hotle is very good, very close to the subway and because of that, easy to get from the airport.

The breakfeast is really great there, a very high class indeed, a vast vary of foods in offered and a friendly staff.

The staff on the reception is very friendly too and professional.
The hotel is right at the Mall and 5 minutes walk will get you there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for your 4 night visit to Washington, DC. I appreciate your comments about our hotel, staff and food & beverage. If you ever travel to the states again, and to this area, I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed at this property for years. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting D.C. Close to metro, great rooms, amazing staff and convenient parking.close to everything, whether it's business or pleasure. I'll be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal fan to our hotel. I really appreciate your business, your comments and your recommendation. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is located close to the sights in DC...the mall, Smithsonian, etc
But it is an old building, showing wear. It is located next to the commuter rail but I didn't mind the noise of the train because the in-room heater/AC was so loud I couldn't hear the train. When I shut off the fan, the room filled with the smell of cigarette smoke...I am not a smoker. I suspect the hvac system was dumping smoke from somewhere else in the building.
The TV cable/dish service was on/off and the complimentary internet was slow and continuously shut down.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We have a major renovation planned starting in November 2013. This renovation will address most of your concerns. I can't move the railroad, but we are even addressing the noise issues associated with the trains. I hope if you are ever visiting DC again, you will try us again after our renovation. I believe you will be quite pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at the Capitol Holiday Inn for a business meeting at the FAA. The hotel is very conveniently located to the Metro and is walking distance to the National Mall. I've stayed here several times and never leave unhappy. The cost is quite high, but that is a supply and demand issue most of the time. The rooms are a bit dated but sufficient. The staff has always been extremely helpful. I recommend staying here for any trip to DC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for continuing to stay at our hotel. We appreciate it. We also really appreciate you recommending us to other travelers. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed here 15 yrs ago--read all reviews--we found room very clean and neat--about to undergo a major room renovation--we found it close to all Mall sights, monuments, and the Metro--we mastered the Metro in off peak hrs and after first tries it was easy--very easy to get to Arlington--multiple taxis outside make a run across town to a restaurant easy so car stays in garage under hotel but just like NYC it costs a lot to park a car--$35 a day--breakfast included in room is a large buffet and makes an early getaway to sights easy in the am--

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for returning and after so many years. I hope it won't be another 15 before you visit us again. I appreciate your comments that you posted about our hotel. Until next time.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This Holiday Inn would be just another solid hotel option in DC if it weren't for its price and location.

Our room was clean, large enough and came with an in-room fridge as well as free wi-fi (two things which don't always come included in a booking). The breakfast buffet had biscuits and gravy on top of the usual hot and cold fare (bacon, sausages, french toast, potatoes, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries), and the in-house restaurant served solid, if unexciting, dinner fare. Didn't get to try out the pool or the fitness room, but this hotel had these amenities available.

What really made our stay a convenient one was the hotel's location: a 2-minute walk from the Smithsonian Air & Space museum, less than half a mile's walk to the Capitol, and a 15-minute walk to the Washington Monument. For DC visitors like us with a baby and a 6-year old, this was the perfect place for us to stay. We didn't really need to be close to any of the foodie places or trendy nightspots (of which there are none in this hotel's immediate vicinity), but we did want to be able to walk to the key sights in the city.

We would stay here again should we return to DC in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a great review of our hotel. We hope you will come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.