We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Business Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #87 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
East Windsor, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not for Business Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is Holiday Inn has a great location for anyone visiting the Smithsonian and the Mall so most guests are families with noisy children. This combined with the train noise from the Amtrak tracks that run along one wing of the hotel makes it unsuitable for business travelers looking for a sound nights sleep or a place to have drinks with clients.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms along the side that faces the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We do have many business travelers stay with us. During the summer, especially July and August, we do have more families staying with us compared to the rest of the year. July and August are usually the only time families can take their vacations because their children are out of school. We welcome all guests to our hotel. We like having a diversity of guests stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    598
    266
    78
    44
See reviews for
497
250
74
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel has the best location in DC. Service was excellent and property did look like brand new,
You are able to take metro to go anywhere just from the corner. We walk to most of the museums and mall. Monuments are in walking distance too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel, location and staff. I really appreciate it. We all look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Right behind museum air & space, right next to metro. Lots of families so kids running around screaming and yelling (parents are screaming and yelling too).
Top floor is the worse because it is the only access to pool.
The rooms needs modernization.
On Sundays and after 630p street parking is free. Panda parking for $12on Saturdays. At least in the summer, if you want to rest for a business meeting or work in the room, you are out of luck, the doors and walls are thin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We do have many business travelers that stay with us at the hotel. But you are correct, this time of year, especially July and August we have a lot of families that stay with us. Most families have to wait to enjoy their vacation after school is out and before it begins in the fall. This day and age, that window of time is only a few months. As far as renovation, we have a major renovation that is starting this November. All of our guest rooms, bathrooms, hallways, meeting space and some public space will be updated with a new modern, elegant look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is a couple of blocks off the Mall area behind the air/space museum. It was a perfect location in the day. My family could easily walk to many of the museums. As others have said, the place could use a good renovation, but our room was clean and well kept over our three night stay. Also, it was a very quiet stay. At night we didn't hear doors or plumbing from other rooms.
Negatives? The location is great, but it is a business district and even the Starbucks was closed by 7pm. (We walked to the Mall to enjoy the evening lights.) Also, our stay included vouchers for breakfast. We used them at the cafe downstairs that offered a pretty extensive buffet. The food was okay, but understaffed. The bar is also understaffed.

Would recommend!

Room Tip: Might want to avoid 9th floor due to roof top pool foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you and your family for staying with us while you enjoyed the sights here in Washington, DC. I appreciate your comments and will share your staffing concerns with our Food & Beverage Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Ga
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I took two grand kids to Washington D C for a summer vacation. This Holiday Inn was so convenient to the National Mall, Capital, etc. We took several tours via trolley which picked us up in front of the hotel. The room was ok and we ate a few times at the hotel restaurant. McDonald's was near by along with a few sandwich shops. The kids n joyed the swimming pool on top of the hotel. Metro is very close too. Our only scary encounter, not to do with the hotel, we took a cruise on the Potomac and when we completed the cruise, we tried to hail a taxi and could not. It was late afternoon and taxi's were busy and ignored us. We started walking which caused us to get in an unsafe neighborhood. Thankfully God was with us and we finally got a taxi ride! Great trip other than the taxi ordeal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I hope the taxi experience didn't ruin you and your grandchildren' overall DC experience. We appreciate that you stayed with us. We hope you will stay with us again if you return to DC. We would also be more than happy to share with you information about the various areas of DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were totally impressed at how conveniently located the hotel was. It was only two blocks over from the Air and Space Museum and a couple blocks from the subway system. The people were very friendly and the room very comfortable and roomy. The rooftop pool was on the smaller end, but a big hit with our kids! Fortunately, we negotiated our parking in with our hotel deal, which made it very affordable. The rooms have good sized refrigerators too. Make sure to bring your own groceries though as there are no stores for purchasing groceries (not even bread) nearby. The hotel had a breakfast/lunch restaurant and dinner place as well. Prices varied depending on the items. The perfect place to stay with a family and terrific location for walking to "the mall." One thing we learned to do next time would be to bring our own bikes, helmets, and bike locks for touring the city. We walked a lot to everything, but would have gone further on our bikes too.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the train tracks - facing the Capitol/mall side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I appreciate your great review of our hotel, staff and location. As a fellow biker, next time please bring your bikes. DC traffic can be crazy, but there are numerous bike trails and places to bike that are a lot of fun. One trip in particular that is beautiful and safe is the Mt. Vernon bike trail. The trail goes from DC proper, past Reagan National Airport (fun to stop and watch the planes fly overhead) to Mt Vernon. I always stop here and get something to eat before turning around and coming back. You could also lock up your bikes and enjoy Mt Vernon and then ride back. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadddonfield NJ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just a block or two from the Air and Space Museum, this hotel is perfectly located for tourists. The rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable, the staff are nice and helpful, and the parking is easy and convenient (but not cheap). Their breakfast buffet is excellent, with scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, oatmeal, pastries, waffles, cereals, fresh fruit, and other goodies, well-prepared.

Without a doubt, I would have given this hotel a 5-star rating if we'd been able to access the free wireless internet. The signal was very weak and slow, the few times we were able to sign on.

The next time we're in Washington, we'll definitely stay here. Hopefully by then they will have updated their wireless routers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review about our property, staff, breakfast buffet and clean rooms. I'm sorry you had internet issues. One of the things we are looking at currently is to upgrade our internet wiring when we do our fall/winter 2013/2014 renovation. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.