We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #80 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Morgantown, wv
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very affordable, clean, safe AND a GREAT price for this hotel, walking distance to all Smithsonian museums, Holocaust, Newseum. Rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet. Starbucks just through the side doors of hotel. Good parking, only thing that could be better is more restaurants in the area but there are cafeterias in the Smithsonians. CVS right down the street also. We didn't try the restaurant in the hotel but it looked good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate you commenting on our location, cleanliness, and affordability. Hopefully, you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    742
    309
    87
    51
See reviews for
625
305
90
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our first week we stayed at another (very expensive) hotel in DuPont Circle, a very nice hotel but not as convenient as this one. This hotel made us feel right at home and the convenience of its location is endless! First, it is a very short walk from the L'enfant Metro Station, where you can board the underground subway system and go anywhere you want. Then, it is within walking distance to the Capital, White House, Smithsonian museums and much more. Our best decision was to buy the 48 hr. pass on the Big Bus Tour, which we were able to catch one block from this hotel (in front of the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum). This bus took us everywhere we wanted to go and we saw Washington, DC from it's open top.

Our room here overlooked the Terrace and it was amazing. It was a big room with a comfortable bed and a small sink/fridge area. Yes, the corners of the carpet in the room and hall needed to be cleaned better, but that was the only negative I saw...and it didn't change my world at all.

After spending tons of money at the fancy restaurants in DuPont circle, we found the meals at the Capital Grill (inside the hotel) to be just as nice and far less money. The breakfast and lunch buffets were extremely affordable and tasty. The restaurant was very clean and the very attentive staff made eating there a very nice experience. It was a treat to do our sightseeing most of the day and know that we could return to the hotel for a cold beer in the very nice bar, or have a nice meal without going out to search for another place.

The pool on the top of the roof (9th floor) isn't the fanciest. It is rather small but has plenty of lounge chairs and towels so it is perfect for the quick cool off dip and an afternoon of sun. You can also see the Capital from there.

Having a CVS next store was extremely convenient, and we loved having a McDonalds nearby for those quick milk shakes. The men and women manning the tour desk were very helpful in planning our days and the front desk made every effort to make our stay a wonderful experience.

I would not only stay there again, but I am planning to take a group of my friends there for a "girl's weekend" because it is the perfect place to stay in Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a Terrace side room. We had a corner suite with a separate living room and sleeper sofa. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We really appreciate you staying with us after visiting the Dupont Circle area of Washington, DC. I'm so glad your stay here exceeded your expectations and we look forward to having you back for "girl's weekend".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of this Holiday Inn is very good, close to Museums and Capitol Hill. It also has cafes, restaurants and a Starbucks within its boundaries. The rooms are nicely set out and include a fridge in the room. However, we found our room very noisy, being able to hear everything in the corridors and the rooms either side. There was also a constant humming from our fridge so we turned it off. There was still a humming sound which could have been next doors fridge. The back rooms are on the railway line so a bit of noise comes from there as well. Although they offer soft and firm pillows which are nicely marked, we found all pillows to be lumpy. To finish on a positive, the staff were all lovely and very helpful.

Room Tip: I definitely would stay towards the back of the hotel or rooms bordering the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I'm so sorry you had issues with your refrigerator. I wish you would have let us know during your stay so we could have resolved the issue for you. I appreciate you writing a review of our hotel and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is hard to beat for anyone visiting the Capitol. We loved the location, the staff and the room. Perfect for our Grand USA Tour. Although we only stayed three nights we enjoyed every moment with the star attractions of the Mall, Museums and of course the Capitol Building. What a wonderful memory

Room Tip: All the room and the location are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I'm so glad that we will add to your memories of Washington, DC. Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. Hopefully, next time you are in the states and in our area, you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This property is great if you want to do a walking tour of the Capitol and nearby Smithsonian or catch a ride on the Metro nearby. L' Enfant Plaza Metro station right around the corner. This is an older Holiday Inn that has been well maintained and I found that the facilities were self-contained and up to date. There is a happening bar (the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill) downstairs and the restaurant is also surprisingly good. Order the blackened salmon!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front side of the hotel are quieter but I didn't find noise to be an issue anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. We hope you will return and visit us again. By the way, I love the salmon too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Lured in by the promise of free Wi-Fi in the holiday brochure after other choices weren't available I was sure glad that we ended up in the Holiday Inn Capitol.

The greatest selling point is the fabulous location. Two minutes walk from the Air & Space Museum, and therefore close to the other museums on the Smithsonian stretch, is a brilliant location. We found it a very comfortable walk to Capitol Hill (perhaps a ten minute stroll) and we also enjoyed the walk to the White House (perhaps a mile an a half?) and onto the Lincoln Memorial. Although there aren't many restaurants in the immediate vicinity (the hotel has a number of outlets and a Starbucks) there are plenty within a ten minute walk.

It's also about two minutes walk to L'enfant Metro Station which is a main hub and get get you on virtually any line and to any location within minutes.

Of course even a great location would mean little if the accommodation was sub-par, but that was far from the case. There was a spacious lobby with a friendly welcome and the double room we had was very comfortable indeed. One bonus was the provision of a fridge to store some drinks for night-time without having to venture to a shop every day to stock up.

The bathroom was very good as well. Spacious with a good sized mirror and bath.

I only tried the breakfast buffet at the hotel itself but that was excellent with a lot of choice and very reasonably priced.

Credit must go to the very friendly and helpful staff too. They made the stay even more pleasurable.

A few reviews have mentioned the noise from the train tracks. I must admit that the first morning of my stay it woke me up, but that was more from the "shock" than anything else. I can't say I particularly remember hearing it again for the rest of the week.

All in all in terms of location and price, this is an obvious winner when visiting DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying your week in DC with us. I'm glad the free internet we offer to all of our guests convinced you to stay with us. I really appreciate your detailed review of our hotel. I appreciate it and the fact that you would recommend us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Most of the staff is helpful, the rooms are nice. If they give you an odd numbered room, that means that you are on the train track side of the hotel. If you want a quieter room get an even numbered room which is on the patio side. They mislead me by telling me the opposite when I check in. The location is the main reason to stay here. The price was different for each day (weekends were cheaper).

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. And for future stays, just so you know, not all odd numbered rooms are on the train side of the hotel. Only about 90 of our 532 rooms are actually on that side of the hotel. Our hotel is shaped like the letter C or a U on it's side. Unless the hotel is full, we do try and accommodate our guest room requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.