We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #86 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We flew into Dulles Airport and got the metrobus for $6 dollars per person one way to L'Enfant Plaza Metro Station. The hotel was literally a 5 minute walk from the stop.

We arrived at this hotel at 10am because of our early flight and I was worried we wouldnt be able to check in but we checked in no problem and went straight up to our room.

There was a good variety for breakfast and the staff came over straight away offering coffee and orange juice. We also got a free newspaper waiting outside our door every morning.

The location is great, very close to the US Capitol and the Mall where the vast majority of museums are. Also being very close to L'Enfant Plaza which had 4 lines stopping at it, it was the gateway for the entire city.

There was a lovely restaurant in the building across the road called Vie de France. Also Quinzos was handy for take outs as we were walking around all day and not really in the mood for going out for dinner. CVS was good for buying little random snacks.

We were interested in doing a tour of washington at night to see all the places lit up, there are several tour bus companies and the concierge gave us information on all companies, so it was easier for us to make a decision based on what we wanted.

The lobby could be a bit manic at times, and there was one night where the bar was packed to capacity and extremely loud nightclub type music, but we were out most of the day and straight up to the room just looking for an easy base for our trip so this hotel did the job for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel here in Washington, DC and the very detailed review. Hopefully, if you return to states and are back in our area, we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    608
    267
    79
    45
See reviews for
508
252
76
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel staff is courteous and professional and the location a block away from the Washington Mall is superb. It is a block away from the Metro but there are no restaurants other than a McDonalds and a couple of cafeterias nearby. The hotel, however could use a bit of refreshment and updating. It is acceptable as it is but it could be better appointed in general terms. Kind of reminds me of hotels I stayed in East Germany many years ago. Watch out for noisy rooms and avoid those that face the railroad tracks unless you enjoy loud train noises early in the morning. The hotel is locate next to tracks that serve a commuter line among others so those rooms could be a problem. In a recent stay I requested and got a room away from the tracks only to be lucky enough to get a party going in the room next door on a late Sunday evening with guitar music and all. It took the hotel over 45 minutes and three phone calls to deal with the problem. Ruined the start of my workweek in DC.

Room Tip: Stay away from the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I also really appreciate your comments about our professional and courteous staff and our location. I'm so sorry you had the issue of loud guests next door to your room and that it took us so long to correct the issue. As far as the hotel needing updating, we have a major renovation planned for the end of this year (2013), in which we will be updating all of our guest rooms, bathrooms, hallways and public space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa maria, ca
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was in a great part of the city as far as walking to quite a few of the museums. But be prepared for little to none good restaurants nearby. A very dirty McDonald's was down the street from the hotel as well as a pretty good Quiznos. There also was a CVS close. The problem was that most of these places close early because they cater to the office people in the area and not the visitors. Other than that there is a pricy restaurant in the hotel along with a cafe that's open for breakfast. Some of the museums have food courts but it's all fast food. We didn't have a decent meal the whole week we were there. A nice Chinese or Mexican restaurant would have been nice. Even a Denny's, IHOP, Chili's, etc. would have helped, but no such luck. Very disappointed in the food choices but that's not the hotel's fault. Just a heads up if you're going to stay there....

The room was very average. Some of it was refurbished but some of it was not. Tile in bathtub surround old and the furniture looked like it was original. Beds were comfortable and it was clean. Several times we had no hot water in the morning so had to shower at night.
For $279 a night, I expected a little more.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that face the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I don't know if you were aware, but 2 metro stops away, or a short walk, there is an area with a variety of restaurants and clubs. The restaurants vary in cuisine and cost. We usually suggest taking metro or a cab to the restaurant and then taking the short walk back to the hotel. Hopefully, you will visit us again and go visit this area. There is a great Mexican, Irish and seafood restaurant in that area that I really like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a catch-all: business travelers, school groups, convention-goers - they are all here! It's a no frills place, but I slept reasonably well. Overall appearance is little dingy and beat up, carpets really need to be replaced on a more frequent basis, etc. wifi was spotty, tv channels spotty, etc. gym was functional- a few treadmills and elliptical machines, but still a little dirty. where this shines is its location. It's a block away from the air&space museum, mall, metro, etc.

Personally, I wouldn't pay over $150 a night for this hotel unless there is some pressing reason for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
First, let me start by saying I love the picture of your dog on your Trip Advisor account. Second, thank you for reviewing our hotel. I hope you will come back and visit us again once our renovation in November is complete. I think you will be amazed at the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My biggest problem is the floor in the bathroom was disgusting. I asked for the to really clean it after the first night ( I was there for three) but it was only slightly better. At least they tried but really can't they get a good grout cleaner. The staff was a little slow and disinterested too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I'm sorry you had issues with your bathroom floor. We do clean the floor, but over the years the grout has definitely discolored. In November when we do our guest room renovation, we are replacing the tile floor and there will be all new grouting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While this hotel is in a convenient location for what I needed, it is very subpar. For $200 per night I at least expect a clean room. It's gross - dirty, old dinged up furniture. Would definitely spend $50 more and stay anywhere else in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We truly appreciate all comments from guests who have stayed with us. I'm sorry your stay with us was less than what you expected. We have a major renovation scheduled starting in November 2013. This renovation will include all new furniture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel rates a 5 for accessibility but this hotel is worn out and dated. Another reviewer gently pointed this out, but I would like to stress the WORN-OUT part.
Mattresses have little support that you actually feel the springs on your back. Towels are so bare, you can see through them and the worst, is the bathroom condition. Mildew on the shower walls and toilets that scare you when you flush (makes a guttural sound). One of the vanity lights was out. Shower curtains so thin that the floor gets soaked after you shower. No ventilation in the bathroom, so condensation on the ceiling is so bad, you get wet when you are trying to dry yourself. Problem fixed if you shower with the door ajar. We stayed 4 days, and they never changed the linens, only towels. We had to ASK the housekeeper to vacuum the carpets.
Front desk staff needs re-training badly and educated on what hotel ambassadors are. Twice, I requested the room issues be fixed and they were never addressed.
The hotel does have some PRO's.
Location - metro right around the corner. Walking distance to the National Mall and great view of the Capitol.
Breakfast Snack Bar - surprisingly reasonably priced food at this bar and great for on-the-go fare. They even served Starbucks coffee. Did I mention the breakfast sandwich was great? Hotel has a restaurant that serves a buffet breakfast as well. There is a SWINGING bar with a live band that played nightly. Several fast food restaurants closeby and a fabulous Vie de France across the street but closes at 5 or 6.
One block away, by the metro entrance, 12-15 food trucks park along the street until 2:30pm serving up local DC fare. Not inexpensive, but we tried 3 of the truck fares and they were all good!
We were here to see the museums, so we were out most of the day. Great location is what garners this hotel an average rating. This property desperately needs an upgrade especially for the rates they charge. Holiday Inn, shame on you!! I'm staying at an HIE next time.

Room Tip: Shower with cool water and bring your own towel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We truly appreciate all comments from guests who have stayed with us. Thank you for telling others about our location. I'm sorry your stay with us was less than what you expected. We have a major renovation scheduled starting in November that I'm very excited about, that will be very modern and stylish. The renovation will be for all guest rooms, bathrooms and hallways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.