We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #82 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New Jersey
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Didn't have reservations for three women made six months in advance. small room no sofa a rollaway 15 dollars a day. hotel shows it's age. the noise of the frig was louder than the train that runs next door. the two star restuarant charges five star prices. some of the staff are friendly. There are plenty of taxis and walk to many points of interest but this is a business district. there is a mc donalds and cvs in the block. count your change at the mc donalds. there was only the view of the train tracks and an alley from room 573. the pool is seasonal. there is a gym and a laundry. weather permitting you can sit outside. some times there is entertainment but what we heard was really bad. I did not chose this hotel. I tend to prefer an upscale venue that is part of the vacation destination. but for the price it is better than a motel but not much. it was clean. there were many international school groups and families There is a deli that is only open early in the morning. there is a very busy star bucks attached.

Room Tip: I was told there is no room with a view one side you hear the trains on the other the traffic they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I'm sorry we didn't have your reservation when you checked in. I don't know what happened, but I'm glad we were able to accommodate the three of you. I appreciate your business and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    687
    292
    84
    50
See reviews for
574
289
86
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lovingston, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The location was great for exploring the Smithsonian Museums and Mall. The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean. The service was good. EVERYONE was incredibly friendly and made us feel like we were "home" away from home. We will definitely stay here again when visiting DC!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We want to be your "home away from home". Thank you for choosing our hotel. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bzylizy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is very convenient and comfortable. My husband and I stayed Fri-Sun. We had plans of using the metro during our stay, but discovered everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. We walked to the American History Museum, WWII memorial,Smithsonian Castle, America Indian Museum, Spy Museum and chinatown. We opted for the park and stay package. Parking was included in our rate. We could come and go as we please but we never had to use the car. Starbucks is a short elevator ride away which made my husband happy. I suffered through as I am a die hard dunkin fan! Breakfast buffet is what we expected. Room was clean, wifi worked well. When we checked into our room on the 7th floor, I opened the curtains to discover a train station. Front desk had no problem switching our room to the other side of the building. Still heard the train at night but if you have the ac fan on you will not notice. Would be a good place for families with kids. Our kids are now old enough to stay home alone, but would have enjoyed this hotel. Taxis are available right outside the hotel if you choose. Overall this was a great choice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I'm so glad you and your husband had such a great weekend in Washington, DC and at the Holiday Inn Capitol. Like you said, our hotel really is located in a great location to visit so many of the monuments and museums here in the city. Hopefully, next time you come to DC, you will bring the kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This Holiday Inn is an older, but very well maintained classic looking hotel on the inside. The price was right at only $115 per night for this particular weekend. The rooms are very clean and well maintained, but a little on the smaller side. Our room was on the 3rd floor, so we could sometimes hear the traffic in the street below. There is convenient parking in the hotel, but it is fairly expensive at around $34 per night. Free internet was included with the room. The hotel is in a great location, especially close to the Smithsonian Museums and within 20 minutes walking distance of the Capitol Building and 30 to 45 minutes to the other main sites (i.e. White House, Lincoln Memorial and the Washington Monument). There is one main restaurant in the hotel and a couple smaller places for snacks or drinks. We ate at the main restaurant and the experience was very unusual. The staff were a little odd, especially the woman "greeter" and our waiter who were not very friendly or communicative and somewhat rude . The buffet itself was pretty good with lots of selection for dinner. The breakfast buffet had a very limited selection and, for the price, was not worthwhile. There are not many restaurants near the hotel, so choice is limited on where to eat and we had few options but to eat at the hotel. There is a McDonald's in the same block, but not much else within walking distance. Overall, this is good hotel, with no major issues.

Room Tip: Take a room on the upper floors so you don't hear the traffic on the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel in such detail. I really appreciate the specifics. I'm sorry you had the experience you did in our restaurant. I am going to share your comments with our Food & Beverage Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The service at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is superb. As a frequest traveler I'm generally disappointed with the service I receive at most hotels. This hotel is exceptional from the front desk staff with timely check in service, to the housekeeping staff that brought an extra blanket and offered to modify the room temperature setting for this Southerner.

Specifically, Ms. Desta, a member of the wait staff in the restaurant insured I had a to-go-cup for my coffee every morning and made sure her timely service allowed me to arrive at work everyday, on time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Cheryl, thank you for the great comments about our staff and service. I am so lucky to work with such a wonderful staff. I will share your comments with everyone and especially tell Desta you mentioned her by name. Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Elsa, the front desk clerk was SO nice. She was very helpful and called our room about 30min once we were settled to see if everything was as we asked such as the roll out bed, the cleanliness, etc. The room was beautiful, had bath and body works amenities, fridge,free wifi and a nice view. The room has a thermostat on the wall to control your temp and it works GREAT! The restaurants in the hotel was SO YUMMY! Kids eat free so make sure you get your vouchers. Mcdonalds, CVS and Quiznos were right outside the hotel entrance too. The National Mall was a literally outside the entrance too! So convenient. Make sure you find out when your car has to be out of the parking garage or they will charge you extra. For us being 15min late we paid $11. We didnt know we had a limit since we paid "per day" (only let down of everything)..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the national mall or the courtyard are the quietest. the amtrak runs right past the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
It sounds as if you had a great trip to Washington, DC. Thank you for specifically mentioning Elsa and your other comments. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel during a quick business trip to DC. I selected this hotel because of it's proximity to my business site and because it was much more reasonably priced than other hotels in the area. Due to airline delays, I ended up arriving quite late but was pleasantly surprised by an upgrade to a 2 room suite. My suite was spacious and comfortable but I have to say that this hotel left me underwhelmed. It is hard to complain after an upgrade but I have to say that it was very difficult to regulate the temperature in my rooms and the air conditioner sounded like a jet engine every time that it started and stopped. The room was clean but the decor is dated and is showing some signs of wear. I suspect that this hotel is in line for some updates. I ordered a cobb salad topped with steak one night and was very dissatisfied with the meal. The meat was very tough and almost impossible to eat. I would not recommend it. The hotel has a small fitness center with the usual 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals etc.. I was in there alone one morning but was never able to locate the remote control for the TV. I did very much appreciate the location and convenience of the Starbucks off the lobby. I may stay here again for business but I sure won't order room service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I know you have many choices of hotels when you visit Washington, DC. I appreciate you staying with us. I am glad we pleasantly surprised you with the upgrade, but am sorry you had the a/c issues. I don't know the specific suite you stayed in, but I will have my maintenance staff check all of the suites. I don't want that to happen to other guests.

I will share your room service comment with our Chef and Food & Beverage Director. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.