We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a good location for tourism” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #91 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Nashville, TN USA
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Average hotel in a good location for tourism”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is quite urban. Security at night was quite strong which gave us an impression of an unsafe area although we experienced no problems.
Parking is difficult in tinyt garage with even smaller spaces and expensive but was provided by hotel which is appreciated
Interent included.
We were upgraded to a suite,but the size of the suite was not so big to be impressive.
The hotel was well maintained.
I would recommend this for tourism.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    250
    118
    32
    19
See reviews for
177
91
35
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is the best deal for the money and location. It is nothing special....just a basic room with the very basic amenities. Small bathrooms. Within walking distance to DuPont Circle and lots of restaurants and bars/clubs. It is also about 3 - 4 blocks walking distance to the metro. The Wi-Fi internet was sketchy though....... it worked sporadically at best. The staff was accommodating both at check in and check out.... they even held our luggage after check out so we could go to Arlington. The bell man was very helpful and polite. There was a smell of stale cigarette smoke everywhere. Other than that it was a convenient / economical stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Hank V,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and location.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the internet access and bathroom size. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anadarko, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

While the hotel was showing its' age just a little, it is well cared for,rooms clean and comfortable, located pretty well (apart from being a good 10 minute walk to the Metro) and located in a pretty nice area.

Breakfast was good quality and relatively cheap for DC (I've paid quite a bit more for less) and despite a lot of dubious reviews, I had no problem at all with the wireless internet on the fifth floor.
I would stay there again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with a couple of my friends, we booked and payed for this in advance, and on checking out, they took for the rooms again through my travel money credit card. I informed them of this, and the staff on the desk had to get the manager to see that it had been paid in full. They promised to credit my card within 4 hours, it took 15 days, for the money to go back on to my card, I have written to the Manager, to the Priority Club, that I am a member of, to date NO ONE has written to me with an apology, it totally messed up the funds that I had pre-paid on my travel card paying the various exchange rates etc. I will Never stay there again, and will always make sure that you let the staff on the desk know, that you have paid in full on the first day! The Manager of this hotel should be held responsible!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first! I was on the eight floor looking at the air-con units and hearing them. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Peni807,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel the first thing you notice in the lower floor corridors is the smell of stale cigarette smoke. We were placed on the third floor as there was a "better wifi signal" which is not true. If you are hoping to use Wifi on your visit the only successful place seems to be the lobby. We had previously been at another 2 Holiday Inn's where the Internet was perfect.
The room seemed old and worn despite the fact it's cleaned daily. The sheets on the beds, whilst clean, feel very worn out. Don't look under the dressers as the vacuum cleaner clearly doesn't get there which may explain the 2 rodent trays.

The lower rooms on the back left are noisy due to the air conditioning units outside the windows and the air conditioning unit it the room sounded like a car engine turning over all night, even when off.

When the adjoining rooms use the water it's extremely noisy. This is not your typical Holiday Inn and was a disappointing experience.

On a positive, the location seems quite good and staff are friendly. Do be aware that even though this is a Rhode Island Ave hotel DO NOT get off the metro at Rhode Island Ave. This is not a great area (especially at night) and is several miles away from the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Claire H,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry our rooms fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced. I appreciate you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nothing negative to say about this hotel, a good location, clean fair size room. It just lacked that little extra. The staff looked miserable and there seemed to be none of the friendliness we have come to expect from the states. A big standard, premier inn type hotel. Didn't eat at the hotel, but the Mexican, one block away was fab!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear markandchris,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I am sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I booked 3 rooms at this holiday inn, 1 being a family room. At check inn, the gentleman was not happy that when I asked one double room to be close to the family room (parents close to their teenagers basically). When my friends went to their rooms, they were both double rooms so they had to go back to the check in counter. Our reservation included breakfast, but no breakfast coupons were provided, again, I had to go back to the check in counter. Rooms were clean but the internet connection is very weak. Even on vacation, I would rather pay and get something that works. Then one morning, we were asking for a table for 7, the gentleman who was in attendance did not ask us kindly to wait, he just said that he had nothing available ...nice. We were saved by the manager who came to our rescue. Good point for this hotel: the location and despite the hiccups, the staff are friendly in general

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Liany,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. As such, I sincerely apologize for the shortfalls and lapse in service that you have encountered during your stay.

Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue CafA(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.