We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay - Great Location and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #87 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Auburn, Mi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay - Great Location and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just returned from a week's vacation in DC and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the HI - DC Central. The staff catered to our every need. We asked for a roll-away on our reservation but they didn't have one when we checked in. Somehow they came up with one for us. We were upgraded to a King Suite so we had plenty of room. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The pool felt great after a hot day in DC and the roof top view was also neat. The hotel is centrally located b/w 3 or 4 metro locations (about 4 blocks). You can easily navigate to all the DC attractions without a car and if you need to take a taxi its around $10-$15 to get to most of the places of interest. We walked from the WWII Memorial back to the hotel one night and it was about 1 mile. Personally I like the area. There is a Whole Foods, CVS, 7-11 and a number of great restaurants around the corner. We ate several times at the hotel restaurant and their breakfast buffet was great. The management and staff at this hotel are probably the best of any IHG hotel I've ever stayed at, for that matter any hotel I've stayed at. They really want you to leave happy. They made our vacation very enjoyable. We will definitely stay here next time we return to the City. Thank you to Barbie and everyone at the HI DC Central for a great stay.

Room Tip: King Corner Suite with a sofa bed and a roll-away was great for 2 grown children and 2 parents. 2 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay with us. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful vacation and that you spent it with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    299
    145
    34
    20
See reviews for
214
111
40
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really convenient: 25 mins walk to white house, 10min walking to the metro plus 2 stops from the subway to the Mall (easier for a $10 cab ride especially when you have a larger group), 25min walk to U street where lots of restaurants are, and 10min cab ride to union station. The room is nice, no fridge/mini bar, no microwave, no breakfast though, but free tea/coffee/internet. I never got connected to the internet, and the front desk did not provide any info of the network name or user id. So I gave up easily. There is a gym and pool in the hotel, 8-dust, which I never got a chance to see or use, but good to know the option. It is sweet of the hotel to put the weather report in the elevator, reminded us the umbrella for the storms during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay. I apologize that we did not properly inform you of internet instructions. I will make sure I review this with our staff. I am pleased that you found our location to be convenient to the attractions and noted the transportation options that made it easy for you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from a 3 night stay and we were impressed with the hotel. As Holiday Inn Vacation members we were automatically upgraded to a suite and the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The tour bus that we opted for picked us up at the hotel, the roof top pool was neat to experience, and the buffet breakfast was good and reasonably priced. The only drawbacks to the hotel were that everything is a decent walk away, the TV reception was not very good, and they were doing service on the elevators-which created long waits from time to time. Keys were needed to go up to the elevator and you felt secure. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay. The customer service was great! Everyone was so helpful.
Walking to the popular sites is about a 25 minute walk, but we decided to take a cab;it was 5-10 minutes and approximately $10, so not much more than the metro would run you for a few ppl.
Hotel is a great value for the price in an expensive city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay! We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Washington, DC and we were able to be a part of it. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Central and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family just returned home from a week long trip in D.C. We arrived at the hotel and the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean- not the greatest view, but we didn't care as we didn't spend much time in the actual room. The hotel is very convenient and an easy walk or metro ride to any of the sights in D.C. I was MOSTLY concerned about feeling safe in the city and walking back to our hotel at night, as we have 2 children. I felt 100% safe, and the hotel is in a very safe neighborhood. 2 days before check-out, I asked if it would be possible to extend our stay by one night. The woman at the desk checked and there was not availability. I could tell she saw my disappointment, and told me not to worry about it- that she would figure it out. I feel like all of the staff at this hotel go above and beyond to make sure your experience at the hotel and in the city is a great one! The ONLY reason that I couldn't give it a '5' rating is because all the reviews that say the wifi is terrible? It is. I had some work to get done one evening and the connection is REALLY slow. If they could improve upon this, i would not hesitate to rate it higher. I would stay in this hotel again.....!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights with my 6 yr old daughter. great hotel but a little too far out of the popular areas for my liking, was easy enough to walk to those areas but when your dragging a 6 yr old it could hard. i was lucky my daugher was very happy to walk and the hop on hop off buses stop a short distance up the road. aussie embassy is a few doors up also so that was a nice surprise too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doraville, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We showed up early with a large group on July 4th. The staff was so nice and professional. They worked to get our rooms done early and they went out of their way to help us park our 15 passenger van with trailer. They reserved spots for us outside in their fenced in rear lot their employees used. The only draw backs is the pool is great but they won't let you eat at the tables or anywhere on the pool deck. And yes, the elevators need ventilation. I would stay here again. There is no breakfast and the restaurant is very expensive in my opinion. They also charge $31 for parking even if you stay there. Ridiculous! Beds were very springy to me. The beds at a Quality inn we stayed at were much better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.