We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good location but a slightly tired hotel with poor WIFI in the bedrooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #91 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
London UK
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Great service, good location but a slightly tired hotel with poor WIFI in the bedrooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in the Central White House Holiday Inn in Washington DC and had a very good time.

From the moment we walked through the hotel doors for the first time the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the same was so in the hotels dining room as well.

We were on a sightseeing trip to DC and the hotel's location was great. We were in easy walking distance of local restaurants and convenience stores and when we felt energetic we could walk to the White House in 15-ish minutes, Capitol Hill in 20 minutes and numerous other memorials, sights, subway stations and downtown restaurants in a similar time.

For our time and the season we were in DC the hotel and our room were good but I wouldn't have wanted to be in the hotel in the summer needing air conditioning. Our room had A/C but it was one old fashioned style unit / room, the noisy type of unit that gives you the option of having it on and not being able to sleep because of the noise or having it off and not being able to sleep because of the heat.

The hotel offers WIFI but to get a reasonable signal you need to be in the reception area. Wifi in our room was very hit or miss, sometimes it worked and sometimes not. In the ground floor dining area it was normally impossible to pick up a signal so overall the internet facility was poor.

All things considered I would return to the hotel but not in the heat of the summer and not if I needed guaranteed WIFI access

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valencian's,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am glad that you liked our location. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the room condition and the unsatisfactory WiFi connection. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    244
    108
    31
    18
See reviews for
160
87
35
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed there for a week and was positively surprised. I expected an OK mid-range hotel but experienced something better. The room was great and clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was included in the price and was not bad either. The location is great and there are lots of good restaurants nearby. While small, the gym was ok for my needs. Overall, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If you want the wifi to work somewhat smoothly, ask for a room in floors 1-4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's a nice DC hotel in a decent location. The value is good, especially for families.
The rooms were good size, we didn't feel cramped at all. The rooms didn't feel "old". You can definitely hear the street noise and the hall, but it wasn't too terrible. We were on the 6th floor and the view was pretty nice. Housekeeping was excellent. We didn't use the hotel restaurant. There's a McD and a Whole Foods very nearby, as well as a few restaurants.

The hotel was pretty convenient for kids with a car. There's a little driveway where you can pull up, wait, etc. Hotel parking was pricy, but there's plenty of street parking nearby, free during the late hours. There's a ramp for wheels into the hotel, and annoyingly, they closed it off when we were leaving. There's a 7-11 down the street and a Caribou coffee. There's a freebie coffee machine in the lobby, but it doesn't seem to be looked after much (ran out of coffee / water a couple of times).

The location is "not too far" from everything, which for DC, means "not too close". The White House is a few blocks away, just like Dupont Circle, but those DC blocks are long (6-7 blocks to the WH takes 15 minutes). The area is nice and quiet.

There's a pool at the hotel, but we didn't check it out as it was cold. The front desk staff were pretty nice. There's an electric car charging station at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nothing exciting to say really. The hotel is relatively good, a bit old but maintained. Service was very good and location wise I was very pleased.
My only comment is the Wi-Fi – It is so difficult to get a descent signal (especially on the top floors), I had to go down to the Lobby In order to work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Casillero_del_Diablo,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I greatly appreciate you calling out the good qualities also. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend over the summer and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. We managed to get an upgrade to a massive corner suite, which was great. We were able to have our friends meet us at the hotel, without having to awkwardly cram into a room and sit on the edge of the bed for seating. Our friends lived in Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan, and this location was very conducive to both. My wife went for a run on the Mall, which she said was great. There was also a Whole Foods nearby for some weekend provisions, and plenty of restaurants and bars. We used the Metro stop in Dupont Circle, which was close enough and gave us a chance to grab a bite to eat there on the way to or from any of our destinations. The hotel was also a pretty cheap cab ride to the airport, which made it easier than having to go to the Metro. We go to DC to visit friends about once a year, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I would have to say that I like this hotel for its location. The room was clean. staff was polite and helpful. Room required minor maintenance. The door was very hard to open ( 225). Overall I came back so not a bad choice definitely not the best place you could stay in dc but far from worst.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear D M,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed for event at convention centre,
good location - 20 mins to here, 20 mins to downtown.
Staff good, free wi-fi.
Tip - book breakfast ahead as the buffet is $18 on the day.
Safe location, lots of bars in all directions of hotel.
Try Church Key - full of locals, with 50 draft beers and a food.
Have stayed here a number of times for same convention and the staff are always helpful, rooms clean and had no issues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue CafA(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.