We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend with my wife, will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #86 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Long weekend with my wife, will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend over the summer and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. We managed to get an upgrade to a massive corner suite, which was great. We were able to have our friends meet us at the hotel, without having to awkwardly cram into a room and sit on the edge of the bed for seating. Our friends lived in Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan, and this location was very conducive to both. My wife went for a run on the Mall, which she said was great. There was also a Whole Foods nearby for some weekend provisions, and plenty of restaurants and bars. We used the Metro stop in Dupont Circle, which was close enough and gave us a chance to grab a bite to eat there on the way to or from any of our destinations. The hotel was also a pretty cheap cab ride to the airport, which made it easier than having to go to the Metro. We go to DC to visit friends about once a year, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    224
    99
    30
    15
See reviews for
142
78
35
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I would have to say that I like this hotel for its location. The room was clean. staff was polite and helpful. Room required minor maintenance. The door was very hard to open ( 225). Overall I came back so not a bad choice definitely not the best place you could stay in dc but far from worst.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear D M,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed for event at convention centre,
good location - 20 mins to here, 20 mins to downtown.
Staff good, free wi-fi.
Tip - book breakfast ahead as the buffet is $18 on the day.
Safe location, lots of bars in all directions of hotel.
Try Church Key - full of locals, with 50 draft beers and a food.
Have stayed here a number of times for same convention and the staff are always helpful, rooms clean and had no issues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The best of this hotel its the location, its just a 1.5 miles of all tourist attractions, located in a nice and quiet neighborhood, with restaurants, and shops nearby. The rooms are clean and comfortable and free wifi always a plus.
the staff was courteous and friendly. The only downside was the breakfast because they don't have the buffet that i pay for, instead they offer us a little bit confusing voucher system, but the quality of the breakfast was amazing. i would definitely stay here again.
parking was 30 dls everyday.

Room Tip: there is a 7 eleven, and whole food market, just two blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful, good location, clean room, reasonably priced. The only thing I didn't like was pulling up to check in there wasn't a lot of space to leave our car. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here over spring break 2012 for the Cherry Blossoms Fest. We arrived a week before the Festival was to start but as luck would have it, the cherry trees festooned early! The staff at the hotel greated us cheerfully and made us feel like family the entire 7 days we were there. It is several blocks North of the White House and quite a walk at times, especially at the end of a long tour day! It sits about equal distance between two Metro stations, also several blocks. Have no fear, however, the concierges definitely know how to summon a taxi! Our room service was excellent and seriously, every night we came in to the lobby, it was like we were more and more at home with our new family! I would definitely stay here again! (It was also much less than the Capitol location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Pros: the front desk staff were wonderful. They were really friendly, and allowed us a let checkout time sine our flight was later in the afternoon. The room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The location is also quite central to many DC attractions.

Cons: As others have stated, the wifi connection could be improved. This would really help to improve the overall experience at the hotel.

Overall, a good place to stay in DC.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#84 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue CafA(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.