We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the White House, easy walk to attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #88 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very close to the White House, easy walk to attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Clean, warm rooms. Very helpful staff. Great location, walking distance to White House and Monuments. Only fault was the room service menu was not child friendly at all.

Room Tip: up high but all rooms look out to the street and onto the other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    259
    123
    32
    19
See reviews for
183
93
36
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights 4 days at this Holiday Inn with no drama. We paid in cash upon arrival to avoid any undo holds on our bank account. The Hotel was nicely decorated with holiday ornaments. The reception staff was helpful. There is no free breakfast, but coffee and tea all day in the lobby. We ate out daily, there is a Whole Foods Market, Starbucks, and many resturants less than a 3 blocks away. We watched the Monday night football game at Shoney's Bar good bar food and atmosphere. It doesn't matter what hotel I go to I always take my own cleaning supplies (Clorox Wipes and Lysol). Upon entering the room, I disinfected the area, and wiped down everything I could with the wipes, after my do over I felt fine. So the room was clean and then really clean with my added touches. The hubby had no issues with the wifi, as some previous reviewers stated. The hot water in the shower was great, and the cleaning staff is prompt. We were on the 5th floor and by 9am they were at the door ready to work. No loud noises or conferences so peace and quiet the entire stay. We did get to see the University of Buffalo's Women's Basketball team as they were staying there to play Howard University. They invited us to the game but we had plans, we were cheering for them but they lost :( overall this was a good stay for us.

Room Tip: If you are there to tour, you may want to stay some place closer to the attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel was very clean and the staff were so helpful and nice, the food was very good and we ate in the resturant and at the bar i cant say a word bad about our stay, the first time i have tasted meatloaf very nice - and i have never eaten any better than when we stayed here.

The walk to the underground for trains was very close and clean shops were near for drinks as the hotel charge $1.00 for a can of soda, and we did buy some bits for our stay.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We took what was given and were very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two days on my visit to DC and I was happy with the service provided.I had previlage club membership so i got upgraded and had a pretty nice room. The hotel has a restaurant and bar on site. I was a bit bummed that the breakfast was not included in hotel but i can understand! Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great value for the area. Hotel room was really clean and quiet. I had a great sized room with nice amenities and view. The staff was very nice. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We spent one night here after a 4 niight stay in NYC and a great choice of hotel. We decided on this hotel due to the location as it was within walking distance from all tourist attractions. The rooms were pretty much standard to any other HI i've stayed in before. Big in size, free wifi and friendly staff. The concierge, Larry, was very friendly however the reception staff unprofessional at times. When we were awaiting our taxi pick up I was observing them answer the phones and when guests were calling down to speak to them they were nice whilst on the phone but once they hung up there was a lot of sniping. It was hilarious but at the same time made me think they did the same when I called once.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

This hotel is very convenient to the White House and is a full service hotel
- Clean Comfortable Rooms
- Quiet
- Great Rates Available for the DC area - AAA or Government
- Comfortable Bedding
- Great A.C. with continuous fan for white noise
- Free Fast Wi-Fi
- Very Courteous Staff
- Rooms on the smaller size
- Very Good Resturant on Property
- Inconsistant Hot Water Temperture for Showering
- Accurate Wake Up Call System

I will put this hotel on the top of my list for trips to the DC area, didn't use the metro system so I cannot tell you how far the nearest station is.

Safe Travels,
Land and Sea

Room Tip: Use the AAA rate it is better than the Government Rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue CafA(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.