We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott at Metro Center to your Saves list
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   775 12th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY FOR BREAKFAST
Ranked #51 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Louisville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Marriott Metro Center is just steps away from a metro station and a pretty easy walk to the Smithsonian and other attractions, including Chinatown restaurants, etc., so the location is perfect. The hotel is otherwise pretty unremarkable--definitely clean, but indistinguishable from any other business hotel in any other US city. My main complaint is that the valet parking is really expensive (over $40/night) and there's no self-park option.

One odd thing: the person who cleaned our room left the coffee maker on the bathroom floor next to the toilet. Made me not want to use the coffee maker again. Maybe I'm just a little OCD.

Green Features: I was surprised to find that there was no separate receptacle in the room for recycling.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback about the housekeeper. I'll make sure to address that with the team, as I agree with you on the coffee maker placement. Ideally it should be placed in the cabinet in the bedroom area of your room. This is the perfect opportunity to remind our team of the proper placement of these items.

Thanks again.
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    177
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
124
87
11
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hotel is located right next door to metro, so very handy. Room was immaculate and relaxing.
Closer to major sites that what I thought which was a pleasant surprise e.g. about a 3min walk to Fords Theatre; 5mins to FBI and National Archives.
Staff very helpful. Only downside to hotel was the pool which is indoors and quite small (and yelling kids throwing balls whilst I was trying to relax).
Will definitely come back again!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The location was perfect. We flew in and rode the metro right to the hotel and never once felt the need to have a car. White House and other sites are just steps away or just a quick hop on the metro. The hotel was properly posh and the breakfast, although pricey, was delicious. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I agree that our location right in the heart of DC can't be beat! Glad you enjoyed and we'll see you on your next trip to DC!

-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice stay in Washington DC at this Marriott. The hotel was very clean and was elegant :) The most impressive part however was the location. Thanks Marriot for consistent
quality. The excitement of being in our nation's capitol was certainly enhanced by the overall quality of this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here on a weekend for 2 nights for a wedding. The wedding was in the hotel so this was the recommended place to stay. Overall everything was very nice. Rooms appear to be updated at some point recently. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was clean with updated fixtures. Room was a decent size for a large city. On the top floor but still no real view. Room was very quiet and could hardly hear any street noise and couldn't hear anything in the hallway. Had an unfortunate incident the 1st night. The fire alarm went off at 2 am. Was told we needed to evacuate. Kind of unsettling. Turned out to be nothing. Good thing since we didn't even make it 2 floors down in the stairwell due to a backup from everyone leaving below. Staff handled the situation as best they could.

There's a Starbucks in the lobby as well as a bar and restaurant. Had a few drinks at the bar. Ok Service. Seemed understaffed. Also had breakfast one morning. Food was good but way overpriced. Unfortunately there was nothing nearby that was open early for breakfast on a Saturday (early meaning prior to 8am). At least nothing we could find. The hotel is in a good location. Just maybe 6 blocks or so down to the Mall. A few blocks over to the Chinatown/Verizon Center area where there are a bunch of bars and restaurants. And then 4 or 5 blocks over to the White House. And the Metro entrance is a half block away so can't beat that. Red/Blue/Orange line service will get you anywhere you need to go in the city. All in all a good stay. Would stay here again even if we didn't have a wedding to attend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that even though everything didn't go according to plan that you enjoyed your stay. I'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for days while in Washington,DC. Check in was fast and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. This hotel is in the center of various sites of the city if you are a tourist. Some of these sites are within the walking distance. They offer valet parking which is expensive, and there is not much parking area offered in the area, so you almost have to use there parking. The room size is small, but clean. I was disappointed that they did not have a refrigerator or coffee maker in the room. There is a Starbucks on the property which is good for coffee lovers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here during our trip to DC for our honeymoon. It was in a really great location, beside the subway. It was walking distance to many sights or a short cab ride. When we arrived, the front desk clerk was very nice and they upgraded us at no charge to a really fantastic corner room. It was very clean and spacious. There's a Starbucks downstairs as well as a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to meeting you on your next trip to the area.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Marriott at Metro Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Address: 775 12th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott at Metro Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Marriott at Metro Center features convenient access to the best of Washington, DC area attractions, shopping and dining. Our premier location near the DC metro system provides guests easy access to the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, CityCenterDC, Spy Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. Located within blocks of the Verizon Center and Walter E. Washington Convention Center, this Washington, DC hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Our hotel's location, engaging environment and dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, make us a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Meeting planners can explore the possibilities with over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of event space and 15 breakout rooms, perfect for hosting a variety of gatherings and events. With easy access to the region's major airports, Union Station and the Convention Center, Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a top choice for travelers to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Marriott at Metro Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott At Metro Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Marriott Metro Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott at Metro Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.