We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott at Metro Center to your Saves list
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   775 12th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #55 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Nagpur, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Rate is high. The staff is not helpful. Free internet is provided only in the lobby. Complimentary breakfast is good but service is bad. The staff is forcing for tip even for complimentary breakfast.Not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramond S, Front Office Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Mr. hasanzaheer,

We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your experience while staying with us here in Washington DC. It is very disappointing that the service you received was below your standards and we do apologize for that. I have communicated to the Restaurant manager your concerns and please be assured they have been addressed. Once again thanks for your feedback.

Ramond Sneed
Senior Operations Manager - Rooms
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    143
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
100
71
9
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We needed a family friendly, not budget breaking but nice hotel near Verizon Center. Bingo! Service and rooms were great. Gave service a 4/5 because we had a guest next to us practically break down the door beside us in a rage at 1:20am. Kids were scared, called front desk, but never saw/heard anyone and there was no follow up. Other than that, breakfast was great and kids enjoyed pool.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

A friend and I stayed one night at the hotel while in town for a 1/2 marathon. The reservation staff was very accommodating to help ensure we were assigned to a 2 bed room instead of a room with a king bed. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. They stored our bags for a few hours after check-out time so we could grab a bite to eat before leaving town. Extremely convenient to the Metro and easy walking distance to restaurants, Chinatown and PA and Constitution Avenues. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Attended a meeting in March, 2014
Had an evening dinner with the Board I serve on
Food was probably expensive to the organization.
She crab soup appeared to be left over vegetable soup with some crab thrown in
Steak was overcooked and tough (same for everyone around me)
Sorbet desert was huge and quite good.
Very poor banquet performance!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear 501casper,
We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your dinner while attending your board meeting here in Washington DC. It is very disappointing that you did not find the quality of the food to be to your liking. I have met with our Executive Chef and our Director of Event Planning to review the details of the event. I can assure you we take feedback like this seriously and will work to ensure that we learn from this experience. We normally receive rave reviews regarding our Food and Beverage. Thank you again for your time and feedback. Steven K Smith Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for two nights (Dec 30-Jan 1) for New Years Eve in DC; there were 4 rooms between the 8 of us. I have no complaints about the rooms and hotel itself, everything was pretty standard. However, payment at the front desk was a little frustrating. My friend and I were trying to split our stay evenly by each paying for one night, but that turned out to be a hassle. Our keys stopped working on New Years Eve when we were trying to get into the room to get ready. We went to the front desk and they reprogrammed the keys, still didn't work. Went back down a second time and they retried, still didn't work. Called down and they said they were sending security to help unlock the door; never came up. Finally after going down for the third time, they said it was a payment issue and not because of the keys. Everything finally got resolved, just a small set back. All in all, I would stay again and maybe figure out a different way to split the cost, you can't beat the location

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife, college age daughter and myself recently took in several days at our Nations capital. We chose the Washington Marriott at Metro Center for its value, close proximity to memorials, subway, Smithsonian museums, etc. We were not disappointed. Our room was clean, updated, spacious, and fully equipped. The staff from concierge through valet, were professional, friendly, and demonstrated a very cheerful and helpful attitude throughout our stay. We elected to utilize their morning breakfast, which sustained us throughout the day to dinner. An in-house Starbucks is also available. Parking is a bit expensive, but commonplace for DC. Cabs are readily available if you're not a fan of big city driving. Overall, the Marriott Metro Center is an excellent facility, which we would recommend to family and business traveler alike.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Marriott at Metro Center is located close to Metro Center, hence the name. You can get around pretty easily to all parts of D.C. from this location. The hotel itself has been upgraded recently, where there is a bar and a restaurant that isn't too bad to hang out in after a long day's work. The crowd there, I noted, tended to be middle aged, some with families. The room was on the smaller side and the price for the room wasn't exactly a bargain, again you're paying for the convenient location and your proximity. I've stayed here a couple of times due to the location of this hotel to my place of business and for their rewards program. If I didn't have these ties, I may explore another location. Overall, it's an average hotel, but not a terrible place for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear NYHokie,
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback from your past stays with us. As you said we have spent the last several years completing many updates to the hotel, new meeting space, our new restaurant Fire & Sage and a complete guestroom renovation. We also understand how lucky we are to have one of the most central DC locations. It’s great to be only steps away from the Metro Center stop. We do strive to be more than average so the next time you visit please say hello. I would enjoy hearing your thoughts on how we can exceed expectations. Steve Smith Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Marriott at Metro Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Address: 775 12th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott at Metro Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Marriott at Metro Center offers convenient access to the best of the capital area. Guests of our hotel will find it a breeze to visit the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums and a variety of other attractions especially with our location above the main hub for the Metro system. Located within blocks of the Verizon Center and the Washington, DC Convention Center, our hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests in town attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Our hotel's central location, newly renovated guest rooms and dining options including a Starbucks Cafe also make us a great choice for business travelers or those looking for a weekend getaway. With easy access to the region's major airports, the Amtrak station, and the Convention Center, our downtown DC Metro Center hotel is the perfect choice for your next visit to the city, no matter what brings you to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Marriott at Metro Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott At Metro Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Marriott Metro Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott at Metro Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.