We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Henley Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Henley Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Henley Park Fresh Start!
Ranked #72 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Blairstown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I just spent a weekend here to celebrate his birthday. The pictures posted are exactly how it looks. Very elegant and sophisticated. We had a junior suite, complete with refrigerator, sink, sitting area, huge desk. For a reasonably priced hotel in a major city, the space was huge. My only complaint is that the noises of the city (not the hotel's fault) were a little disturbing. And guess what? They give you earplugs to help with this. The bar area, complete with a very nice old-style jazz trio was very nice at night. The hotel kind of takes you back to a different era.

The location is great. You can very easily walk to many of the major attractions in Washington.
There's an amazing Cajun restaurant right around the corner called Arcadiana. If you've ever eaten real New Orleans food and love it, know that this place has it nailed. Excellent.

But here's the best part about the Henley. Everyone here is committed to making your stay a good one. The staff was very professional and helpful every step of the way. In the middle of our 5 hour drive home, I realized that I left my kindle under my pillow, complete with downloads of at least 25 very popular books and a beautiful leather cover with an attached reading light. I was sure I would never see it again. I called right away, but was told to call back in a few hours after the housekeepers were finished and filed their reports for the day. Sure enough, when I called back, they had reported finding it. The staff offered to fed-ex it back to me, charging my card for the shipping only. We left on Sunday afternoon and I just received the carefully wrapped package (Wednesday morning). You can't ask for better service than that. We definitely would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do strive to make our guests feel at home when they visit our hotel and we endeavour to provide the highest level of customer service. Your experience reflects our staff's commitment to service and quality. They often make me very proud.
I hope that you will return soon.

Regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    201
    66
    20
    20
See reviews for
32
175
53
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My girl friend and I booked a weekend break last minute to Washington DC. Return flight from Toronto and 2 nights accommodation $380 each (including tax) who can complain about that. Chose the hotel based on reviews and the promised old world charm and it did not disappoint. Yes the hotel was older but it clearly stated that in the description in fact the hotel has a historic plaque outside - I found this really refreshing since I live in a ultra modern city - love historic buildings. Room was large - king size bed and very comfortable sofa pull out. Very clean and modern bathroom - lovely white towels and bath robes. Friendly staff happily made restaurant recommendations when we asked, and then followed up to see if we had enjoyed the recommendation.
Close to some tourist attractions but then again Washington is very spread out, but the hotel was close to the metro which we used a lot. My only complaint - and really it had nothing to do with the hotel was the loudness of the fire trucks, police cars and ambulances through the night - but saying that the hotel did acknowledge this and there were ear plugs in the room - a nice touch. In summery a great little hotel with character, style and friendliness. We didn't eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I am pleased to learn from your review that you enjoyed our convenient location. Our prime location provides our guests a seamless way to explore the Washington, DC area and is within walking distance of many area attractions and two Metro stations as you discovered. We often get great feedback from our patrons on the beds with 100% cotton Frette bedding that give it a luxurious feel.
Make your next great escape a return to the Henley Park Hotel.

Sincerely,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel. Located convenient to attractions. Staff was very friendly, nice bar, clean rooms and free wireless. Would recommend this hotel and looking forward to staying here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Succinctly put and much appreciated. We'll watch for your return.

Thank you,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The location and price of the hotel were perfect. Decor needs some updating and the front desk staff seemed a bit....unpolished for a hotel that close to a convention center. Was good for a one day trip through DC.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank You for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was marred efficient staff. It is always our goal to provide our guests with outstanding service throughout their stay and comments like yours helps us target problem areas so that they are properly addressed and avoided in the future. Your feedback is very important to us and I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate staff members for review and action.
Should your travel plans bring you back to Washington DC, we would love for you to consider staying with us again.

Regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found this place through hotels.com and were very pleased. Classy old fashioned lobby with great bar and sitting room. Friendly staff. Smallish room (huge by new York city standards) but nicely remodeled with moder bathroom. Free wireless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our twenty first century amenities such as wifi and TV are great but do need to fit in with the early 20th century sensibility of our historic hotel. I hope that we provide the proper balance. Come back when you can stay a little longer.

Regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed there for three nights and it was really nice. The location was excellent, we walked to the attractions and it's also close to subway stations. The room is a good size and very clean. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Your review made my day. Thank you! Our goal is to insure your comfort while visiting our city. I am glad we hit the mark. Come back and see us again!.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel. The room was spacious and nicely furnished. We know there were guests in the adjoining rooms but the walls must be thick. We never heard a sound. The hotel was in walking distance of most major attractions. There is construction across the street but it had little or no impact on our visit. Signs say it will be done in Spring 2014. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Only minor complaint - poor ventilation in th bathroom. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you, your feedback is much appreciated. It is a pleasure to hear that your stay was enjoyable. Our central location makes touring the city easy and our English Tudor decor makes for a quiet oasis in downtown DC upon your return.
Come back and see us again, soon.

Regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henley Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.