We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Henley Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Henley Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Henley Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special - 15% Off!
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very cute hotel in Downtown Washingtown, DC.
It is very old and historical, it feels like the beginning of the 20th century inside
The rooms are spacious and there is free bottled water.
There is formal tea every afternoon, which I loved.The bar is open until 11pm so this is something they can work and keep it open later.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments; I’m glad you were able to enjoy our Tea service. The Blue Bar lounge is open until midnight on Friday and Saturday nights, however during the week, the hours are based on the lack of customers at the end of the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    247
    85
    22
    23
See reviews for
36
221
64
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel was very warm and charming inside. Not a lot of front desk staff but the ones who were there hustled and bustled to get things done. One of the doorman didn't seem very helpful when I asked him about a local restaurant, and I couldn't find the concierge, but the front desk staff stepped right in and helped me get set in the right direction.

Rooms are comfortable, clean and very contemporary feeling. I'd recommend a room facing the street and not the facing the interior enclosed "pit".

Area surrounding the hotel was busy with construction, but I never once was disturbed by noise. Other than that the neighborhood is very safe and relatively quiet.

Ideal convenient place to stay if you are attending something at The Convention Center.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden or street are preferrable. Great convenient place to stay if you have busin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Thanks for staying with us; I’m sorry our doorman was not very helpful. The staff is usually very helpful to all of our guests. We hope to see you on your next visit to DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is great. Hotel decor is oldy-worldy; stylish and welcoming. Good size rooms, very reasonable price.The Continental breakfast is strongly recommended. They also offer an airport car service which is very convenient. Traffic can be quite loud at night. My only issue was with their administration; We had paid up front in full for our stay but were delayed by Sandy in New York. The hotel was informed of our delay but still cancelled the room and tried to charge us for the two nights that we actually managed to stay! After some frustrated discussions and a couple of phonecalls this was finally sorted out

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you had some challenges with your reservation. Sounds like it all worked out. I hope you visit us the next time your travel brings you to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We wanted a hotel that was close to the sights but not too expensive. What a find! As far as location goes the hotel is only a few minutes from the metro station and was within easy walk of the downtown sights.

The hotel itself is lovely. It is clean, has character and the staff were very helpful, in particular Derek Speight. Will definitely come back here if....ahem...I mean when we come back to Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are in a great location to walk to all that you want to see in DC. I’m glad you found the staff helpful. Mr. Speight knows how important that is to provide the assistance to each guest. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked this hotel while attending the 2012 ASA Anesthesiology Conference at Washington Convention Center. Just 100m walk from the convention center, I had Rm 214 on 2nd floor...... very comfortable junior suite, great king size bed, wifi access (free), cableTV and comfortalble bathroom. Nice toiletries and good bathroom with hard to work bath fittings.
Average breakfast and bar. Really 4 star accommodation but great if you are attending a meeting. Well situated for most of Washington's attractions.
A charming boutique hotel which I recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for 214, 314, 414 etc for best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments and your recommendation. We are just a short walk to all major DC attractions. Our Tavern Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. We offer happy hour specials in our Blue Bar lounge. We have also just revised our room service menu. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Henley Park Hotel is a well appointed and priced hotel, located conveniently near many of the attractions and government departments.

The dinning room is beautifully appointed and the continental breakfast is fantastic.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you stayed with us and had the opportunity to dine in the Tavern. We have recently upgraded all of our menus, to give our guests a great dining option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A few weeks ago my husband traveled with me to DC for a business trip. We had a room booked at another hotel, but had to make an emergency hotel switch a little after checking in at midnight due to a problem at the first hotel. We looked online and saw The Henley Park Hotel had good reviews, vacancies, and a reasonable price, so we hurried over and checked in around 12:30 AM. Despite the late hour, the man working at the front desk was so kind and helpful and quickly set us up with a lovely room. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfy, and the view was nice. The bathroom was also very clean. The hotel itself has a lot of character – it is very charming. I hope to stay there again sometime.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our Hotel is a Historic Hotel of America, and it does have quite a bit of charm. It is good to hear that the overnight staff was helpful in getting you into a room quickly. I do think we have one of the cleanest hotels in the city. Thanks for the accolades; it is great to be able to share guests’ comments with the housekeeping team. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#81 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and TIG Global so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henley Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.