We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & quiet within easy reach of most of Washington DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Henley Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Henley Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Henley Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special - 15% Off!
Ranked #72 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable & quiet within easy reach of most of Washington DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

A hotel that tries to look "old" world with plastic beams, etc. Nonetheless it was comfortable, easy to find and within easy reach of all the main sites in Washington. Very close to the Conference Centre (3 min walk). The room I had was on 4th floor facing the side road so it was quiet and peaceful. My colleague had room on the top floor (7th) facing the front and was woken very early each morning by building work opposite. Breakfast was good with a sufficient range. Coffee wasn’t to my liking. Staff were attentive and pleasant. Car parking was reportedly (we didn’t use it) $33 per night but we managed to find cheaper metered and then free parking locally. Despite the amount of channels TV wasn’t worth watching so perhaps they would benefit from pay as you go films? Still, I wasn't that interested in the goggle box as Washington is such an interesting place day and night.

Room Tip: Not at the front while building work is continuing opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry about the “plastic beams”, we have a few rooms per floor that have a window in the bathroom, and we have replaced the wooden blinds with a white blind that holds up better in the moisture rich environment of the bathroom. Thank you for noticing our attentive and pleasant staff, we are all here to provide the proper hospitality to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    254
    85
    22
    23
See reviews for
36
228
65
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Boring, sedate hotel with tiny rooms. They were not full and put us in a room overlooking an alley when I booked directly with the hotel two months ago. No ice machines. Finally found coffee maker in closet and they only supplied decaf. Overpriced boring breakfast with poor service. It was clean. The bed was comfortable. Add to a list of typical, historic Northeast corridor hotels with nothing special to recommend it. At least it wasn't a chain.

Room Tip: I asked to be near my ancient in-laws and they did not comply. Ask the staff not to put you in an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Being a Historic Hotel each of our rooms has a little different configuration. We do not have ice machines on the guest floors, however our staff is happy to bring ice to our guest who request ice. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast experience. To help make your sleep comfortable we use Italian Frette linens for our bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed one night in May 2010 with friends and kids.
Arrived very late and we were welcomed by a nice gentleman.
What a pleasant surprise that we were offered one of the bigger rooms at the top floor if i'm not mistaken it was one of the suites.
The room was AMAZING and we simply just loved the big comfy bed!
You absolutely get value for money.
Look no further this is THE hotel for those who are planning to see the White House :)
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments, so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Henley Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I attended a conference at the Washington DC Convention Center and stayed at this historic hotel. It was very convenient to the convention center with just a short stroll to the main entrance. On my first night there I was greeted with complimentary bottled water, which came in handy during my conference. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond their oral duties. They even helped me when I had trouble getting my time sensitive email out. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our staff goes out of the way to help each guest enjoy their stay at the Henley Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I recently spent three nights at Henly Park, I was in town for a business convention. The hotel is very close to the convention center so it was easy to get over there. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were small and lacked a desk. During our visit the weather became very cool and we wanted to turn the heat on, we were informed by the front desk that the hotel does not have any heat, so you might want to consider that if you are visiting in the winter months. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were not bothered by the construction but we did see where it was taking place. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were mis-informed about the heat in the hotel yes we do have heat and air in all of our guest rooms. And some of rooms do not have desks at this time; however we are adding desks to all rooms as we upgrade our floors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I travel for work very often, and among all the cities and hotels I have visited, this is the most charming and welcoming hotel I have stayed.

Everything they do at The Henley Park hotel has a special touch. An example:

The continental breakfast at the hotel restaurant is not just an ordinary breakfast. They bring you a fresh squeezed orange juice, with freshly baked croissant, mini-baguette, and blueberry muffin. The jam is not plastic packaged jam, but individual mini glass jars of jam, strawberry, marion blackberry and marmelade. The butter is not industrial butter, but home whipped butter. They bring you a ‘’bodum’’ of fresh coffee. The fruit salad is very, very fresh. Plus, they have decorated your table with fresh orchids. In fact, everything is fresh at the hotel restaurant, and tasty.

The service at the hotel is A-1. I called the desk simply to ask where I could find the coffee filters in the room. Right away the concierge came to give me some filters and coffee. This is what I call excellent service.

The room is also comfortable and well furnished. The only point is I would have wished to have a work desk in the room.

The hotel is decorated in a very elegant way. It is very posh, but not snobbish.

Room Tip: Business travellers, ask for a room with a work desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I enjoy sharing the guest experiences with the staff of the hotel, so we can continue to improve on our product and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our Junior Suite had plenty of space, but much of it was unusable. An L-shaped room, one complete section was almost entirely unfurnished and unlit. In the usable section, the desk and dresser were jammed next to the bed, giving it the feel of a Motel 6. The bathroom was equally cramped. One sink with no counter space in a Junior Suite? Upsides: reasonably priced, convenient to the Convention Center and clean, with friendly service. Comfortable pillows and more creative furniture placement would make this hotel a 4.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments, as we plan renovations we have taken the furniture layout in that particular room into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn
#85 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#65 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#94 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Renaissance Washington, DC Downt...
#64 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#42 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#85 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA and TIG Global so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henley Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.