We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ingore the negitive reviews-this is the place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Harrington to your Saves list
Hotel Harrington
436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Mention Ad For 10% OFF
Ranked #104 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Ingore the negitive reviews-this is the place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2005

This IS the hotel to stay at while in D.C.!!! The decor is older, but the Harrington is clean and the service is UNBEATABLE! The hotel staff as well as housekeeping were the BEST you could ask for!! Our room had 2 queen beds and the room was very good size. Whenever we asked for something, whether it be towels, or an extra pillow, it was quickly delivered!! There were many chanels on the TV to choose from. The first night we were there, there was a problem with the shower (barely any water pressure), 2 of the staff promptly came and changed the shower head and we had water pressure galore!! Our view was wonderful, we watched all the people from our window. The neighborhood was excellent and clean and we felt safe. We were in walking distance of everthing we wanted to see!! 2 blocks from the subway, bus service at the corner, 3 blocks from the National Mall and all that includes, etc.!! We would encourage a stay at the Harrington and if/when we ever go back...we will definatelly stay here.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    344
    199
    104
    81
See reviews for
213
163
74
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2005

We just stayed at this hotel during the GWU graduation. The hotel is old as other reviews state, but it certainly doesn't deserve the poor ratings some people have given it. During check-in, the staff was extremely accommodating and very courteous. I had expected much worse from the hotel given the great price. My family and I were very pleasantly surprised by the large rooms (we had 2) and the general appearance of the hotel. The location is fantastic! One block from the Old Post office, 2-3 blocks from Metro Center and about 5 blocks from the Mall. Walking distance to Chinatown, and all the attractions around the Mall. The are quite a few good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel provides an extensive list of others in the area. The area seems safe and we had no problems walking around the area at night. (It's 1 block from the FBI).
There were lots of busloads of kids at the hotel during our stay, but there was never any noise heard from within our room. We were adjacent to the elevator but I was not able to hear it from the room. I've stayed at plenty of good and bad hotels and this hotel rates close to the top for value. It's by no means a Marriott, but it's a great hotel for the money in downtown DC. After all, I had my mother-in-law along and we are still talking to each other after staying here!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2005

My husband and I took a spontaneous trip to DC the weekend of 9/11 last year. We stayed at the Harrington and LOVED it! We didn't have very high expectations since it was last minute, central to everything, and still quite affordable, however; we were quite impressed! It's a very old hotel, but that just adds to the charm! We were walking distance to the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, Ford Theatre, lots of restaurants, and much, much more! The staff was very accommodating and the room was more accessible than most we've seen. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2005

Our room were in need of some much overdo rennovation, but it was clean.
The lobby is about the size of small livingroom, so if you're thinking of cushy sofas, chairs and a bar....forget about it. I agree with the street noise we were on the 3rd floor and these trucks parked outside the restaurant with their engines running for hours I guess unloading supplies. The staff was friendly. Overall, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

One of the worst hotel experiences I've had. The walls are super thin, you can hear EVERYTHING that goes on in the hallway and the rooms next to you. The maids were loud in the morning, slamming doors and yelling at each other down the hall. We weren't able to sleep the 3 nights we were there. There was no way to fix the temperature ourselves in the room. The only good thing I can say is that despite the room being old and in dire need of refurbishment, it was in a great location, the room was clean (but it LOOKED dirty) and the staff very friendly. You get HBO!!!! Also, a lot of student groups stay here....I guess it's decent if you are so tired from sightseeing that you are able to sleep through all the noise that goes on.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2005

Enjoyed my stay last week in Hotel Harrington, has great service, they gave me whatever I needed even though I was there with a big group
they are located just blocks from all the major tourist attractions and their prices are the lowest you'll find in that area. They have alot of different options in the sizing of the rooms. They even let my group and some friends staying somewhere else store our baggage the whole day after I checked out (my train was at night). Would recomend to anyone looking for a good hotel at a cheap price. Only problem you might have something broken, but I'm sure the great staff will be happy to help you

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2005

Affordable hotels near The Mall are hard to find. Hotel Harrington is 2 blocks from The Mall and near restaurants and Chinatown....A bit shabby around the edges(I've never seen a carpet so thin), but clean and well enough appointed. We had a Delux Family Room, 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 tv's and a fridge. Perfect for adult couples, couples with kids or an adult with senior citizen parents. Don't expect designer shampoos, but the towels are thick and the staff is pleasant. There is an adjoining buffet restaurant for breakfast and lunch and the Bar next door has the BEST burgers...sit outside to avoid deafness from the 9 tv's set to sports and the lousy music. Somehow, the staff keeps the groups of school kids separate from the rest of the hotel guests and this is appreciated...there is wifi in the lobby and in the buffet restarant, but you might need to sit on the floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi Free Internet Cafe w/computers in Harriett's Restaurant Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Harrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.