We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Harrington to your Saves list
Hotel Harrington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Mention this add for 10%
Ranked #105 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay. Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

after reading some negative reviews i was a little nervous because we already booked and the price was right. But we were pleasantly surprised. Yes the decor was old and the tv wasnt great and the rooms are small but they were clean and the location was perfect. Reminds me of a small new york apartment. We were able to check in at 8:30 am which was great. Didnt have to worry about carrying our luggage around. Great coffee shop right across the street. And i had one of the best breakfast in ollies trolley on the next corner. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    391
    240
    122
    89
See reviews for
264
202
85
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baguio City, Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Straight from our flight from San Francisco, we immediately check in right from Ronald Reagan international airport. It's location was excellent, just a few minute walk to the washington monument and the US Capitol. We checked in at around 8:30 am, the front desk woman, looked like she didn't like being a front desk woman, tho the rest of the front desk people were really friendly. As I was saying, she gave us a room on the 11th floor, the room had a good view of the streets of washington at nightime. Before we left for New York, we washed our laundry, we ran out of tokens for our self-service laundry, so we bought another token the front desk man even told us "enjoy you're laundry" in a very nice way. The gift shop there was small but the man there was very helpful, kind and nice. The last day we were there we just checked out real quick, the service was very fast. Everyone was kind and the food was good. Plus due to its location it's just a few minutes away from the union station where you take buses, trains etc. P.S the bathrooms are a bit dirty

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It is a good clean hotel at a reasonable price. We got a family room with two double beds and four single beds and one bathroom for our family of two adults and five children. It is certainly not fancy but it is clean. We did not have any real problems.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wind gap, pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent 4 days. One old lady (me), one spry young woman (my child) and one very energetic 9 year old (granddaughter). We arrived in D.C. via Amtrak, so had no parking considerations. We had adjoining rooms on the 6th floor. That gave us two bathrooms, two twin beds, one double (maybe a queen?) and two flat screen tvs.

Read to the end, the Harrington has one enormous advantage.

This is an old old hotel, the rooms are small small, the bathrooms very very dated, the only amenity in the bathroom is soap (no shampoo, lotion, mouthwash, hair dryer), the closets are scary, the restaurants on site only so-so (we had a couple of great meals at Harry's and an awful breakfast at Harriet's) If you plan to spend relaxing time in your room, this is not the place for you. There is no furniture beyond the bed(s), small dresser, straight chair and a desk. There is no pen/pencil, writing paper, hotel amenities folder as you might find else where. We did have a small fridge, an electric kettle to boil water, instant coffee and tea. There is no pool or fitness center.

...ON THE PLUS SIDE...this hotel is EXCEPTIONALLY INEXPENSIVE for it's location. It is very clean (worn doesn't mean dirty). Plenty of towels and hot water. The air conditioning was odd, but worked just fine. The curtains are very substantial and blocked out all daylight. Our room was on the street side, so there was some traffic noise. But not enough to bother us. You can get almost comparable rates (with stuff) but you will be a goodly distance from everything. Possibly in another state. Staying at the Harrington frees you from figuring out the Metro or finding parking for every place you want to visit.

However, the Metro Center station is a block from the hotel. From this stop you can access all the metro lines. The only time we used a cab was for our visit to the Lincoln Memorial (We were almost at the complete opposite end of the Mall at the Air and Space Museum when we started towards the Lincoln. It was hot, we (me) petered out and hailed a cab.) Every other museum or attraction we visited, with the exception of the zoo, was an easy walk. Mainly we did museums and monuments on the Mall and walked past the White House. We did do the Wax Museum right around the corner.

Tips: Plenty of dining options nearby. But dining any where is pricey. Bring snacks. There is a micro you can use off the lobby. We used it for popcorn.

Summing it up......you can't beat this location. Easy walk to almost everywhere. Nearest Metro station accesses all lines. For the cash you'll save you can buy lots of shampoo!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnTerryGM, General Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We are less expensive than the large chain hotels, and your comments show some ways in which we save. The front desk always has information about the city,metro system,restaurants etc and we want to do all we can to make your visit a pleasant one.We enjoy hosting people from all over the world and would be pleased to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We arrived to this hotel for an overnight stay after seeing a play at the Warner Theater. Upon arrival we found out that the parking was located two to three blocks away so after I drop my wife with the luggage I went to park the car. After my return to the hotel I found out that my wife had requested a new room because the one that was reserved for us didn't look too good. The second room was not any better the bed and furniture in the room was very worn out and old, this is a very old hotel that is in really need for renovation and updates, the bathroom didn't look too clean either. We decided to just find another place to stay and found another hotel for about 20 dollars more. The front office clerk at the Harrington was very nice and didn't ask any questions about our reasons for not staying there and processed a cancellation for our reservation. I will not recommend this hotel or the restaurant either we decided to give it a try the next morning for breakfast and the quality of the food was not good at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Is a quite expensive (155 dollars per night). Free Wifi. Breakfast is not included. Kettle, coffee and tea available in the room. Convenient location, very close to the White House (10 min walk), Capitol, Washington's monument, and china town. 2 min walk from the Metro Center station.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

you really can't get a hotel at this price point at a better location - yes it is old (ancient?) but just keep it in mind and take it all in as part of the experience! we got given the wrong room key - THANK GOD nobody was in the room when we walked in - but they realised very quickly and chased us down, apologising profusely and promptly giving us the right key. not a huge deal but i guess it could've ended very badly.
since we were in washington for the sight seeing and not really looking to stay in a hotel room, couldn't really have asked for more - rooms are dated but clean, just use a gentle hand so you dont break anything!
ps. cheap laudramat on site - $2 for washing and drying??

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnTerryGM, General Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. I ,too , am glad the room key was changed without a problem ! We are always pleased when we can provide a comfortable and affordable visit while you stay with us. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#79 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#115 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#51 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi Free Internet Cafe w/computers in Harriett's Restaurant Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Harrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.