We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 days of vacations with my teenagers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Harrington to your Saves list
Hotel Harrington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Mention this add for 10%
Ranked #105 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“10 days of vacations with my teenagers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

They graduated from high school and as a gift we planned to visit Washington, DC. We arrived to the airport and used the Metro subway and we stopped at a metro station that is waking distance from this hotel. When we left we also used the metro station to the airport. If you rent a car the give you parking free. We spend 10 days and all the Museums plus eating places where waking distance from the hotel. The hotel also has a good restaurant in case you don’t want to go out. The room was cleaned every day and if you want to be ecologic you could let a note for them to change bed cloth every other day. It has a small refrigerator and every day you have free coffee. I think it was an affordable price plus a used a membership of a car club and receive another discount. The owner was accessible by phone and everything was terrific in the trip... I recommend Harrington hotel.

Room Tip: I went alone with my teenager sons and I asked for a family room reservation. This is a two rooms c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    387
    238
    122
    89
See reviews for
260
200
83
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times, for both business and pleasure in the downtown DC area. The location is very convenient for both tourists and those with business in the area, and the convenience of a reasonably priced parking garage and two in-house dining establishments is a most definite plus.

The only downside is the age of the hotel. At close to 100 years old, it does have the problems you would expect of such a grand age, and things like carpeting and decor are worn more than one might expect. However, the plus side of this is the history of the building itself - the city's first "skyscraper" and once the grandest hotel in the city, patronized by presidents and kings, this building oozes history in every corner.

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel, conveniently located and with most of the services of ones far more expensive - this one is for you, as long as you don't mind some worn furnishings.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side can have some noise from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

location is good, just across the start point of Old Town Trolley. The room is rather cold, and air-conditioner is central controlled. The window has not view. Our room have a 3 beds, it's not easy to find a room type like this, that's the reason we chose it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Why bother fighting the DC traffic when you can stay in a great hotel right in the middle. No, it is not a 5 star stay, but if you don't want to spend a fortune to the the capital of the US of A this is your hotel. There are restaurants open late, and a breakfast buffet in case you just really need a hearty meal before tramping through the Smithsonians or strolling on the Mall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

If you're interested in the history associated with DC, then this adds depth to the experience. I read other reviews and was a little anxious, but reality is in the middle. If you're going to stay in your room, go for more expensive options. If you're sightseeing and only need a place for sleep, this is it. I remember places like this hotel before large closets and the need to charge multiple devices to stay connected. The bathrooms are small but adequate, closets are 1950s size. Everything was clean, tvs work well and furniture is decent. It appears the hotel has made an effort to stay current. The nice thing is the parking, though further away, is safe and included in the cost of the room, which we offset with a coupon and saved $70-100. We got the coupon from one of those visitor center booklets. The front desk staff upgraded us to a two room configuration when he saw we were traveling with children, very nice gesture. The elevators were the most dated with their own brew of unique odors. No wait time for elevators at all, though. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel but the location at the heart of Washington DC is ideal for travellers. This was my third visit with school groups. Rooms are a good size and, if a bit dated, were clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast is a buffet, worth the cost and provides a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'm sure there are other reviews that say "old hotel" or "needs updating," which may be true, but this hotel has character, and the location is perfect. This was our first trip to DC, and I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. The price was great for being in the heart of downtown DC - withing walking distance to pretty much all of the major attractions - and was perfect for the amount of time that you will be in your room. I would suggest paying the extra for the regular sized room, not the small room. The bathrooms are small, with no counter space, but that was fine. This is a family owned hotel, so I feel better giving them the money than a larger hotel chain. The front desk staff was very helpful, and provides you with maps, visitor guides, and a great list of local restaurants. This is definitely where we will stay on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 12th Street side, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#78 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington DC
#76 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,946 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#115 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#50 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi Free Internet Cafe w/computers in Harriett's Restaurant Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Harrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.