We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old but great for a large family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Harrington to your Saves list
Hotel Harrington
436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Mention Ad For 10% OFF
Ranked #104 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“old but great for a large family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is few months shy of clebrating it's 100th birthday. It's basically a no frills hotel that caters to large families and student groups. If ultra modern furniture and little shampoo bottles on the counter are important to you then pick another hotel. Harrington is at E and 11th and is perfectly positioned. My family of 5 booked early and received a room for $205/ni, including taxes. It was three mini hotel rooms that had been opened up into each other. Room 926 (i think that's right) is a corner room with 1 queen bed and THREE single beds. OUr three girls loved having their own areas. It also had three full bathroom and 3 tvs. Mini fridge is standard. There were students in the building - we saw them in the lobby - but never heard any from our room. The place is clean - but showing it's age. the linens and towels were spot free but they showed age. the tub drained slowly and there was some funky stuff growing on the shower head in one bath but it certainly didn't out weigh the positives. the desk staff were helpful (happily handed to us extra pillows, gave directions, etc) and the restaurant downstairs convienant. Would I stay there again? If it were just my husband and me....maybe I'd upgrade a little. If I were with the kids then Harrington is the only way I could afford a weeklong trip in DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    345
    200
    104
    81
See reviews for
214
164
74
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Harrington is in a great location downtown DC. Walking distance to restaurants, museums, and one block from the tourist trolley stop #1. It was very convenient! The rooms are old, but clean. TV worked but fuzzy, no outlets in the bathrooms. No outlets next to mirrors. Still a great room for the price and location. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were in Washington for 4 nights with our grandchildren, a boy and a girl, ages 6 and 9. We chose this hotel because it was centrally located and had a two-room "deluxe" family unit. The staff was friendly.

The temperature in Washington was in the mid to upper 90s. The air-conditioning worked very poorly. There was only one little vent in each room over the door leading into the entry hallway and apparently did not have a blower connected because the only somewhat cool air you could feel was when you stood right in front of the door. The only thing cool in the room was the fridge.

This is a very old hotel, 100 years old in 2014. The rooms are small, the bathrooms haven't been modernized in many years, and the lighting was poor. The diverter in the shower in the "master" bath in the unit barely worked so most of the water came out of the faucet instead of the shower head. As a result, I was standing ankle deep in water by the time I finished my shower. There was no towel bar in the other bathroom so the kids had to hang their towels on a hook. The closet had no rod, just a row of hooks so you had to hang your clothes sideways.

We stayed just one night and then transferred to another hotel that was a palace by comparison. The staff did not give us any problem about checking out even though we had booked 4 nights.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We picked this place because of its easy walking distance to the Museum of Natural History and other key DC attractions as well as a price we could afford. Location is all this place has going for it. (Of course, in DC, you have to be prepared to pay handsomely for quality.) This place just didn't have it. It was old and dusty and damp. The room was tiny and had ZERO amenities in the bathroom (no shampoo, soap, etc.). The plumbing was ancient. The elevator is scary. Oh, and bring your own pillows. What they give you is more like a folded over towel stuffed in a pillow case... not much substance.

Stay here if you have to, but don't expect much. By the way, the hotel's reduced parking is about five blocks away from the actual hotel. We parked across the street for convenience and got hosed. It was our first time in DC and we learned a lot of lessons the hard way!

I won't stay in the Harrington Hotel again. If I want to visit our Nation's capitol, I'll be waiting until I can afford someplace less creepy.

Room Tip: I don't think good rooms exist here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Location is fantastic. Price with coupon was reasonable especially after comparing several in the area. Hotel is historic, built in early 1900's. I found this to be cool but on the other hand don't expect the Ritz. I do wish it had some ammenities. I could have used an ironing board. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We stayed on night and left our luggage while we walked around, we decided the location was so good, we stayed a second night. Our first night air was great, second night it was super warm. Room was okay clean but check your blanket before climbing in. I went to tuck girls in and black hair on blanket (my daughter is blonde) we were do tired I pulled blanket off and went to sleep. Well when we re rented a room, they put us in same room and guesd what was still there, the same hair on blanket. But hey, the Location was fantastic. For those not liking the hotel restaurant, Mc Donald's is a bloc k away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Everything is old and wearing out. Air Conditioner ,was not a normal one, I have never seen this contraption in my life and it did not keep you cool. Old bedding,TV's, chairs,tubs were stained with lime, door knob was falling off bathroom door, etc. Room had a refrigerator, but no microwave and the one they have you use, is down in restaurant and doesn't look like it has been cleaned ever.Not a good place to stay to get out of the heat, no lobby or swimming area to sit and relax. Location was good and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoy going to Washington D.C. to celebrate the 4th of July and my husband’s birthday, which is July 4, and we always stay at the Hotel Harrington. The Hotel Harrington opened in 1914 and is the oldest continuously running hotel in Washington D.C. The rooms are small but very clean and adequate. The hotel is nothing fancy but is comfortable. There is so much to see in Washington D.C. and for us Hotel Harrington is a good central location. It is very hot and humid in the summer so it is nice to be able to take breaks from site seeing, cool off at the hotel and venture out again. It is close to the White House, The Washington Monument, Ford’s Theater, The Old Post Office, Crime Museum and much more. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It has a small gift shop and two restaurants, Harriett’s and Harry’s. There are other restaurants very close by. On July 4th we can walk to see the parade in the morning and at night we walk down to the mall area to watch the fireworks. The one complaint we have is the parking. Hotel Harrington’s parking garage is about 3 blocks or more away from the hotel and can be an inconvenience. We are hoping that in the future they will be able to make better parking arrangements for their guests. I don’t consider the price too bad, especially when you consider the location. We have been coming here for a few years and have always had a pleasant stay. If anyone is thinking of visiting Washington, D.C we recommend giving Hotel Harrington a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi Free Internet Cafe w/computers in Harriett's Restaurant Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Harrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.