We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & price, friendly staff, a bit run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Harrington to your Saves list
Hotel Harrington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Mention this add for 10%
Ranked #105 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location & price, friendly staff, a bit run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Harrington Hotel is in a great location in downtown Washington DC. It's a 2 or 3 blocks from the National Mall and the White House. The Metro Center red line subway station is less than 2 blocks away. We had a reservation at another newer chain hotel outside the city for $50 more per night, but we decided to stay at the Harrington and I'm very glad we did. We were able to walk to all the major DC monuments and museums.

We spent 3 nights in room 602 at the Harrington Hotel. This is a deluxe non-smoking king room. I called the hotel reservation number and they said they had 7 of this type of room that are not listed on the reservation web site. We paid $194.77 per night including tax after a AAA discount. It was 2 rooms facing the street.

One room had a comfortable king bed, 2 bed side tables with lamps and one with a telephone, bureau with an old tube TV on it, a small closet with lots of hangers and an ironing board and a small bathroom. The shower worked well and had plenty of hot water.

The second room was a little smaller than the first and was connected by a archway without a door. It had a couch, low bureau with another old tube TV, a small closet, a small refrigerator and microwave, a desk with a chair, lamp and telephone. There was also a second full bathroom.

The room was quiet and we slept well. Breakfast was not included in the room price, but the hotel has a low priced restaurant with a breakfast buffet. The free WiFi worked well and had good signal strength in the lobby and on the 6th floor.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is 99 years old and a bit run down. But our room was clean, quiet and there were several available electrical outlets. Old hotels like this do not have cookie cutter rooms, so I can not speak about any room except the one we stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    388
    240
    122
    89
See reviews for
262
202
83
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Though the hotel is old and in need of a remodel (the only free outlet I could find for charging my phone was next to the light switch up on the wall), my room was clean and comfortable. Staff at the front desk were courteous and helpful. Location is great: near White House and National Mall, also less than 2 blocks from Metro. Plenty of shopping nearby. I had a good night's sleep. Excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the White House and Washington Mall.
We booked a room for 4 people and got two adjoining rooms (with a door between them) and 4 beds. The rooms are simple and comfortable. Room features contain work desk, two TV, and bathroom.
The hotel staff is very nice.
Disadvantage: there is no breakfast in the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Contrary to many of the reviews, I found this hotel to be clean, quiet (as a city center can be), and friendly. It is old so don't be put off by the wall 'decor'. The bathrooms were spacious, old (which means big and tiled) but with new plumbing fixtures. The shower is 'low volume' which means that extra gallons don't go down the drain. Good for them. Yes, the ice was on the 6th floor, but it was a short elevator ride, and the machine was always full. The housekeeping was great. We were greeted, warmly, by the same housekeeper every morning. No, it's not the 4 Seasons (nor 4 Seasons prices!). But it is within easy walking distance of the mall and a host of restaurants, coffee shops, and entertainment. Two Metro stops were within just a couple of blocks. I know. I was there.

Room Tip: We were roomed in 'the Annex' on the 8th. floor. We never heard any hall noise, ever. Perh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Guayana, Venezuela
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

There are only two good things about this hotel: price (it is the only affordable hotel in Washington DC) and the location (you can walk to all main sights, including the White House). But it looks -and it is- old, noisy and unpleasant. No frills at all. No luxuries of any kind. It is clean -and in this kind of hotel, that is a must-. Overall: a decent choice at nice fees.

[I stayed here: February 2009]

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is not a spa. It is a place to sleep in a great location in Washington DC. If you want pampering, go elsewhere. Yes, it is old, but my room was very clean. The mattress was a bit firm, but I am used to that, and slept like a baby. My "small double" was perfectly adequate. Being forwarned, I brought an old towel from home. And shampoo.
Some of the best restaurants in DC are an easy walk. Not to mention the museums, etc. If you are on a budget this is a great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed five nights and had two clean adjoining rooms that included a queen, two twins, and 2 bathrooms. The location of the Harrington can't be beat. We enjoyed our stay very much and found the staff to be attentive and helpful with everything from cabs and directions to restaurants, reservations and safety concerns. We also had the 11th floor shower ghost, but when we called for an adjustment to our shower, the repairman was there immediately on a Sunday night. The restaurant on the premises was a great convenience. We would stay here again and would recommend it for those who want to stay local, see as much as they can, and experience the city on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#30 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#79 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington DC
#76 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#115 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#50 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-4389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi Free Internet Cafe w/computers in Harriett's Restaurant Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Harrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.