We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Washington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Washington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore DC
Ranked #66 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I usually stay at the Mayflower when visiting DC, and was reluctant about staying here, but, the hotel exceeded my expectations. The property is gorgeous. Our room was beautiful, and the beds very comfortable. The only negative is that the room was somewhat dusty, and there were even large "dust-bunnies" visible in the vent above the shower. But besides that, the room was clean, nicely decorated, and very quiet. The location is very convenient, within walking distance to many attractions, shops, and restaurants. Check-in was fast. The staff is great, especially "Elizabeth" at the front desk. Great breakfast buffet. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    617
    254
    105
    64
See reviews for
369
283
104
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was a really nice property - in a great location near transport, convention center, and shopping. Not right in the most tourist-central area but easy to get around from there. Nice atrium layout to the hotel. Ask for a room on a high floor over the street - quieter than overlooking the atrium. Very nice facilities on the concierge level. NIce size of room, clean, very comfortable, very nice bathroom. Great lunch restaurant in the lobby and a convenient Starbucks there too. Overall very impressed and helpful, friendly staff at reception and in the business center.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor overlooking the street - quieter than overlooking the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
I am delighted that you had such an impressive stay at our property. I am glad the staff was very friendly and helpful. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the Grand Club lounge. Having club access is a nice feature for those looking for a more private setting. You receive complimentary breakfast and in the evening complimentary hors d’oeuvres and cocktail service. Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful room. location was perfectly in the middle of everything and even has a connection to metro. Will definitely stay again.

We did have travel with their costumer service but received an email with apologies which was good en for me

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Wandyyy:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Washington. We appreciate the opportunity to have you as a guest at our hotel. Often, we hear enthusiastic guest feedback about how great our location is, not only above the metro, but our close proximity to other scenic attractions in Washington DC. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My family and I were visiting DC for a few days and take tours of our nation's landmarks. The pool is nice and the rooms too. Breakfast buffet is huge and scrumptious! Make reservations ahead of time because it gets very crowded, Also, the atrium was beautiful and the water fountains were amazing! Kids loved it!! Last time we came, President Obama's limo zoomed right by!

Room Tip: Any room is great! Higher floors for better views:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Mega construction project going on next door. Huge party hotel with noise noise noise from adjoining rooms. You'll feel like a sardine packed in a can with a Zillion other guests. Hotel overbooked with inability to offer any room changes! Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear GGW135:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at our Grand Hyatt Washington. We appreciate you sharing the details about your experience with us. We take your feedback very seriously, and we're sorry to learn of your stay being less than ideal. Our sincerest apologies for being disturbed by the guests in the room next to you. We are always happy to send security to the floor to have the guests be respectful of the people trying to rest while with us. We hope this experience doesn't deter you from joining us at a Hyatt property again. If you would like to further discuss, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. I arrived in late unfortunately so didn't get to enjoy anything in the evening. Service was exceptional at check in and I was in my room in just moments. I ordered room service which arrived quickly. The food was good, although not the best room service food I have had.

I attended meetings in the conference space in the morning. The conference space was spacious and very convenient with the hotel.

After the meetings, I spent a couple of hours around the National Mall which was a very short walk away (about four blocks).

Room Tip: I had an outside room and the view wasn't exceptional, just okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you had a great experience at our property. I am glad you found the service to be exceptional. We want our guests to have a worry free stay. It sounds like you enjoyed our location. We have a very convenient location within walking distance from all the different attractions. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back for a future visit!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

More often than not when I stay at a Hyatt I am disappointed. This one was average and met my relatively low expectations for this average chain hotel. On the plus side is a Starbucks in the hotel although it has limited hours closing at 6pm. The rooms are depressinfpg and poorly sound proofed. I had a corner atrium room which was better than most in that it was larger but you cannot open your drapes or all the facing rooms can stare right in at your room. Crazy design and a ridiculously long walk to the elevator. There are so many better places to stay in Washington that I would only stay here if a meeting dictated that I had to as was the case with this most recent stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Hotel Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in trendy Penn Quarter – with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access – this downtown Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the US capital. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms – just steps from Washington Convention Center. Relax by the lagoon in our lovely 12-story atrium. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Amex, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.