We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best King Size Bed Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Washington to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Washington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore DC
Ranked #48 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best King Size Bed Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

Last minute trip to DC and decided to check this hotel out. It was a short stay but the location was perfect and walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was perfect I did not want to get up actually I wanted to take the bed with me. The Hyatt exceeded my expectations. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Your recommendation is our greatest compliment. I am so happy that you had an excellent experience at our property. It sounds like you found the Hyatt Grand bed to be amazing. Having a night’s sleep on one of our Hyatt Grand beds is guaranteed to leave you feeling rejuvenated and refreshed. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to have you
back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    818
    318
    120
    70
See reviews for
522
401
123
788
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent one night at this hotel while visiting to see the National Christmas Tree. The Metro is linked to this hotel so that is such an added bonus while visiting the city. You can walk to the White House, Occupy Washington, Washington Monument. Macy's is literally right next door. And china town is 5-6 blocks away. We had a king room with an atrium view. The room was clean and had 2 chairs to sit as well as a desk area. The hotel is a tad outdated (wallpaper on walls in hallways) but we really used this hotel to sleep. I have no complaints of this hotel and would stay again. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My husband forgot his toothbrush and someone brought him one as well as some toothpaste. The breakfast buffet was included in our price and it had many choices (both healthy and not)

Room Tip: Stay above the 3rd floor as folks said they could hear noise coming from the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This hotel is in a great location for visiting museums and mouments, easy walking distance to the mall and metro stations. My husband and I stayed here while in town for a corporate holiday party. When we arrived we were told there was only one king room left on the second floor, street side, but that we could get a queen room on a higher floor if we were worried about street noise. When we asked if there would be a price reduction for a queen room, another king room suddenly came available on a higher floor overlooking the atrium. The rooms are nice and spacious, but the lighting is very poor. There are multiple lamps in the room, but the bulbs are really dim. Even in the bathroom, where there is an overhead light, but none in the shower, which is rather dark once you close the curtain. There are two additional vanity lights, but they are so dim I had a hard time seeing to put on makeup. There was also mildrew in the grout in the shower. There is no safe in the room so if you have valuables or a laptop you may want to think about staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Opted for an overnight at the Hyatt during a business trip to DC. Regular rates are very expensive but I landed a fair price on a last minute hotels.com offer. Rooms facing the street on lower floors (6 for me) were indeed noisy, but the rate was such a good value I did not mind. Tried the "Cure" lounge while meeting with 2 colleagues. We ordered coffee and it was sooo cold it had to be sent back. Lots of dining options in the area, so we did not try other hotel facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orofino, Idaho
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great location - close to White House, Verizon Center, Conference Center, and metro
Great 'reception' for those belonging to Hyatt's Gold Passport

Room Tip: request a room not looking out at the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're glad to hear our magnificent location helped to make your stay wonderful. Our hotel is in a perfect location, close to many museums and with a metro station in the lobby. We look forward to your next stay.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coaST
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This premesis has top rating on Hyatt rating and it is TIRED and run down
The atrium <internal< was dirty and I pointed this out to "MOD" who seemed un impressed
I was in USA for 6 weeks and this hotel was by far the worst presentation
I am a passport holder and am most upset and would recommend Four Seasons group if looking for a great stay

Room Tip: in washington dc look somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, JHB
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The Grand Hyatt is a large, relatively old hotel. The rooms are old fashioned and in need of renovation. The food and service where average. The room I stayed was noisy as it overlooked the street.

I would not recommend staying here, the fairmont is much better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We appreciate your candid feedback regarding your room appearance. I will be sure to forward your comments along to the appropriate personnel letting them know about the room appearance and the issue with the noise. Please know that we take all of our guest’s feedback very seriously and it will help us to continue to improve our guest satisfaction. We hope that you will give our property another try in the future.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.