We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - clean and tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington University Inn

Save Saved
You added George Washington University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
George Washington University Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
U.S. Government Travelers
Ranked #32 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Queensland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location - clean and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

I stayed here in late September 2009 with my wife and infant child. We found the GWU Inn to be in a pretty good location and in a nice neighbourhood. The hotel was clean and pretty much what we expected after viewing the web site (which is great - we've had some shockers in the past!!!). The suite we stayed in was very spacious and the kitchenette was functional. The only problem was with the heating. Our room was always cold (by our standard). We contacted the front desk, who sent someone up, but was unable to help as we were advised the heat was regulated centrally. Access to the gym - a 5 minute walk away was complimentary - an itself a great place to work out. We enjoyed our stay at GWU Inn and would have no hesitation is coming back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUINN, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
Our Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I 'm glad it was a refined and yet relaxed experience.
Dear Guest,
We always look into and appreciate the feedback our guests give us about their stay, and about us too as we are determind to exceed the expectation, and additional to the service that we provide as you mentioned the good location and the great neighborhood as we are located next to the Kennedy center, Water gate, block from the university, George town and most of the attraction.
I do apologize for any inconvenience might have caused to you during your stay in regards to the heating system,
Please allow me to take this apportunity to thank again with the hope to see you during a warmer weather next time.
Best Regards,
The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    155
    45
    12
    9
See reviews for
114
93
35
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette IN
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

This is the 3rd time that I have stayed at this hotel and have reviewed it previously, but I had some new experiences on this trip that I thought I would comment on. On previous trips, I wondered why others complained about the thin walls, but this trip I did hear my neighbors talking in the other room. This may be because I've never had neighbors next door before or it may be that I was on the quieter side of the hotel before (the side that faces 25th st.). Also, our tv didn't turn on so we called the front desk who very promptly sent someone to our room to fix it. Finally, this is the first stay where we paid the extra $10 per night for the breakfast buffet. The buffet included granola (seemed to be broken up granola bars), bagels, toast, hard-boiled eggs, juice, yogurt, coffee, and tea. The young woman attendant in the morning was very pleasant and helpful.

This hotel is located on a quiet side street close to the Foggy Bottom Metro, the Watergate (safeway grocery here), Georgetown, and The Mall. All 3 rooms that I've stayed in have been large, clean, and comfortable and have included a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. I have stayed at the Doubletree across the street and at the Hotel Lombardy and the GWU Inn is the best in terms of a combination of location, price, and comfort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUINN, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Thank you our dear guest for staying with us and it has been always a pleasure to serve you, we realy count on your feedback and appreciate the time you took to complete it, as our main focus and concern is your comfort and relaxation during your stay with us we give this survey a great deal of attention and we share it with every manager and every department to make sure the issue is corrected. Our apology to you for the inconvenience and our promise is that we will work to make sure that everything is corrected as we want to be always ready not only to give our guest the best of what they expecting but to exceed their expectation.Thank you again for choosing our hotel and looking forward to seeing you in the near future.
Best Regards,
The GWUINN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Pleasantly surprised how nice this Inn was. Very convenient and very reasonable for how close it was to everything. Lovely rooms very spacious. Very, very nice people working there. I am almost afraid to tell anyone about this nice place--want to make sure there is enough room for us the next time we are in the D.C. area!

S. Smith

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUINN, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
Our dear guest
Thank you for staying at the George Washington University Inn we are very happy that you had a pleasnt stay with us this has been always our promise to our guest the excellent service and we will always stand behind our promise,we kindly thank you for the feedback and the nice words you said about us,it has been a great pleasure serving you and we are looking forward to serving you again in the future.
Best regards,
GWUINN Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Check-in was quick and easy. We paid an extra $30 to have our car parked in the hotel garage as finding parking on the street would have been challenging.

We reserved a room with double beds and found it large and spacious. The linens were clean and nice. There was a 32 inch flat screen tv that had a clear, crisp picture. The only problem that we had (mother and daughter travelers) was the lack of counter-space in the bathroom for our makeup and toiletries. The ice machine (inconveniently located on the eighth floor) and vending machines were out of order so we were unable to obtain ice and extra drinks.

Overall, the price was very reasonable for the large, clean room and convenient location. The price of parking was a bit much, but not unusual for D.C. I would recommend this hotel to other travelers without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUINN, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
Our dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the George Washington University Inn it has been a pleasure serving you, we are so happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and really appreciate your business and your time writing about us . We apologies for any inconvenience.Your feedback is so important to us as it always shared with the management team who is extremely concern about our guest comfort and satisfaction.
Thank you again and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quality hotel for a reasonable price in DC.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUINN, Front Office manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Dear Guest
It is our pleasure to meet and exceed your expectation,Simply our main concern is your pleasure and comfort during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us at the George Washington University Inn and looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

First, the location is fantastic. One block away from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop - very convenient. The rooms are spacious and clean with very comfortable beds. We had a suite with fridge, microwave, stove, and dishes. Came in very handy for reheating leftovers from dinners during the week. The room was well appointed with bed, sofa, five tables, two chairs, TV and dresser. A feather pillow was available in the closet, along with a nice terry robe. They even offer free overnight shoe shine service. The high speed Internet worked well via cable, but I had problems with the unsecured wireless Internet access point. Not a real problem as a cable was provided.

I did read some other reviews which complained of noise, but we never heard a problem. We stayed on the 7th floor overlooking the main entrance (and the restaurant's patio) and we only heard some minor noise from other rooms. Certainly nothing that bothered us at all and I am a light sleeper. The window shades were good for blocking out the light as well, but morning Sun did creep in around the edges.

The bathroom was average sized with one sink. The shower was standard sized with a six foot 'tall' shower head, which worked adequately for me at 6'10". The towels are soft and luxurious, the bath towels being six feet long with good width. The bathroom was very clean, though some might say it was a bit dated. All faucets/fixtures worked well with no problems or leaks - very functional. My only "issue" was that the TP was a bit scratchy... it was a two-ply recycled paper. Kudos on the environmental consciousness and certainly tolerable for a weeks' stay.

Overall we were very pleased with the GWU Inn, especially for the price. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUINN, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2009
Dear Guest
We appreciate your comment and feedback on your recent stay with us. We always provide the service that make us excced the expectation of our guest because this is what we believe in and this is what we are here for.
I want to thank again for staying with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My wife and I travel to washington DC often and will be makeing our stay at george washington universty. Just mins. from George town.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUINN, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear Guest
We thank you very much for staying with us and happy to know that we are your best choice when visiting Washigton DC,We appreciate your comment about our service and location as we are close to most of the attractions museums,memorials and the Georgetown in specific. We are so glad to have had you with us and looking forward to seeing again.
Best Regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George Washington University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington University Inn

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Washington University Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Different and Charming... The George Wahsington University Inn evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the enviornment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your George Washington University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.