We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel but be sure to inquire about parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added George Washington University Inn to your Saves list
George Washington University Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel but be sure to inquire about parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We travelled to this hotel in July 2013. I parked on the street as I could not see parking in the hotel. Upon arrival at 10 AM the morning of our stay they proceeded to let us check in early. When i inquired about the parking, as I didnt see much, they told me there would be an extra charge for parking that I was not informed of previously. To not make an issue of it I accepted the charge so as to go ahead with our vacation. The door man informed came out with us and when he saw wher we parked he said we could leave it where it was as the city would not be checking parking on the 4th of July. That saved us some money at least.
When we checked out I saw the charge was $50 a day for parking which I felt was very excessive. Once again I accepted it as overall the hotel was very good. I probably should have agrued but it was early in the morning and we had a long drive back home to Toronto.

Other than that the hotel was fantastic. The room are large and roomy and lots of light. The hotel staff were very helpful. Special thanks to Serge and Jose for all their help. I would rtecommend this hotel to anyone just be sure to ask about parking costs

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the miscommunication on parking fees. We are glad that it didnt ruin your vacation and that you were able to enjoy your accomodations and that the you found the staff to be helpful.

Thank you for sharing your comments

Tatina Washington,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    242
    58
    14
    11
See reviews for
201
152
52
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We were in DC for one night for a show at the Kennedy Center, and chose the George Washington University Inn for its proximity. Not only was the hotel close to the KC, it was in the heart of Foggy Bottom and everything was walkable, including the KC and great restaurants. The bonus was how nice, attentive and genuine all the staff were. The hotel wasn't luxurious, but we had everything we needed. And besides, I would trade luxury for fantastic staff and location any day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us and that our location and staff exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your next visit.

Tatina Washington,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Large rooms in an older however well maintained and conveniently located hotel a few minutes walk from Foggy Bottom Metro. My studio room had a full kitchen and sofa in addition to a king size bed. A quirky floor paln with a dressing room before you enter the bathroom. Whole Foods is nearby as are numerous restaurants. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
.
Your comfort is our priority and we are pleased that we met your expectations all around.

Thank you for sharing your comments.

Tatina Washington
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel!! It's not directly downtown but we wanted to stay outside of the hustle of downtown. It is very conviently located near a subway station. Short walks to several good places to eat. The rooms are spacious and have comfy beds. The bathrooms are smaller but it's a older hotel, not small enough to complain about. The only thing that stinks but you will find this with every place in DC is that you pay $25 dollars to park a night. Overall, we love it and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are very happy that enjoyed your visit and that you love our hotel. We certainly look forward to your next visit and we thank you for posting your comments.

Tatina Washington
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel after a friends recommendation. Hotel was very clean and tidy. Had a 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette. Bathroom was a little on the small side. Staff were very friendly and professional. Location was good with easy walking distance to Subway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments. It is always very satisfying when we here that our guests are have recommended our property to others. We are very pleased that the staff and the accommodations met your expectations.

Again we thank you for your time and look forward to your next visit.

Tatina Washington
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights after NYC, arrived in the rain from union station and had trouble initially finding the check in desk. The lobby is being renovated and check in was in a guest room on the 2nd floor. But we imagine it would be better once the lobby is finished.
The room itself suited our needs, the bed was comfortable the bathroom was larger than expected. The kitchen was adequate, all equipment was clean and funtcionable.
We walked to wholefoods for our supplies, we also walked to Georgetown and the Lincoln memorial. Metro is in the GWU a couple of blocks away, very convenient.
We also caught the circulator bus and for $1 a ride this was much easier than the metro, especially not having to "know" the peak times, as the bus was always $1 and very frequent. This bus would be great if there were more routes.
We have previously stayed at the river inn and found them to be similar, but the GWUINN room was quite a lot larger. The happy smiling doorman was very nice, the front office guy gave us free washing powder when the powder machine wasn't working in the laundry.
We will stay here again after their renovations are complete.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are pleased that the renovation did not cause you to much dismay and that the helpfulness of our staff and accommodations as well as our location met your expectations. You will be glad to know that the lobby and business center renovations are complete and we are only days away from the completion of our brand new fitness center.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments .

Tatina Washington,
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked a room with a bedroom so my husband and I could sleep in a different room than my dad.

Not only the rooms were big and with a view, but it also had a kitchen, lots of closets and a little hallway between the room, living room and bathroom, giving even more privacy to all of us.

The hotel is in a very good location, just a block away from the subway, a whole foods and not too far from the Lincoln Memorial.

Only con is the excessive parking fee! But we parked in the street since it was a long weekend

Room Tip: travelling in a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and happy that you found comfort in your room accommodations and convenience in our location.

Thank you for posting your comments.

Tatina Washington
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#16 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#50 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#37 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Washington University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington University Inn

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Washington University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The George Washington University Inn evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your George Washington University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.