We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington University Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added George Washington University Inn to your Saves list
George Washington University Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Special
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Peru
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at GWU for three nights while visiting DC. It was a safe neighborhood, and about a two block walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. From here we could go anywhere. It was only two stops to McPherson Square (the White House stop). Room was good....clean, simple, and met our needs. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Hotel is older, but it seems to be well kept. We walked each morning for breakfast, either to the Starbucks at the hospital, Whole Foods, or one morning we took a little longer walk to Founding Farmers (still close to the hotel and worth it). We are walkers and even walked one night down to the mall to the Lincoln Monument from the hotel. Parking was extra - $35/day, but we were okay with that. You also have in/out priviledges. The hotel restaurant looked good and locals seemed to be dining there. Why spend an hour riding on the train from further locations, or spend more money, when you can stay here? We would stay again. Watch for the restaurant front if you are driving, because the hotel is hidden back from the road a little bit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Yes we are in a prime location for accessing public transportation, local shops and dining. Our property does have some age on it but we our working hard to keep it alive and knowing that we were able to satisfy your comfort needs ensures our efforts are pointed in the right direction and that is to keep our guests happy.

Thank You for your wonderful comments and observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    182
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
140
113
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey,USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed at the GW University Inn for the annual No Kill Conference. It was such a comfortable stay. It felt more like a small apartment than a regular hotel room. We loved our junior suite. The kitchenette came in handy with Whole Foods nearby. The hotel was conveniently located to the Metro, restaurants, and stores. The restaurant off the lobby had a nice lunch menu. We will definitely book this hotel again next year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are so pleased that you found our property and location to be peaceful and comfortable. We are working vigorously on improving our wireless internet connections and appreciate your patience through this process.

Again thank you for your kind words and support . We truley appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was a very pleasent and peaceful stay in GWU inn from 12 Aug 2012 to 17 Aug 2012. The staff is very co-operative. The place is very peaceful, and just a few steps walk from Foggy Bottom metro station. It was safe to walk from station to hotel even in late nights. The restaurent is small and nice. Only I could not get wi-fy connection in spite of the staff working so hard to solve the problem. I suggest this hotel to family members and short visitors with economic rates and better service.
Prafull Ranadive, Mumbai, India
pvranadive@yahoo.com

Room Tip: I suggest this hotel to family members and short visitors with economic rates and better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank You for your recent comments comments regarding your stay at our property. We are pleased that you found our location and staff to meet your needs. Please accept our apologies with the wifi connections. It has been reported to our IT specialist and we are working hard to enhance this service.

Thanks again for your support and comments. They are both very valuable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Title says it all. Location of the hotel is in Foggy Bottom right next to the university. 2 blocks away from the subway line and very central to all the sights.

From the outside, the hotel doesn't look like much but the rooms are well kept and clean. Very good value for the location and quality. I actually got upgraded because the room I booked was filled. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Overall a great stay and I would definitely consider a restay the next time i'm in Washington.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Yes, although we are in a very nice and quiet area in the Foggy Bottom Neighborhood we can be overlooked at times because of the way our building sits back off of New Hampshire avenue. We are very pleased that you found us and that we were able to accomodate you to your standards.


Thank you for taking the time to share your valued comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at GWU Inn. We visited for 4 nights at the height of the heatwave in July, so were very grateful for the excellent air-conditioning. The suite was well set up with a little kitchenette, a sofa-bed and trundle for our teens in the living room, and a separate bedroom with a very comfy bed for the grown-ups. 2 separate air-con units meant both rooms stayed nice and cool. The location was good-we could walk to the downtown area or beautiful Georgetown very easily. We had breakfast included and it was ok, but I would probably not bother with it next time. DC was really lovely and it was great to see the monuments, museums and fireworks on July 4th. GWU Inn was a reasonably priced, comfortable option for our family and we would recommend it to other families visiting the area.

Room Tip: The two room suites work well for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us during your visit to DC.We are in a great location for visiting the area sites and landmarks. We are glad that you enjoyed your suite and that we succeeded in providing the service you dessired.


Again thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regaring your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids ages 7 & 9 ) stayed her in the second half of June 2012 for about 6 nights. The location was great. The foggy bottom metro station was very close by and across the street is a Wholefoods (about 1-2 blocks away from the hotel). We ate here everyday for breakfast, it was good to know that we are still eating healthy while we were travelling. There is a 7-11 about 0.5 blocks away. My kids love the lemonade at the front desk! The staff were friendly and helpful. The air conditioning was excellent considering we were here when the city first hit 100 degrees. We also walked back from Georgetown one night. If you are up to it, you can actually walk to the Mall. Lincoln memorial was a nice evening stroll.

Our kid's favourite museums were American History, Natural History, Newseum, Postal museum, federal reserve (where they made the money), zoo and the capital building, Lincoln memorial. We wished we had more time. Best lunch places were at the union station, a Lebanese restaurant near the zoo and the Newseum.

The only downside to our trip was the heat. But we were lucky, we were here before the black out that occurred the following weeks after we left.

Overall, the Washington DC trip was a great experience. It is so wonderful to see all the USA treasures found in one city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us during the very hot days in June. Yes it seems that the lemon water in the lobby is a big hit wth our guest. We are glad you had the opportunity to visit some area attractions as well.

Again your comments are of great value to us and we are very appreciative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed there with my 2 kids aged 13 and 10. The place is very clean and the bed are comfortable. This is the best location for the price. Just 15 minutes walk from the Abraham Lincoln Memorial and the White House. The metro station is just near by and the lines are going directly on most station who have the attractions (Smithsonians, Arlington Cemetery,...). An advise for breakfast, go to the Hospital cafeteria just at the side of the Metro station. It's very cheaper than all the restaurant around and the choice is good. There are some restaurant around and an whole food market that has plenty of choice of meals ready-to-eat. We were very satisfyed with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and the comfort of our property. Yes we are in a great location for families to enjoy the area attractions and food outlets.

Thank You for taking the time to share your experience at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Washington University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington University Inn

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Washington University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Different and Charming... The George Wahsington University Inn evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the enviornment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your George Washington University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.