We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington University Inn

Save Saved
You added George Washington University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
George Washington University Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
U.S. Government Travelers
Ranked #32 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a few nights for her birthday. I picked this hotel because I was hoping it would be unique. It was a very good price for the location. Very close to the foggy bottom metro station. The only staff I encountered was the front desk at check in and out. They seemed nice. The room was nice and roomy. The beds were very soft and clean. One thing that did bother me was the carpet. It was almost as if it had been waxed; very slippery but we survived. The fixtures in the bathroom were a little old and used but they were clean. Overall I was happy with the decision to stay here.
On another note: Through a website affliliated with the hotel, I requested a higher floor (>6) and continental breakfast, if available at check in. I did not receive either one (we were on the 3rd floor and was not given breakfast vouchers that I learned about later) but I was still charged for them. Fortunately, that was resolved with a quick call to the hotel after I saw it on my card statement the following week.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are pleased that you found our property to be clean, comfortable and conveinant. Thank you for your observation and feedback regarding the carpet and fixtures in the guest room. We are currently experiencing an upgrade and are working vastly to correct some of those difficiencies. As it is always our intent to pay attention to the desires of our guest please accept our sincerest apologies for overlooking your requests on the Nor 1 site.

Thank You again for taking the time to share your valued opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    155
    45
    12
    9
See reviews for
114
93
35
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My teenage daughter and I enjoyed this hotel. The room was large and clean, perfectly met our needs including the small refrigerator and microwave. We rarely saw staff because we were out most of the day and didn't need much from them. The only reason that I gave this a 4 instead of 5 was that the only time we needed help from the staff the young lady at the desk was not very helpful. Just telling us that something couldn't be done instead of suggesting a better idea is not my idea of customer service. The location is excellent, in a quiet neighborhood only two blocks from the Foggy Bottom metro. It was a little hard to find the first time as the only signage was a small sign almost hidden from view and the entrance is down a short alley. If we hadn't seen the sign for the restaurant we would have walked right by! BTW the restaurant was excellent. Also shopped at Whole Foods like everyone else has mentioned. We also enjoyed several other restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Go high up because you are close to a hospital ER and get some sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Please accept our sincerest apologies as it is never our intention to have our guest experience any form of frustration in regards to the level of service we provide. Thankyou for your compliments to the restaurant. We are glad that you were able to join us in dining as well as experience some of the wonderful shops and eating in the our neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I highly recommend the George Washington University Inn to anyone visiting Washington, DC for the first time and any time after as well. You cannot beat the price, the accomodations, and the wonderful staff. I loved that the hotel was less than a block from the Metro Station (the only way to travel Washington in my opinion) and a Whole Foods grocery store where my family started every day with a hot, healthy breakfast for less than $7 per person! The hotel is old,of course, but is in excellent condition. You can tell the staff takes pride in the hotel and takes care to keep it looking good. It is also just a short walk from Georgetown shopping (about 7 blocks) and just across the street from George Washington Medical University where the Metro station is located. This hotel offers relatively inexpensive valet parking (about $37 a day, which you will quickly discover is a deal!) so you can park and take advante of Metro use. Add to that the FREE internet (a difficult commodity to come by in DC lodgings!) and you have a great package. The only thing we did not experience was dining in the hotel restaurant because they were doing some renovations, but with Whole Foods so close by, we never went hungry. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Yes we are in a great and conveinant location with many food and shopping outlets as well transportation options within walking distance of the property , Thankou for the wonderful comments regarding our staff. As always we were happy to have served you.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at GW Inn with our 2 grandchildren (ages 17 and 11) for 5 nights. The hotel is clean, the location is fabulous, (1.5 blks from the foggy bottom metro) customer service at the hotel is outstanding. The Italian restaurant has great food and choices for young children. Every morning we walked to WholeFoods (2blks) for breakfast. They have a breakfast bar and everything else in the world. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples, families, friends etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are always pleased to here it when our guest are completetly satisfied. The fact that we were able to meet all of your needs is very satifying for us as well.

Thanks again for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family of 4 enjoyed our stay (2 boys, ages 12 & 10). The hotel is charming, not a lot of amenities, but when you are in Washington DC I hope the plan isn't to stay in the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and pleasant. Everyone talks about the Wholefoods up the street, but what's even closer is a 7-Eleven, remember 2 boys, ages 12 & 10. The Slurpee's were a hit after a long day of sightseeing. The Foggy Bottom metro is so close and make's getting around DC so easy. We didn't dine in the restaurant, but it looked nice. The restaurant staff was very accommodating with plates and silverware needed to heat and eat our leftovers. We ran a couple of days and the laundry room was just what we needed to clean our sweaty running clothes. It's $3.00 total to wash and dry, but well worth it. Our family would definitely stay again, it's worth the price and the proximity to all the wonderful neighborhoods in DC.

Room Tip: When booking online, it is worth the extra $ to get a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are quite pleased that your family enjoyed our facility and the convenience of the surrounding outlets as well as our onsight laundry facility. We always enjoy hearing positive feed back from our satisfied guest. Please come back and visit with us soon. Hopefully you will get the opportunty to dine in our wonderful restaraunt on your return.

Tatina Washington
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed with two adult sons and absolutely adored this hotel. The room was excellent- well equipped and very spacious. The small kitchenette has everything you need for a longer stay. The location is fantastic. Fairly close to everything we needed. We were very impressed with this hotel and I don't think the website does it justice. I recommend this hotel. It definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are certainly grateful for such a wonderful review. The fact the we were able to exceed your expectations makes us very proud as a company. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we look forward to hosting any and all future guest that you send our way.

We look forward to your next visit.

Tatina Washington
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here two nights with my two kids ages 6 & 8. Staff was friendly and professional. The rooms looked old, no closets or hangars for me to hang my clothes. The room with a fridge only had a fridge and large mirror. Looked like wasted space. Thought they could have at least put up a bar to hang clothes.
The fridge was large and worked great....even the freezer. Microwave was functional as well.
I paid $200 /night after taxes and parking was added in. quite steep considering there was nothing that impressive except for the location.
I stayed in DC to give my kids a feel of the city and riding the metro. The area is safe, walkable and pretty. We walked to a cafe every morning rode the metro that was barely a block away. If you want to have that city experience, go with this hotel, but don't expect the fancy pancy.hotel for this price. You are paying for location.
While the parking rate of $35 was expensive, my car was safely garaged while we relied on mass transit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at George Washington University Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are glad that you found our location a good one to get around town. There is easy access to all kinds of transporation within a block or two of our hotel.

We are currently in the process of renovating the hotel and we will be changing out some of the future, wall covering and other items. All of our rooms do have closets with hangers in them for our guests to hang there clothes. Many of the closets are either right next to the front door, our in one room tier it is directly behind the open front door. We are sorry that you did not see it and we will let our future guests know each closet location when we call the room again after they check in.

Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw of Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George Washington University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington University Inn

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Washington University Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Different and Charming... The George Wahsington University Inn evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the enviornment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your George Washington University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.