We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location....NOT!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Hotel Under Renovation!
Ranked #81 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location,location....NOT!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great family hotel,good breakfast and happy hour. Service is real attentive and yet......unless your visiting Georgetown you need to take Metro (expensive) whereever you need to go.Upscale neighborhood which means very few family oriented restaurants. Hotel a little tired. Wallpaper peeling and mold in tub and yet for that price a family of four can sleep real reasonable !

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 6112vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was initially hesitant to make reservations at this location since my friends in DC area recommended we stay as close to Capitol, White House, etc... as possible. After looking at the expensive prices with our family of four, we decided to stay here. I was pleasantly surprised at our experience and recommend it wholeheartedly (although agree about long breakfast line and wifi restrictions). The accommodations were perfect for our family, and our children enjoyed the pool, unlimited breakfast buffet, and nearby Rock Creek park. You can easily walk to the tourist attractions and also have local choices at Dupont Circle neighborhood shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Location is the top reason to choose this hotel. Located between DuPont Circle and Georgetown, you have access to two prime metro stops which are only one or two stops away from museums and monuments galore. You could actually walk to the Lincoln Memorial end of the mall if you really were in the mood for a hike. The hotel also is near Rock Creek Park which is convenient for runners or walkers staying at the hotel. The hotel itself is clean and has a friendly staff. Suites are great if you are traveling with kids and the free breakfast and evening reception are a bonus. Definitely look for a package that includes parking as the garage is small. If you pre-reserve parking you can get a spot in the garage otherwise you may have to park at an overflow lot a few blocks away.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank evansvuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Embassy Suites on 22nd street is well located for sightseeing and shopping. There are lots of restaurants close to the hotel (the restaurant in the hotel has a great lunch buffet that I am told is very popular with the locals) and Georgetown is just a short walk away. After reading some of the other reviews, it is true, there is a consistent look in all Embassy Suites, so you pretty much know what you are going to get.
I had a great check-in experience. The first person waiting on me told me there were no rooms available when I checked in, but offered to have may suitcase stored. Another gentleman working at the front desk came over and voila! I had a room. The room was spacious-three sinks! The air conditioning unit was a bit loud, but no other complaints. It was very clean and well maintained.
I did not have any trouble with lines at breakfast (and the hotel was full), but I went at 6:30 each morning.
The downside of the property? The internet was poor and I found the tv channel selection to be a bit limited-

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christyjmccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We've happily stayed at Embassy suites locations many times over 10+ years. Unfortunately the Washington location was our first bad experience at an Embassy. Starting with long front desk lines due to a single staffer taking non stop phone calls while trying to wait on customers. Frequent trips back to the front desk for non-working door keys added to the problem. Unbelievably long lines for breakfast only to find that the buffet is out of eggs and bacon and silverware and tables. The personally cooked breakfast is a total fiction. I counted 28 people waiting in line for the one chef!! The WORST internet service of any hotel (I spend 100 night a year on the road and have not seen wifi this unreliable in years!) Plus beat up room furniture. After paying $350 a night for the room plus $45 a night to park, I'll absolutely stay at a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Try across the street at the Hilton Garden In
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dangerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry_Feeback, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and I am sorry we let you down. Your experience as described clearly indicates we were understaffed and does not typify the high level of service for which we are known. I have sent you a direct message with the hope of speaking with you in an effort to regain your confidence in our hotel. It is my hope that we may have another opportunity to serve you on a future visit to the area for a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

In this place employees have not idea about what service means, they are rude and worse even, they don't care. If it was a Extended Stay or Motel 6 who care, but is an Embassy Expensive Downtown Washington DC hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This is an embassy suites so you know what the deal is and they deliver on that deal. The wifi is good - the breakfast is good (long queues) - but the location of this one is excellent. For that sort of money to be staying so close to Georgetown - which was beautiful - made it for me. Again E.S. is always the same - so maybe a good rather than a very good is the correct rating.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimonJRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry_Feeback, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Martin,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your positive experience. I appreciate your patience with the slightly longer breakfast queues during our peak leisure season, and glad you enjoyed our breakfast offerings. Our great location is convenient to both Georgetown and the traditional DC attractions, and I am glad it worked out well for your plans. We realize there are many lodging choices and hope you will choose us again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#27 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown

Address: 1250 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing