We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Could Be Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C.
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
From $109 with Breakfast!
Ranked #62 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast Could Be Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Embassy Suites by Hilton at Washington was a very comfortable hotel. Polite and pleasant staff and good amenities. But the breakfast which they seem to be quite proud of can be improved to a great deal. firstly the atria where the breakfast is served is such a small and congested place that the queues are long, no place to sit as the few tables are always taken (i saw many many carry their breakfast back up to their rooms which is really not on), and when you finally do get to the scrambled eggs they are cold, dry and lumpy. I waited just one day in the line to get my eggs made as per my order and then decided that waiting for over half an hour to get a very very average omelet was just not worth the effort. There are no cold cuts, no cut fruits, the pancakes left much to be desired....overall not a great experience.

The hotel is well located and good in all other aspects, but they must look into the less than happy breakfast experience.

And don't bother to return to the hotel for the 'free' snacks and wine, etc. Way below average again.

But have at least meal at their Trattoria. Superb!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    589
    195
    69
    20
See reviews for
819
169
53
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I shared the hotel with a lot of teenage tour groups and a few senior tour groups, but we managed to work together to have a pleasant stay. This hotel is well located near Metro, great restaurants and good walking. Breakfast was good but a little more variety would be nice, especially if you stay more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I certainly didn't feel spoiled during our stay here, but the kids had a blast. The free breakfast was tasty and convenient and since there are kids everywhere, we didn't feel guilty when they ran around a bit. Clean and fairly centrally located in a nice DC neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Family of four stayed here Aug 2013. Kids LOVED it. I had conference and it was close to a lot of things so Daddy could take them everywhere. With the atrium it's loud. The breakfast buffet is great. The pool is smallish and gets packed at night but the kids love it. Husband took them in the morning and it's a lot quiter. It's close to Dupont and Georgetown. Lots of great places to eat. The Italian restaurant had kid friendly food and was good. We are hoping to stay here again this August.

Room Tip: We chose the 2 room premium suite which includes wifi, Kuerig coffee and access to snack bar. Get up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very nice hotel, good service, helpful staff, clean rooms. the check in agent was very friendly and helpful the Bellman gave "tourist" advice that proved to be worthwhile. Generally a good welcoming atmosphere. The room as nice, plenty big enough, and clean. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just return from a family vacation to Washington, DC. We had a wonderful stay at the Embassy Suites. The location was perfect and the complimentary breakfast and night reception was an extra bonus. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed 8 days, We never grew tired or the hotel and would have stayed longer if we had more time and money. Breakfast is good and busy; it's best to avoid the busiest periods. Hotel personnel including cleaning staff and breakfast people were very helpful. My wife called three days after departing because she forgot a purse, which was in a nightstand drawer. Within a few hours the hotel staff called back to report the purse had been found and was being held for her. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C.

Address: 1250 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.