We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but sweet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C.
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
From $109 with Breakfast!
Ranked #62 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Short but sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel. Staf was good, bed was comfortable, breakfast was enyable as always and hotel was inviting/clean. Business center facility was an added touch without having to paying to pay for it. Hotel is located in close proximity to other many and night life places.
Was a very short trip but served its purpose. I will recommend this hotel to all my buisness fellow

Room Tip: You can always expect good service and a great breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    586
    195
    69
    20
See reviews for
818
168
53
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great place to stay with kids and the complementary breakfast was a great way to start a busy day of sightseeing and exploring. Not too far from metro stops, about 5-10 minute walk. The staff was very attentive and eager to help in any way possible. It's at the edge of a very cool residential neighborhood so there are nearby restaurants for convenience. I would gladly recommend it to friends that were thinking of taking in the history and sights of Washington with the family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here because it was close to our destination. It was a very convenient location. The breakfast is good but very crowded.

I had used Embassy Suites years ago and liked the extra sitting room and the great breakfast. This property looks just like the Embassy Suites of 25 years ago. In the meantime, other hotels with suites have passed them by. For example, many now have more room with a complete kitchenette. Here, if you want a plate or a fork, you have to call room service. This property is clean but it obviously has a lot of miles on it and a dated schedule of services.

Beware of hidden charges at this hotel. Inside the city, you expect to pay more but I don't really like surprises after I have booked the room. For example, this hotel charges $40/nite for parking, $12.95/nite for WiFi, $1.00 for each local call and a $75 fee if you check out early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a nice conference hotel. It's location make it easy to see a lot of Washington. Most everything is in easy walking distance from this location. You are just minutes from the subway, Georgetown, with plenty of good places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg,VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I needed a mid-priced downtown city hotel with valet parking for a one night stay close to some of the sites; convention center is 3 blocks and Washington Monument is 17 blocks, for a general idea of location. I booked late, 4 days before, and most hotels in the area were already full so choice was limited. Perhaps because of the way I book thru a travel website, the room was a full suite, and more than I had anticipated in a room as I usually find suites in cities to be half-suites rather than full suites. Staff was extremely efficient while being friendly and attentive to questions and concerns. There was a mix of people staying to include families, singles, couples, tourists and business people. Valet parking was very efficient and attentive although the morning rush for everyone to get their cars can be long so call ahead well before you need to leave. Breakfast in the morning was the most efficient I have seen in a hotel; plenty of seating, many stations for beverage fills, the omelet station was fast and again staff was amazing attentive and quick. 5 stars for staff! The room was older but clean except for the refrigerator as when I opened it we found 2 old boxes of Chinese food. They must have been there awhile because it filled the room with an awful smell for some time so I turned on the room fan and escaped for some sightseeing. Other downsides were the shower head, very weak, and the paper thin walls. I awoke to the guests in the next room opening their dresser drawers at 7:00 AM but it was time for me to be up anyway. Luckily I did not have heavy partiers or families with small children in the adjoining rooms as it would have been heard very easily through the walls. Another downside was the lack of reliable 3G/4G signal in the room (Verizon). Since I was trying to stay in contact with a teenager at home this was a pain and being able to send a text was sporadic and email was totally unavailable until out on the street. You can pay extra for a wired internet connection in the room to a laptop/tablet. I also liked the location where access by car to the hotel is off the main thoroughfares making everything less hazardous and stressful especially in the middle of very busy times.

Room Tip: It you need quiet ask for a room where you do not have neighbors, at least on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you need to be anywhere in DC, this is an area to consider and everyone at the hotel was kind and friendly WHEN available. It is a block from the Convention Center and close to the Metro. Nice am breakfast- go early- and comfortable rooms. It was quiet. Seemed safe enough area for this city. It is expensive as the area goes.

Room Tip: Maybe if you stayed at a higher level, you might not hear the street noise??
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

First of all, what an awesome location. It's probably a 10 minute walk to the metro and the neighborhood is pretty safe to walk through. I stayed there 3 nights, I arrived a little early but Stephen at the front desk was able to accommodate. The room was spacious, and I had a TV in the bedroom for when I wanted to watch TV in there. I liked the business center, which allowed me to print off my departing boarding pass for no charge. The breakfast was good as was the managers reception in the evening. My only complaint was 12.95/night for internet? Come on, it's free at cheaper hotels. All in all, if I come back to DC I will try to stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C.

Address: 1250 22nd Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Washington, D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.