We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, with two big flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Rates from $199
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, with two big flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed two nights at the Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion outside of Washington D.C. while attending a family function. The hotel location is striking, in the midst of the upscale Chevy Chase Pavilion mall. As usual in an Embassy Suites, each room has a separate living area which can also be used for sleeping, plus a bedroom. Breakfast is included, as is a manager's reception each evening. There is an indoor pool and a fitness center. All in all, a very pleasant hotel, worth a five star review, except for two glaring exceptions. Number one, we left the room Saturday morning at around 9 AM, returning at 1:30 PM. The room had not been cleaned. In fact, it took another two hours and several phone calls to get housekeeping to service the room (many other people did not have their rooms cleaned until 5 PM). When we mentioned this at the front desk, they apologized but said this happens many times on the weekend - so why not hire more cleaning staff? Number two, like many other Hilton properties, this one does not provide free internet service, even to Hilton Silver account members. Almost every hotel in Europe, and more and more in the United States, provide this service. Why is Hilton holding out?

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    48
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
78
32
2
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Aston, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited with our family of 6. Clean hotel and friendly staff with great access to the Metro. We did not get back into the car until it was time to checkout. Two beds and a pull out sofa worked fine for two nights. One bathroom required a little scheduling coordination. Located in a nice area with shops and restaurants in walking distance. It's hard to find good options for a family of 6 and we would definitely return to this hotel when visiting DC.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm still giving this hotel an excellent review because it's not their fault that at 6:15 AM on a Friday morning, everyone at the hotel was woken up by some fitness promotion event right across the street at the shopping mall blaring Good Vibrations and then What is Love with huge 5 foot speakers cranking the volume as loud as possible. Then they were raffling off prizes for restaurant gift cards, yoga and exercise clubs ... Listening to those songs would have been funny if, as I said, it wasn't 6:15 AM. Otherwise, I loved this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very nice hotel. All redone inside, in a nice location on the Red Line for the metro, convenient parking, excellent service, however, the "complimentary" breakfast (at the nightly rate charged i find that word a bit of a stretch) was horrible all three breakfast's I had there. Selection had been reduced significantly from 2 previous stays and the food was stale, dry, under cook and over cooked. Appeared there was no quality control, just slop out whatever was on hand. Can miss with the rooms, location and service however.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Matthew D -

Thank you very much for being our guest and thank you for sharing your comments online. I am very sorry to hear about your experience at breakfast. I have shared your comments with our entire culinary team as breakfast is traditionally one of our strongest areas and I want to make sure that we maintain that high standard.

I hope to have you back with us in the future where I can assure you we will deliver 100% on every area and ensure an experience that exceeds your expectations. Thank you for sharing your comments and thanks again for being our guest.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome location with a great variety of shopping and dining options on the lower floors. Also, being directly above a Metro stop was a huge bonus. Room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet despite all the activity. Complimentary breakfast and evening reception were great "touchpoints" when you have to accommodate a large party that has varied interests. We had three separate reservations and the staff graciously put us in adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear SoozClues -

Thank you very much for staying with us! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was perfect for your needs. We really appreciate the great review and hope to have you back with us as our guest very soon.

Thank you again for trusting us as your hotel in Washington DC.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the Embassy Suites Hotel -Chevy Chase Pavilion and found it to be quite a well appointed hotel with many amenities. The hotel is conveniently located directly above the Friendship Heights Metro station, and it is a 10 minute ride to downtown DC. The hotel is enclosed in a large shopping mall with tons of stores, and two accessible restaurants. The breakfast is ample and includes an omelet station, yogurt bar and tasty muffins. The rooms are clean, spacious and quiet. It made our stay in DC very comfortable, convenient and quite classy.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear 2helenek -

Thank you for a terrific review but thank you most of all for staying with us! We really appreciate the very positive comments on your stay as it is great to hear that we are able to match our awesome location with exceptional service.

Most importantly, we value and appreciate the trust you put in us when you chose us as your hotel in Washington DC. We look forward to being able to host you again in the future. Thank you again for being our guest!

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is walking distance to every site you want to see in D.C. They allow early check in for only $25.....priceless! The free breakfast was amazing with an omelette station, pancakes, fresh fruit etc. There is s free business station to print out or fax anything. The 2 hour free reception in the evening was quite a spread with 10 kinds of snacks and free mixed drinks, wine and beer. The room was much larger than any other D.C. Room

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Wingingit2day -

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you too for a terrific review! It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities and that our all-new suites worked out well for your visit.

We hope to have you back as our guests again in the future and we promise to continue to deliver a great experience for you and the family. Thanks again for staying with us!

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Address: 4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Destination Hotels property, the Embassy Suites at the Chevy Chase Pavilion has been completely renovated and re-invented enhancing our award-winning hospitality and exceptional value. Located in the upscale Friendship Heights district in Washington DC, directly atop the Metro Red Line at the Friendship Heights Station, the Embassy Suites offers all-suite accommodations, exceptional value with out complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening reception, unbeatable location half-way between the Bethesda-Rockville, Maryland business corridor and Washington D.C. Businesses and sites, and an exceptional team of hospitality professionals dedicated to providing an unmatched service experience. With the completion of our major renovation in October 2014, the Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion now also offers Willie's Bar, an excellent place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing or meetings. Also, Willie's donates 1% of revenues to the ALS Association of DC\MD\VA in honor of Wilfredo Benavides, our longtime Sous Chef for whom Willie's is named after. The Embassy Suites at the Chevy Chase Pavilion is Washington DC's premiere all-suite property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.