We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back to school trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DC Explorer Package $179
Ranked #24 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
east stroudsburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“back to school trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I have stayed numerous times at this hotel and have always been satisfied with the accomodations. Thankfully the hotel is undergoing much needed renovations and I look forward to staying there when the work is complete. The hotel is the perfect location as my son attends American University and it is about a 5-10 minute drive to the campus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    242
    65
    23
    15
See reviews for
406
89
30
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Had great experience here 1 year ago - unfortunately, this hotel is undergoing major renovations - However , they are still renting rooms for full price. Construction noises, hallways leading nowhere, elevators that can't stop at certain floors - mezzanine, previously used for breakfast also under renovation so breakfast now in a conference room. All in all, big disappointment. They should be closing certain flours during construction, and reducing price. There was a warning about construction on the website when I booked, but they really minimalized the impact to guests. For example, the website said construction would be weekdays 8-5 or something to that effect. We pull into garage to find the elevator to hotel is closed. On Friday night we return to our room to a note under door stating construction on our floor Saturday. Later we try to take another elevator to our floor, but now they have diverted that one too! I say stay away until construction is finished!
Very frustrated consumer


Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear CPJHKH -

Thank you for staying with us and I am very sorry that our renovation significantly impacted your stay. We have tried to minimize the impact as much as possible, especially with our vertical transportation and noise limitations. I do know that we had elevators out over night and for consecutive days which was not a part of our original plan but through a couple of circumstances was necessary and I apologize that this impacted your visit to Washington.

While we have completed those shutdowns and our guest and garage elevator work is complete, that does not make up for the frustrations you experienced. I hope that you will give us another chance as we will be opening our Cafe and main lobby in 10 days and at that time all available rooms will be our newly renovated suites.

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your comments with us.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

ARRIVAL

My husband and I traveled with two of our boys for this trip. Our 10-year-old has a certain list of requirements for hotels that fit his idea of “perfect.” It must have an indoor pool, a place to eat, be near shopping, have more than one TV and be in a cool place. The Embassy Suites, Chevy Chase, hit every point, so I looked into booking it.

The hotel’s location is just outside the city in the Chevy Chase area. Many will want to be right in the middle of the city, but that is sometimes not practical. For instance, if you try to book during a city wide convention you’ll likely be facing sold-out rooms and high rates in the city proper. Staying in this hotel where we could simply take an escalator to the metro and ride for ten minutes to be in the heart of it all was ideal. I wouldn't have traded it for another location.

On TripAdvisor, you’ll notice the hotel gets high marks for service. I can back that up with my own experience. We were greeted warmly and given great advice on how to get around the city and what to see by the front desk agent. Washington DC has more fascinating things to see than can possibly be seen in a week, so narrowing it down by someone in the know was valuable. The high level of guest care was mirrored by every employee with whom we interacted.

ROOMS

Each room is a suite in this hotel, although room sizes do vary from type to type. We chose a king suite for a bit of privacy for us and independence for the boys. One child slept on the sofa sleeper and one on a rollaway bed. Both gave the sleeping arrangements a thumbs-up for comfort. A bathroom and small kitchen with a microwave and mini fridge is positioned between the two rooms. Yes, the bedroom has a door. So many “suites” don’t.

BEYOND THE ROOMS

The mall area on the bottom few floors of the hotel (over the metro station) has great shops for the traveling family. My husband and I enjoyed the Starbucks and the clothes stores, while the boys liked the CVS pharmacy and toy section of World Market. The pharmacy came in handy for snacks, umbrellas (at a very reasonable price), magazines and soda. The boys made at least two trips a night down to the mall for “supplies.”

The indoor pool is quite big. It's nice and warm and great for wearing the little ones out for a good night’s sleep. Liam had to go every night. I think we must have walked ten miles a day seeing the sights, so the hot tub was extra helpful in the evening for sore muscles.

The metro station was fantastic to have. Our first day was plagued with heavy rain, but we stayed dry all the way to DC since we didn't have to go outside. Metro tip: purchasing an unlimited card is perfect if you’ll be using more than one line. If you’ll be sticking to one line, buy a round-trip ticket and save money.

DINING

The boys absolutely loved the breakfast served each morning in the atrium. The choices are varied enough to suit everyone and it is heaven to leave the hotel with a full stomach and full wallet (breakfast is always included in the rate). I tried a little everything, but the chef rocked the sunny side up eggs. The inclusion of breakfast makes this hotel a real value.

MY RECOMMENDATION

Book your room! For families traveling to Washington DC, this is a fantastic choice for the service, the mall, the metro, the pool and the breakfast. This hotel is just FUN.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

As a well seasoned traveler, I tend to stay at the larger hotel chains and Hlton properties specifically - not only for the HHonors benefits but also because of the value for the $$. This hotel specifically has a well above average staff that generally bends over backwards to help its guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Bc, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Bethesda Maryland Do Not Go to This Hotel until Nov. Total construction a Mess. Drywall Maze everywhere. Finished in October. Will be Beautiful after I am sure. This was our third stay. The first two were wonderful. Great location to go into DC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear David S -

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate both your comments and your patience while you were with us. Working through this extensive a renovation is a challenge and we appreciate our guests that have stayed and we look forward to having you back with us when we are complete.

We have removed most of the construction walls now in preparation for the opening of our lobby in 10 days and our Cafe work is progressing quickly to open at the same time. We have two floors complete with a third coming online by the 14th giving us only renovated suites for our guests.

We look forward to having you back with us soon and thank you for staying with us.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our family vacation to Washington DC in June 2014 was wonderful all around, and this hotel was a big part of it. It's so convenient - right above a Metro station, with shopping/restaurants all around. A little far from downtown by taxi (about $25-$30 from Union Station). But Metro is the way to go. The room was big and clean. They didn't have the room type we wanted, but they went out of their way to "make it right" by sending us a note and giving us some freebies. I want to particularly call out team member Emily who was very kind. The breakfast/happy hour area was very nice, open, clean. All the staff were very friendly. My only complaint would be the pool area - not the greatest, and hard to find towels. I hear they are going through renovations now, which will only make it better. I highly recommend this hotel for any trip to DC.

Room Tip: Any room is fine - all are convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family and I stayed at Embassy Suites on a visit to DC. We left within twelve hours of check in and would've left earlier had we not had 4 children with us. The rooms are a massive hygienic challenge; the carpet filthy, the beds have bugs, and the stench is quite phenomenal. To add to it, they were remodelling at the time and the noise and dust was phenomenal. The website however, shows quite lovely and clean rooms. A direct misrepresentation of the reality we experienced. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Hind W -

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our team has worked very hard to limit the impact of our major remodeling but I understand that these measures don't work for all guests or families. I know that we have assisted with the relocation of several guests during the renovation and I am sorry that the work, and our actions, forced a change in your plans.

I hope that you will give us another chance when we are complete with our upgrades in just a few weeks and am confident that all of your expectations for experience and comfort will be met. Thank you.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Address: 4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Destination Hotels & Resorts property, the Embassy Suites Hotel at the Chevy Chase Pavilion offers award-winning hospitality and exceptional value. Located in the upscale Friendship Heights district in Washington D.C., directly on the Metro Red Line, the Embassy Suites Hotel offers the best of both worlds, half-way between the Bethesda-Rockville, Maryland business corridor and near Washington D.C. businesses and sites, yet in walking distance of the renowned Chevy Chase shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;