We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
DC Family Spring Getaway
Ranked #17 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Altos, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Embassy Suites at Chevy Pavilion is what you would expect from an Embassy Suites: spacious and clean rooms and free breakfast. The only disappointing aspect is that the hotel only has double beds, not queen beds like other Embassy Suites. What makes this Embassy Suites special is its location. Right below the hotel is a Metro stop (Friendship Heights, red line) which is perfect for visiting D.C. without having to pay the high price of a hotel in the heart of D.C. And you get breakfast included, granted the food isn't the best but it works for a family of five. It worked out especially well in that we were here during the July 4th holiday (the fireworks on The Mall were awesome!!! ) and we got discounted rates because the wedding we were attending had negotiated a group discount. Because we watched the fireworks near one of the Metro stations, it only took us about 1 hour to get back to our hotel room after the fireworks were over (a process that could take multiple hours). That included a transfer from the blue line to the red line. In addition to being right on top of a Metro station, it's also right next to two major shopping centers. We didn't actually go these centers but from the outside, they look very nice. One center had many of the high-end designer stores whereas the other one had more of the mainstream stores. The Pavilion itself had a few stores (J. Crew and H&M) and restaurants (Cheesecake Factory where we ate the first night we arrived in D.C. and "Range", a fancy restaurant by Bryan Voltaggio, a two-time James Beard Foundation Award finalist). I'd definitely consider staying here again if I ever visit D.C. in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    212
    49
    21
    11
See reviews for
344
81
27
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a decent business-class hotel, not with the extra zing that would justify filling in that fifth circle, but generally worth the four circles I give that indicate an upper-shelf experience that isn't quite extraordinary. However, this hotel got downgraded one level below that because they implicitly promise recycling (with the blue bucket in the room with the recycling symbol on it) but don't seem really to be doing it, and I didn't appreciate the apparent deception.

This was the second of three stops in the DC area in one business trip, and I attended a meeting on-site while my wife stayed in the room to get other work done. We are far from being rabid environmentalists, but we do appreciate having in-room recycling available and use it when it's there. In fact, the hotel that was our first stop was honest about not having recycling available, so we packed up our scrap paper and other recycling and took it with us, and were pleased to see that blue bucket in our room at this second hotel, where we dumped our accumulation. (Had it not been there, we could have carried it on to our final stop.)

However, my wife was startled to see the room attendant dump the contents of the recycling bucket in with the trash from the wastebaskets and head out the door with it all in one bag. She told me about it, and I asked her whether she could possibly be mistaken and perhaps the attendant was holding two bags together, but she assured me that she saw the contents being commingled, and that all of the stuff left the room in one bag.

In retrospect, we probably should have reported this immediately to management and received the expected assurance that the attendant would get a stern talking-to, but with our suspicions raised I have to say that it's not clear to us that it would be about doing it or about doing it with someone watching. And if this was just one person who wasn't ever collecting any recycling, wouldn't a supervisor have noticed?

In case this is just individual action, then I assume that management will appreciate having this downgraded rating available to emphasize to employees the importance of actually doing the recycling that the hotel has promised guests would be done by placing the blue buckets in the rooms, especially since other readers of TripAdisor reviews may now be watching.

Green Features: Well, since you asked (and this is a new question from TripAdvisor; thanks for including it), the practices seem to be terrible and, worse, deceptive. See the main review.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear AnnArborMiBob -

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your comments and review online. I do want to clarify however, that the property does recycle in-room as well as office waste. The Hotel is part of the Chevy Chase Pavilion which, as of 2012, changed waste providers to a company that can do single-stream recycling. In-suite recycling though, is only a very small portion of what has earned us a 4-key rating by Green Key International as well as our other environmental certifications.

In addition to the recycling, the property uses all LED or CFL lighting, motion sensors and in-room thermostats that have occupied\unoccupied modes to reduce energy consumption and all public areas are on a central energy management system. The recycling program also involves the products used in the suites as all partially used amenities - soap, conditioner, lotion, shampoo are all recycled through a charitable organization call "Clean the World" (http://cleantheworld.org/) which reconstitutes the donated materials and delivers them, free of charge, to needy areas around the world.

At our Embassy, we take tremendous pride on our environmental record and efforts and whether it is the in-suite recycling, our ozone cold-water laundry or energy conservation programs, our team will be happy to explain the different systems in place to lessen our environmental footprint.

I do want to thank you for highlighting this as it is a part of our business that is sometimes overlooked but one that is very important to us in creating a sustainable business. Our team takes pride in that as we do with the other services and amenities provided and I am glad to know that your stay was enjoyable throughout.

We hope to have you back with us in the future as our guest and want to thank you for highlighting this important cause and please know that any of my leadership team will be happy to explain and of our environmental programs that are in-place to make us a more "sustainable" operation.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

For its class and price point, this hotel was a terrific value. Very convenient to every amenity - without even leaving the building. We had one of the suites, and it was spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. The staff was very gracious and responsive, and handled a noise complaint (not the hotel's fault) quickly and decisively. We were here for sightseeing in DC and my brother's wedding, and the location was perfect with the Metro stop right in the building. We held the rehearsal dinner at Range (the hotel restaurant), and they did a phenomenal job with both food and service. Would definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear happywanderer61 -

Thank you for a terrific review! While I am sorry that there was a noise issue that disrupted part of your visit, thank you for letting us know that our team was able to address it and continue to deliver the service that you expect from us. It is also great to know you were able to experience RANGE which is an incredible restaurant and adds to the location tremendously - I hope that the Bride and Groom had a great experience as well.

Thanks again for staying and sharing your positive experience with TripAdvisor.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. There were 5 of us in our suite - my husband and 3 children. It is very conveniently located directly above a metro stop, making it easy to get to all the sites in DC. And just a word about the metro - very clean and easy to get around! I would definitely recommend using it to get around! It is also a perfect location for plenty of shopping - and the fact that there was a Starbucks and Cheesecake Factory in the same building was a plus! We just happened to stay the day after the hotel had changed out all of the king mattress so having a nice, new mattress was a plus! They were changing out the queen mattresses the day we checked in. The parking garage was very clean and well lit - the only negative I would say about that would be the fact that as guests of the hotel, you still must pay to park ($26/night). Breakfast was the usual Embassy Suites fare, which is always good and convenient. My only other complaint would be the charge for internet services - even as Hilton Honors members, we were still charged. All in all, very convenient, clean, and a great place to stay! (4 stars because of the internet charge and parking charge.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Lisa S -

Thank you for choosing to stay with us with your family and sharing a very positive review online! I also want to thank you for the detail and comments about the property, location and our offerings - it makes a difference and we appreciate it. We hope to have you back with us very soon and thanks again for sharing great comments.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed at several Embassy Suites and this one ranks at the top of my list. It is conveniently located in Washington, DC near Chevy Chase next to premium shopping and the metro rail. I will definitely stay at this hotel on all of my visits to Washington. The complimentary breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Faye L -

Thank you for a terrific review! We really appreciate having you with us and want to thank you to committing to return in the future. As I have said on a number of previous responses in this forum, there truly is no greater compliment that we can receive than to hear "we will be back!"

We do look forward to having you back and promise to continue to exceed your service expectations. Thank you again Faye L.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This Embassy Suites is located in the center of Chevy Chase. Directly above a metro stop, it's easy to get into DC. The hotel is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. (Depending on where you need to be, this hotel is central enough that you may not need a car. Given the traffic and challenges of parking in DC, you may want to try bypass driving. If you do have a car, there is a garage under the hotel. Plan to pay $26 / night to park!) Like all Embassy Suites, this hotel offers a separate living area and a full breakfast (with made to order eggs) and complimentary happy hour. That makes the stay a good value. The hotel was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear s0metimesitravel -

Thank you for sharing your very positive review and thank you for being our guest in July. We also appreciate the notes on our neighborhood and overall location. With the Metro Red Line right below the building, transportation is much easier around the district versus parking.

Thanks again for the great comments and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for one night. Staff very helpful. Stayed in a one bedroom suite: perfect size. Room came with free breakfast buffet. Long line. Food was okay. Needed to be close to American U and downtown DC. Found the location perfect for our needs. Great shopping too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Whywine -

Thank you for a great review and thank you for staying with us. I am glad to know that our location worked for you and appreciate the comment on our team as well. We hope to have you back as our guest in the future, hopefully for more than one night next time!

Thank you again Whywine.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion Hotel
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites
Address: 4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Destination Hotels & Resorts property, the Embassy Suites Hotel at the Chevy Chase Pavilion offers award-winning hospitality and exceptional value. Located in the upscale Friendship Heights district in Washington D.C., directly on the Metro Red Line, the Embassy Suites Hotel offers the best of both worlds, half-way between the Bethesda-Rockville, Maryland business corridor and near Washington D.C. businesses and sites, yet in walking distance of the renowned Chevy Chase shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Amex, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.