We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four years of visits--sad to say goodbye” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DC Explorer Package $179+
Ranked #17 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stamford, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Four years of visits--sad to say goodbye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've stayed at the Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion several times a year for four years during my daughter's time at nearby American University and will be there next month for her upcoming graduation. I was most recently a guest for quite a few days during Hurrricane Sandy when Amtrak shut down and my planned very short stay became a long one (and I became well acquainted with the coin laundry). My travels don't take me to DC very often, so this could be my last visit for quite a while, and I feel like I'm parting company with an old friend. The suites are comfortable and immaculate, the staff unfailingly warm and helpful, the location fantastic.As many have noted, the breakfasts are a real plus, as is the excellent shopping and dining right in the building. And what a pleasure to be able to come into Union Station, hop on the Red Line, and go straight into the hotel without ever having to set foot outside in inclement weather. Yes, I'm a big fan.

I can think of only two nitpicks: First, it would be great if the breakfast menu had a special each day (the offerings get a little monotonous) and a better selection of fresh fruit. Second , while I do understand the need to make hay while the sun shines, the leap in room rates during graduation week was a bit of a shocker. I plan to make it up as much as possible during those free cocktail hours!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    234
    60
    21
    12
See reviews for
391
88
30
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimes, IA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great place! Everything was great and clean to the utmost. The restaurant "Range" is very good. Did not use the spa or pool area because we were busy doing other things. The only bad comment is the weird orange breakfast potatoes that were cold.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is actually located in Maryland, but it's just over the line from Washington DC. Due it's relatively remote location, it's prices are reasonable. Now that's not a term you'd customarily use in the DC area. However, it's located right on the Metro, so access to downtown and the mall is easy, and more than compensates for the distance. In fact, the metro is right below the hotel, but don't worry, it's far enough down it won't keep you awake!

The hotel is spacious, and located in the Chevy Chase Pavilion, so there are lot's of shops and restaurants nearby. There is a full breakfast each morning, and complimentary drinks and snacks each evening. The hotel is reasonably well maintained, with our only complaint being that our carpet wasn't vacuumed for at least 3 or more days. Otherwise, it was a VERY nice place to stay.

We traveled to the mall and or the zoo every day for 6 days using a metro pass, and spent less than $25 total per person. Like I said, VERY convenient.

Room Tip: I think any room is fine, with the exception of right across from the elevators, or right across fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently stayed at this Embassy Suites with my daughter. Since the metro is below the hotel, it was very convenient for us, it was about a 15 minute ride to downtown DC on the metro. The hotel was clean, well appointed room. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As with all Embassy Suites, breakfast was included. It was very good, including made to order omelets, hot, steamy oatmeal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnettka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Staff went out of their way to help, exceeded our expectations on multiple requests. Hotel was perfect for what we needed in a Washington DC visit...on the Metro line (station is in the basement), 10 min from the Zoo, pick what you want to eat and walk to it. Even a nice course through beautiful neighborhoods for the morning run! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight (Friday night stay) to go the Cherry Blossom Festival. We arrived late and the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel shares its space with a mall and several restaurants, with more shopping and restaurants near by. Everything within the hotel was clean and well kept. The rooms were comfortable and standard for an Embassy Suites. Spacious living/kitchen area that included a small fridge, microwave and sink. The bathroom was on the small side and the beds were not the most comfortable, but both were acceptable.

The hotel is directly above the Friendship Heights metro station on the red line. It was very convenient to park at the hotel ($26/day...reasonable for the city) and take the metro downtown. A trip to downtown D.C. is approximately 20 minutes. (Take the red line towards Silver Spring and transfer at Metro Center to the Blue Line towards Largo Town Center. We got off at the Smithsonian Station and walked to the National Mall from there.)

The included breakfast was a nice way to start the day and it included a good variety of hot and cold foods and beverages.

Overall, a nice stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niskayuna
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a wonderful clean hotel. There is a small coffee shop on site as well as a bar/grill and formal dining area. Rooms are nice. Heat / cooling actually works and is not noisy at all (can't say that in many hotels!)

Each room as a small frog. No microwave but the obligatory coffee maker. Cost is @$300 per night for a king size bed room.

Closest metro is literally steps away. Many small restaurants that are $$ across the street.

Room Tip: If you are a Marriott award member mention it for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Address: 4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Destination Hotels & Resorts property, the Embassy Suites Hotel at the Chevy Chase Pavilion offers award-winning hospitality and exceptional value. Located in the upscale Friendship Heights district in Washington D.C., directly on the Metro Red Line, the Embassy Suites Hotel offers the best of both worlds, half-way between the Bethesda-Rockville, Maryland business corridor and near Washington D.C. businesses and sites, yet in walking distance of the renowned Chevy Chase shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.