We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, nice accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DC Explorer Package $179+
Ranked #17 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Convenient location, nice accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is a very convenient Metro ride from Reagan National Airport, with the Metro stop just across the street from the hotel. The hotel is also very conveniently located for shopping and restaurants within easy walking distance. Within the hotel complex, there are also convenient restaurants if the weather is bad, to stay completely indoors. The recreation options are excellent, with an indoor pool at the top level and an adjacent gym with plenty of aerobic exercise machines, treadmills, elliptical trainers, cycles and a rowing machine, and a nice set of weight machines as well. The rooms are typical for an Embassy suite, there is a very nice desk in the living room area, great for getting work done. Breakfast is typical as well, nice selection of food, but not quite as good as what one gets at nice hotels in Europe. Nice in room coffee maker, can make one or two cups at once, and stocked with coffee or tea. My room was quite, although some colleagues whose rooms were closer to the elevator did remark about the noise - so, get a room away from the elevator.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Heels23,

Thank you for a very good review. As I noted on your profile, as a senior contributor and traveler your expectations and knowledge of properties due to your travel are high - as they should be - which makes your review that much better as a recommendation.

I have shared your comments internally with the team both as a compliment as a challenge as our goal is 5-stars for all reviews and to do that we need to exceed all of our guest expectations. We hope to have you back with us in the future where I know our team will be up to the challenge to exceed your expectations.

Thank you again for your review and especially for staying with us in DC!

Jeff Brainard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    229
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
387
87
30
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Embassy Suites at the Chevy Chase Pavilion is perfectly situated for the urban traveler. The property has just renovated in the lobby and restaurant area. The rooms are a good size, nicely appointed, clean, quiet and comfortable, with all the amenities to make one feel at home. In addition, there is a complimentary breakfast and a beverage reception, which is a plus for the traveler to either start or end a day. The staff was also very helpful and courteous. The location is excellent--close to a myriad of boutiques, specialty shops, Whole Foods and unique restaurants. In addition, the hotel is so accessible to the transit system, just across the street, so getting around was a breeze. I look forward to my next visit there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear GStraveler143 -

Thank you for a terrific review! I really appreciate the time taken to also share about some of the offerings within walking distance of the hotel. The addition of Range and Civil along with the upcoming opening of H&M will continue to improve what is available for all of our guests.

We hope to have you back with us soon and I am confident we will continue to deliver an exceptional stay experience.

Jeff Brainard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just returned from a week stay at the Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion. A group of us came to DC for the Inauguration and were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. It was hard enough finding a hotel in the area during that week, but we really lucked out finding this hotell, with a great nightly rate and all its amenities! The two room suites really accommodate our group of four . The staff was always friendly. The delicious complimentary hot and cold breakfasts every morning really helped us to start our day! The location is perfect with the metro right below and a variety of shops and restaurants in and outside of the hotel! DC was only a couple of metro stops away! The rooms were clean. There were probably only two minor issues. When we unfolded the roll away bed a dirty sock popped out and were a little hesitant to use not knowing if the sheets were ever changed; but we did request additional sheets to replace. Also, we noticed that since there was no fan in the bathroom, condensation in the ceiling would collect after each shower. Other than that, the stay was near perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear huskypurple -

Thank you for staying with us during Inauguration weekend and for sharing a very good review. I am happy to know that overall you had a great experience and please know that I have already shared your comments on the suite with our team to ensure that every area is 100% every time.

Thank you too for your note on the bathrooms. The fans for the bathrooms are located on the roof but as a part of our engineering review for an upcoming renovatino we are looking at ways to improve that ventilation so that we can make the guest experience even better.

We hope to have you back in the future and thank you for sharing a very good experience!

Jeff Brainard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Customer service is high on the list of qualities necessary when I travel and Amliv, Joe H. and Ben (the Twins) were wonderfully pleasant in my sleepy state of mind. The hotel seems more spacious than the usual Embassy Suites and definitely more stylish. Bed was super comfy, so much so I overslept and missed breakfast. But I do plan to return over and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Tamytha B,

Thank you for a great review! Also, thank you VERY much for recognizing some of our desk team as it does make a difference for our associates to see their name in lights :-)

We do hope to have you back for a longer stay so you can experience all of the great services and people at our Embassy Suites.

Thank you.

Jeff Brainard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stay here on business about once per month, and have stayed at dozens of Embassy Suites properties in the last few years. This one is just finishing a major renovation, and is above average for the brand now. Same evening reception (decent drink and snack selection), same morning hot breakfast (pretty decent selection, including healthier options, large seating area). The service has always been great. I have enjoyed staying here, even during the construction phase - they were keen to make sure things were still comfortable. I have not eaten at the new restaurant since it was not open yet last time I was there. The rooms are large, the living room area versatile (desk is movable, etc.)

Best part about this hotel is its location - it is directly above the Friendship Heights Metro Station (red line), so you don't even have to leave the metro walkway to get to the hotel entrance. The hotel is also part of the newly-revamped (and still not 100% complete as of Dec 2012) shopping center. There are several shopping areas within about half a mile, and many restaurant options, so you don't need a car staying in this area. Attached to the hotel are also a Starbucks, drugstore (selling Metro's SMARTcards), and a large gym (the hotel's is rather small, but usable). There are Whole Foods and Giant grocery stores across the street. The trip into the Mall area on Metro is 20-30 minutes depending on how long you wait to change trains (only 1 change).

In sum, above-average chain hotel with above-average perks in a great location.

Room Tip: Can be a hike to rooms well away from the elevator, and the elevator bank is a good way off from nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear stokes007,

Thank you for a very good review. We appreciate having you as a regular guest and I personally appreciate the review highlighting the multiple benefits of our location from metro to shopping and dining options. I also highly recommend Range on your next visit. While it is a small-plates style, the food quality is the best that I have experienced and the service is excellent.

I also want to thank you especially for staying with us while the Pavilion and garage were under renovation in 2011. As you experienced, the work was significant and thank you for noting the efforts of our team to make your stay as positive as possible.

Thank you for your review and being a regular guest with us!

Jeff Brainard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owings mills,md
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great stay. Embassy suites has kept up their brand nicely. Great large rooms that have a separate bedroom with a door! Nice decor. Bed was comfortable but maybe could use an upgrade to the more plush beds you see at nice hotels now. Other than that the staff was very nice and accommodating with early and late check-in/out. Hotel has a mall inside of it plus a great swimming pool on the top floor. Great location as well, right on the border on D.C, and Maryland. Would definitely go again and recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Hotelguy123 -

Thank you for a great review! We especially appreciate the note on our team as one of the best parts about my job is sharing guest comments with them and recognizing the effort of our 90 professionals.

We are also exploring some exciting improvements in the hotel later this year so that we can continue to offer a great experience and to match some of the improvements in the Pavilion/

Thank you for sharing a great experience and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Jeff Brainard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is conveniently located right above the metro and in a shopping mall. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed a couple of complementary drinks at the Manager's reception. We ate a couple of meals in the suite and with a child, this was very handy. Plenty of room for our family. Comfy bed and a clean room. We will definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbrainard, General Manager at Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear C M,

Thank you for a great review! It is great to hear when families have a good experience at our property as it is an important part of our mission. Our team works hard to ensure that all guests - corporate, family, leisure, groups - have a complete experience and one that exceeds their expectations. The title of your review tells our team that we were successful for your family and we apprecaite you sharing that experience.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you visit us again!

Jeff Brainard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion

Address: 4300 Military Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Destination Hotels & Resorts property, the Embassy Suites Hotel at the Chevy Chase Pavilion offers award-winning hospitality and exceptional value. Located in the upscale Friendship Heights district in Washington D.C., directly on the Metro Red Line, the Embassy Suites Hotel offers the best of both worlds, half-way between the Bethesda-Rockville, Maryland business corridor and near Washington D.C. businesses and sites, yet in walking distance of the renowned Chevy Chase shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Chevy Chase Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.