We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below than average hotel at convenient location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Embassy Row Hotel to your Saves list
The Embassy Row Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly Hilton Washington Embassy Row) (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 30% Off
Ranked #108 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Below than average hotel at convenient location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Upon my arrival, after a very long journey, I desperately needed a glass of water. Proved an impossible task: The room had no mini-bar or fridge, the hotel had no bar or restaurant, plus no hope for room service. I had to go out to find a super market! But then it started to rain heavily..
On the next morning, breakfast was the next bad surprise: Basic in terms of buffet, and I could not believe my eyes when I saw plastic plates and knives/forks. Felt like a student house!
Room was average, hardly clean, with outdated airconditioning, which I had to switch off at night because it was too noisy to let me sleep.
This a shame, because the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    234
    149
    58
    42
See reviews for
108
185
39
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring DC. Acess to the metro is less than a 3 minute walk. The neighborhood is charming, filled with old brownstones, great restaurants, and embassies. The Sunday farmer's market is incredible. So here is the bad news-the hotel is dirty and the desk staff hostile to customers. Our bathroom had mold growing in it and when I used a towel to mop up spilled water, it came up black. The front desk staff, with the exception of John, is just rude. We decided to check out a day early and when I spoke with the front desk staff she said I had a nonrefundable reservation (which I didn't.) Then she refused to give me a printout reflecting our shorter stay until I insisted. I can't imagine why the front desk staff was consistently rude. These folks must hate their jobs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel shows the charm of passed decades. The room are very old fashioned and could do with a renovation, but are spacious and clean.

The pool at the roof top is small, but nice. And you have a good view over the city.

The breakfast is really "continental breakfast". I would not pay extra for it. But as it was included in the hotel price, it was ok. Big negative point: everything is plastic. Plates, forks, knives, cups, packaging of cheese, etc. This could be changed.

Conclusion: we would again stay in this hotel. You have the Metro station in 100m and it's also only a walk of 20-30 min to the White House and the Mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great location near Dupont Circle, close to Metro and good restaurants.
The room was very clean. The bathroom a bit small, but for the price, it wasn't too bad.
The hotel decor definitely shows its age, but at the same time, it does give it character.
The elevators were horribly slow. We stayed on the 6th floor. Ice machines are on the odd numbered floors and there's a vending machine on the 3rd floor. But when we went to get ice, the machine on the 5th floor was broken, so down to the 3rd floor to get a soda and some ice. Vending worked, but that ice machine was broken as well. Back up to 7th floor for ice, and that one worked. The next night, 7th and 3rd floor ice was broke, but 5th was working.
Got tired of waiting for the elevator and took the stairs when we could.
The free breakfast is pretty basic and the place turns into a madhouse. We ended up just getting a bagel and some cold cereal and heading back up to the room. Next time, we'll just skip it and go out. Our room faced north and we had a nice view of neighborhood and street below (Q St NW). I liked being able to open the windows and get some street noise for ambiance...or fresh air if it had been a little cooler.
The front desk staff was very friendly at check-in and check-out.

Room Tip: I liked the room facing north. Good neighborhood view. Avoid the breakfast and go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The location is good. The metro and Phillips Collection are very close. Moreover, the neighborhood is one of the best in DC. The rooms are clean, although they deserve some renovation. Breakfast is obnoxious and must be avoided. I was staying in August for 5 nights and prices were probably the best in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel with a fancy bar, great restaurant and decorations that are illustrated in magazines....well this is not your hotel.

If you're looking for a good hotel in a very conveinent location for trips to DC to see the sites then this is your hotel.

The hotel is just slightly in need of some updating. Nothing major and hardly worth noticing unless that kind of thing bothers you (Examples - light wear on the elavator door, carpet slightly worn, etc)

The rooms and lobby were all very clean. The staff is extremely helpful. They work very hard to makesure your stay and trip went well.

There is a breakfast available. It's basic fare with bagels, premade waffles, toast, cereals, milk, juices, yogurt and coffee. The room does fill fast so be ready to wait if you go at "prime time"

There is a pharmacy around the block, numerous bars and restaurants in the area and the metro stop for the DC Red Line just a block away. It was perfect for my wife and I while we were visiting.

This place is a good hotel in a great location for travelers who want a very clean room to stay in with a helpful staff.

Room Tip: We got a room that overlooked the atrium roof. We then only had one "neighbor". The ice ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Superb location with a great mix of tourists sights and lively restuarants close by. However you are still most likely to do lots of walking. Which is where the hotel swimming pool is an added bonus. Reasonable sized rooms but unfortunately the hotel lacks a bar. However there are plenty close by. Washington is a fantastic city. And this hotel was a great choice. The only downer is that the breakfast is a little bland.

Room Tip: away from the pool due to the continual pumps running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Embassy Row Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Embassy Row Hotel

Address: 2015 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly Hilton Washington Embassy Row)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Embassy Row Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Dupont Circle in Washington, DC, The Embassy Row Hotel is immersed in the historical charm of DC's rowhomes and dining scene. Admire the architectural beauty of embassies near the hotel and easy access to the Dupont Circle metro/Red Line. This DC hotel is a few minutes from the White House, Washington Monuments, WWII Memorial, the Philips Collection, The Capitol, The Smithsonian Institute, famous museums, and historical attractions. Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is only seven miles away. For guests traveling by rail, there is convenient access to Amtrak/Union Station. When you aren't exploring the city, enjoy yourself on The Rooftop at The Embassy Row Hotel. It's expansive views of DC will make you fall in love with the city, all over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Embassy Row Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Embassy Row Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.