We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye masks are cheaper than curtains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Eye masks are cheaper than curtains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is very well located in a nice central area. The metro station is next door's and the area has a wide choice of restaurants and entertainment possibilities. When I arrived on a Saturday evening, the lobby was full of people ready to go out for the night. During the week, most guests were business people. The staff was always friendly and helpful.
Got a room on the 8th floor and on the inside of the buidling. So the view was limited to... the wall of the other wing of the hotel. At least that also meant that you didn't have any noise from the street.
The room was nicely decorated and had all the required amenities. One big negative though is that the room only had wooden blinds and no curtains. Unbelievable but true. As a result, the room could not be darkened at all. The remedy ? In each room two eye masks were provided... for the comfort of the guests... Not really an acceptable solution. When do hotels realize that the number one priority is to offer their guests a perfect sleep environment. This includes quality of the beds and pillows, temperature, noise level and... possibility to make the room 100 % dark !
Hopefully the Dupont Circle hotel will quickly realize this weakness, Correcting it should not be expensive at all, and so hopefully this gets fixed in no time. Once that's done, I'll be happy to return here !

Room Tip: Ask about curtains when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear De_Frank,

Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely apologize if there were any issues with light during your stay. The modern design of our hotel is not to everyone's liking.

We hope that you'll join us for a bite in the Cafe Dupont whenever you return to the DC area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    809
    462
    130
    60
    28
See reviews for
228
482
122
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel allows you to stay in a quiet place, but not to be far from your business or DC attractions. The hotels offers a nice atmosphere -- decoration, breakfast room, lobby, ... of a boutique hotel. The staff is always helpful and welcoming, the rooms are great, spacious, clean, well equipped. With the well working DC public transport, you will not have any problem to get anywhere in and around DC. I would recommend this to business, travellers, couples and families -- travelling for work or for leisure (or combined).

Room Tip: I think that all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Juraj_Beirut,

Thank you for an outstanding review! We are beyond happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our location is certainly central to many attractions in the DC area.

We hope that you'll continue to choose us whenever you visit Dupont Circle. Be sure to check out Level 9 upon your next visit.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel a week in january and I was pleasantly surprised by most things. Room decoration is tasteful, the bathroom is big, staff was great. The restaurant and bar are popular hang-outs even for non-costumers,

Breakfast was included in my case, and was excellent. The whole stay was very pleasant and I never lacked anything. The hotel is located on Dupont Circle, which is reasonably close to everything (and a good place to start a night out). A great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Bjorn N,

Thank you for an amazing review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It is our prerogative to provide each guest with the high quality service you recieved.

We hope that you'll join us for a drink at the Bar Dupont next time. It's a fun place to relax!

We look forward to your return, and seeing you again at the Dupont Circle Hotel!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Dupont Circle Hotel for a family trip. The location is absolutely fabulous. The hotel not so much. Staff was neither friendly nor helpful. For example: We had asked for two rooms close by one another and overlooking the courtyard (we wanted quiet rooms). When we arrived answer was a flat no and no solution except on different floors. In addition rooms were pretty cramped and noisy (noise was expected based on other reviews). The gym is extremely small and gloomy. One day we came back at 4 to discover that housekeeping had still not done our room.
We are coming back in September to DC and will pick another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed five nights at The DuPont Circle Hotel. Nice, cosy room on the eighth floor of nine story building. European style and expensive renovations have been completed. Very quiet all week. We rarely heard a peep at night. Room is clean and modern with king bed, big screen T.V. (slightly left of bed but no big deal viewing wise). Leather lounge for reading, desk and plenty of closet space. There are no large dressers take up space. Bathroom is black and white marble with large walk-in shower. It even has a window that opens a few inches for some fresh air. Downside would be the glaced glass swing door that separates the toilet from sink area and rest of room...how can I put this? You can hear a pin drop or anything else for that matter. Extremely helpful and attentive staff at front desk, concierge and front entrance. Very good free coffee served in large silver urns located in lobby (until 9am). Best feature is the DuPont Bar which is a great place to hang out inside or outside on patio. (Saw Chelsea Clinton sipping wine there) Location is ideal as it is just outside of tourist area with neighborhood feel. Subway is a two minute walk across circle. Tons of great eating spots and happy hour bars. Twenty minute walk to Georgetown. Fantastic public transit. We never waited more than a minute for a subway. Don't waste your money on a cab or shuttle unless you are extremely luggage bound. Five minute ride to the sites or you can walk pretty much anywhere. Washington is a lot of fun. We would stay at The DuPont again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear DylanBob,

Thank you for a great review! We apologize if our bathroom design was not to your liking. It is a very modern feel, and we can understand if it's not for you. Otherwise, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that you'll continue to choose us whenever you visit the DC area. The Bar Dupont is definitely a hit with the locals and our guests.

We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Found the hotel and then was lucky to use backbid.com to get a great deal. Located close to everything and the staff was great. The hotel was very busy with a restaurant, bar and functions. Quiet rooms!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear nancy e,

Thank you for a spectacular review! We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much.

Our hotel is definitely a popular place for locals and our guests, and it sounds like that suited you quite well!

We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Funky, comfy and nicely decorated smallish hotel at DuPont circle metro station. Outstanding staff all around who will go out of their way to satisfy your needs. Nicely designed rooms - although rooms are on the smallish side. Cozy for two if sleeping three people do request an accessible room which is spacious.
Their bar is extensive and the dining room for all meals offers tasty items that are French cuisine inspired.
When I left after 3 nights I felt I had made some very nice friends who might even still be around if I returned in a year or so!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are located facing the back of the hotel. Due to its central location on DuPont circle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Eva G,

Thank you for a fantastic review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback.

The Bar Dupont is definitely a hit with our guests and the locals which makes for quite a unique experience.

We look forward to your next visit to the DC area, and we hope to see you again at the Dupont Circle Hotel!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-refurbished Dupont Circle Hotel features 327 residentially designed guestrooms, creating an oasis in which to relax and re-energize away from the clamor of the city. Level Nine is a separate and exclusive luxury hotel experience within the hotel offering an innovative leisure experience with personalized services, complimentary culinary excellence, and total privacy. Café Dupont serves world-class modern American cuisine and alternatively, visitors can unwind in the chic Bar Dupont. More than 9,000 square feet of magnificent, flexible and state-of-the-art meeting and event space can cater up to 350 guests. The full-service Dupont Circle Hotel embodies all that is distinctive, stylish and memorable about this iconic city and the neighborhood it is located in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Jurys Doyle, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.