We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good service and reasonable value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good service and reasonable value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Dupont Circle Hotel for 3 nights on a business visit to Washington. I was familiar with the location, which I find excellent for restaurants, bars and a few shops, in addition to a good atmosphere. This was my first time at this hotel, and I was pleased with the general level of service and the attitude of the employees. The restaurant is good (I didn't bother going out on the first night), and reasonably priced and the bar is very busy, which is unusual for most hotels. The Gym is adequate, but a bit claustophobic, as it is located in the basement and has no windows. Whilst my room as clean, the linen was good and the bathroom was fine, it looked over into a central area, straight into a large air conditioning unit. This meant in practice you couldn't open the windows and caused me to mark the hotel down a bit.

Room Tip: Avoid the romms on the second floor that look into the central area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We sincerely apologize if anything did not live up to your expectations. We are pleased however, that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope that you'll continue to choose the Dupont Circle Hotel as your home-away-from-home in DC. Please join us again soon, we would love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    785
    444
    125
    58
    28
See reviews for
213
471
118
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

OMG, this is the smallest room I've ever had in a lifetime of travel, including living in Japan for 4 years. I cannot imagine how this hotel garners a 4 Star rating with rooms barely bigger than the bed. Had I known this was the standard at this hotel, I would have never come here, and I will never return. Simply awful, and a robbery for what I paid compared to what is provided. A far far better option in this area is The Palamar Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered, and that we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and try other room types as we have many rooms that are larger than what you are talking about. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel was very nice. The valets, front desk staff and conceirge were all very helpful. It's located in a neighborhood that has a lot to offer within walking distance. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed the large walk in shower. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are happy to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to Dupont Circle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

this came recommended both by tripadvisor and a friend, but...

1) i was given a room on the second floor even though there were rooms on higher floors (i asked, but apparently they were "reserved"; but hadn't i also reserved? i even booked through the hotel website).

2) my room was facing the open air cafe, so naturally, it was very noisy.

3) many tv channels were missing (food network, e.g.) or no signal (cbs, a&e, e.g.)

4) there is only a glass partition for the shower, so water splatters on the the floor in front of the toilet. also, you can "tilt" the shower head, so you have to stand away to adjust the temperature before you jump in, the whole time naked and shivering, of course.

5) the computer room has the most troublesome security system that's simply unnecessary. i saw people give up printing their boarding passes and important e-mails. i also gave up, too.

6) the food at the cafe and the bar was okay at best.

the redeeming quality is that the decor is good. and the service is all-around good (both the hotel staff and the cafe staff were pretty friendly). and you can't beat the location.

but i wouldn't really recommend it necessarily.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room away from the open-air cafe to avoid late-night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We truly wish to convey our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered while with us. We can assure you that it is our goal to provide the highest quality guest service to all of our guests. We hope that you'll contact the Hotel Manager to further discuss how we can make up for your experiences. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again, and wish to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent Saturday night at the Dupont Circle Hotel,just a quick night away from the kids! The hotel is in a great location,many shops and restaurants near by.It was a 20 minute walk to Georgetown.

Overall the hotel is a very nice boutique type hotel.The staff was very nice,check in was easy and our room was ready well before the posted 3pm check-in time.

Our room was small,but comfortable. The bathroom is a little strange,the shower and toilet behind frosted glass,and the sink /vanity area basically in the room. Not a problem except that my husband was trying to watch the basketball game as I got ready to go out, and using the hair dryer makes it impossible to hear the TV. I prefer to close a door while I do my hair,makeup.

The bar is nice and very busy! We had a nice drink there in the afternoon.When we came back to the hotel around midnight we went back into the bar to have a night cap, but the bar was packed! So we just walked across the street to Kramerbooks(very cool place),and had a drink and dessert.

The lobby of the hotel is lovely and a great place to sit and watch people! There is a small,nicely appointed gym in the basement.It had plenty of updated cardio equipment , free weights, and a couple of weight machines.Towels,headphones,water and fruit are provided free of charge in the gym.

My only little compliant would be housekeeping.We stayed on the 8th floor and the carpet in the hallways looked as though it hadn't been vacuumed in days. There was spilled candy,and a toothpick that were in the hall when we arrived Saturday morning,and it was still there Sunday when we left. The room though was clean and well vacuumed.

We would stay in this hotel again because of the very friendly staff and the great location!
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. Our bathrooms are certainly unique, and we understand that they may not be for everyone. We hope that you'll join us again so we may show you our world-class guest service! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the DuPont Circle Hotel during a conference. The room was decent size, comfortable and very nice. It was equipped with a chaise, mini-bar, wifi, sound dock, plenty of outlets, complimentary water, over-sized bath towels (no wash cloths, though), a heated tile floor in the bath area and down pillows. The television was regular cable, not the usual hotel fare that requires that you move through a few promo channels every time you turn it on. The room featured an open floor plan with the sink area, but the shower features a sliding glass enclosure and the WC was separated with a glass door.

The lobby was a bit cramped with all the attendees, but very nicely decorated. The function rooms were more than adequate. The hotel bar was a good size and very lively for a Wednesday night. As well, the hotel is very convenient to area restaurants and a short cab ride to most anywhere in downtown Washington. It was also just off the subway line from the airport, saving the hassle of traffic.

One drawback - the room was not ready at 11am when we arrived, so we had to change in a restroom to get ready for the conference. There is no locker room or other facility for changing under the circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to give us feedback. We do apologize if there were any inconveniences during your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Dupont Circle Hotel exceeded my expectations from the first greeting to the last good bye. The hotel's staff were gracious and helpful. My room was excellent, comfortable, functional and I could focus on business meetings with no worries. Well done! The location, close to major offices and restaurants is perfect location for business meetings for lunch or coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are beyond happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Dupont Circle Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-refurbished Dupont Circle Hotel features 327 residentially designed guestrooms, creating an oasis in which to relax and re-energize away from the clamor of the city. Level Nine is a separate and exclusive luxury hotel experience within the hotel offering an innovative leisure experience with personalized services, complimentary culinary excellence, and total privacy. Café Dupont serves world-class modern American cuisine and alternatively, visitors can unwind in the chic Bar Dupont. More than 9,000 square feet of magnificent, flexible and state-of-the-art meeting and event space can cater up to 350 guests. The full-service Dupont Circle Hotel embodies all that is distinctive, stylish and memorable about this iconic city and the neighborhood it is located in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jurys Doyle, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.