We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

So I'm the person who never writes reviews. I was compelled to just write a quick one on the DuPont because it really is over the top. This sums it up:

1) DC is a friendly city, but the staff here is the friendliest I've ever met in a hotel.
2) The rooms scream $500 a night, but I paid $143. Heated floors are awesome and the bed was really comfortable.
3) From the second we pulled up to the second they closed the car door for my wife as we left, a perfect hotel experience.

If you're spending the night in the DuPont Circle area, don't consider anywhere else. Oh, and the lobby bar is super swanky.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are thrilled to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed your stay. It is truly an honor to hear your comments and praise. We hope that you'll continue to choose us as your home away from home, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    785
    444
    125
    58
    28
See reviews for
213
471
118
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am a local, therefore I haven't stayed at Dupont Circle Hotel. My review will be about the food, beverage and service. I will start by saying that after my first visit, I knew that I would become a regular at Dupont Bar and Dupont Cafe. I think after about my third visit to have a bite to eat and have a beer at Dupont Bar, most bartenders, bar backs, pretty much everyone behind the bar remembered my name. The staff there sure knows how to make a guest feel special. There has never been a time when I was there, one or all managers did not come and say hello. The staff exudes in personality and they make sure your experience there is a flawless and enjoyable one. I am not a mixed drink person really but a few cocktails I tried were excellent and very creative. Now the food... I always thought the bar menu had more choices than the full menu at many restaurants and never left the bar unsatisfied. Then I decided to dine at the more serene, quiet bar inside Dupont Cafe. As soon as I sat at the bar I was greeted by Ryan the supervisor and Sabrina the assistant F&B manager who also knew me even though it was my first time at the cafe ( things like that make the world of difference in the hospitality business !) Menu looked great, a more extensive version of the bar menu. I had a hard time deciding so I narrowed it down to 2 apps and 2 entrees and let Ryan decide. Rest is a heavenly experience, a culinary journey that literally put a smile on my face. The finishing touch was a sauvignon blanc recommended by Ryan as well. If you are in the D.C area, you owe it to yourselves to dine there. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are sincerely appreciative of your loyalty and are pleased that you enjoy dinning with the Bar Dupont, and Cafe Dupont so much! We hope that you'll continue to visit us again, and again. Maybe, even take a night and stay in one of our fabulous guest rooms! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel was very nice, but the location was what really made me happy. I upgraded from the Superior level to a Deluxe to get a little extra room and a higher floor - nice partial view of Dupont Circle, very bright and comfortable. The bed was dreamy, and I did appreciate the heated bathroom floors (especially when the temperature dipped on my second night). Both the food at Sunday brunch and the room service I ordered were excellent. I am actually rating this hotel a 4 instead of a 5 for the staff. Everyone was competent, but I can't say I was particularly impressed by most of the people who worked here. In fact, the doormen and cleaning ladies I met were a lot nicer than the concierge and the people at check-in. The concierge seemed bothered when I called down to ask a question about what I was allowed to bring on the White House tour, and was indifferent in person when I was having trouble with the printer in the business center. On the positive side, the location was wonderful - easy walking distance from loads of restaurants, shops, and a bookstore that was open 24 hours on the weekends. Perfect for a bibliophile like me! I probably wouldn't stay here again, even though I loved the location, because I just didn't feel valued as a customer at this hotel. I'm sure I could find a 5 star staff for a comparable price on my next visit to D.C.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Dupont Circle if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We apologize if anything was not up to your expectations. It is our prerogative to provide high quality guest service to each and everyone of our guests. We will certainly address your concerns with our team. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to providing world-class service to you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful surprise! Very reasonable cost both room and resturants. Car parking available; costly but convenience & access worth it. Pleasant, happy service from doorman, front desk, concierge, maids, wait staff, lobby " eyes".
Room very modern as is lobby. Smallish but certainly were not cramped. Bath area excellent; floor to ceiling door is glass to toilet and also shower. Shower pressure & water warmth excellent too. (Mable flooring can be slippery). Bed comfortable. A/C ok - cooler by window side. Shutters at night cut the urban noise and winter wind. Closet space ok but not ample. Water bottles given. WiFi fast!
Lunch in bar area & breakfast in dinning area comfortable, good quality, service and delivery. Menu selection diverse & cost very reasonable (so much that the hotel may be cheaper then neighboring eateries). Coffee/tea in lobby in AM. Didn't see ATM.
Again service ( all - everywhere) excellent. A happening place; all ages staying & in resturants.
Enjoy the city whether Metro (Red line - block away), bus, cab or walking. The neighborhood great ( drug store across the circle, eateries all there!).

Room Tip: Decide for your needs, nearness to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. Please join us again soon, we would love to see you again at the Dupont Circle Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed the second week of February. The hotel facilities and location its great. Our room was located in third floor. First issue, the AC unit when the fan started, it was like someone blowing a whistle in the room. We reported and they solved it the second day.
The restaurant its great, food quality is really good, and the service is excellent.
The hotel location is great, just across the street is the subway station.
Please double check your account, at the check out, we had three rooms, and in two of them we got bar charges that we never did. We complained and they removed the charges, but beware of that because if you don't double check the account you can be paying accounts that don't belong to you.

Room Tip: try to get upper rooms, they are quieter and you get a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any misunderstandings or inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Our mini bars are touch activated and quite sensitive, so it is possible there was a mechanical error. For that, we apologize! We hope that we were able to remedy it before your departure. Please join us again so we may make up for your previous experiences. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a luxury hotel conveniently located right on DuPont Circle. Staff is excellent, cordial and always very courteous. Rooms are small. Bathrooms have heated floors, but glass walls, so be warned if sharing a room with someone you don't know very well. Meeting rooms are nice. Restaurants located close by. Metro station across DuPont Circle. A good hotel for small conferences.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll contact the hotel so we may learn more about your experience, and come to a resolution. We look forward to the opportunity to earn a full 5 stars from you next, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I just spent the best part of a week at the Dupont Circle Hotel. I would have to say that I was highly impressed, and I tend to stay in hotels probably 3 weeks out of 4. The service was great, with friendly staff at reception, attentive staff in the cafe and bar, and well appointed and comfortable rooms. I didn't eat lunch or dinner in the cafe, with the exception of a quick burger on the last night, but breakfast was fantastic every morning. The bar is good fun, with a sizeable crowd each night and a good wine list. I will certainly be back next time I visit DC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. Our future guests will appreciate it as well! We hope that you'll join us again soon and visit the Bar Dupont. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-refurbished Dupont Circle Hotel features 327 residentially designed guestrooms, creating an oasis in which to relax and re-energize away from the clamor of the city. Level Nine is a separate and exclusive luxury hotel experience within the hotel offering an innovative leisure experience with personalized services, complimentary culinary excellence, and total privacy. Café Dupont serves world-class modern American cuisine and alternatively, visitors can unwind in the chic Bar Dupont. More than 9,000 square feet of magnificent, flexible and state-of-the-art meeting and event space can cater up to 350 guests. The full-service Dupont Circle Hotel embodies all that is distinctive, stylish and memorable about this iconic city and the neighborhood it is located in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jurys Doyle, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.