We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hip Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

When I lived in DC, DuPont Circle was one of my favorite spots to go out. This hotel is perfectly located for somebody who wants easy access to "Downtown" DC, but still wants to be in the middle of good dining and entertainment options. It's also very well appointed and has a nice modern design. The bathrooms do have a glass door, so be warned of that if you aren't too, ahem, comfortable with your roommate. I also enjoyed the electronic "Do Not Disturb" function - saves on paper and can't be dismantled by anybody other than you!

The staff was very friendly and check-in was a breeze. Each time I approached the desk, they courteously offered to help me get a cab or directions to my next stop, which was appreciated.

My only piece of criticism - and it's a fairly small one - is that my minibar was not stocked. Normally not a concern, but I had dinner (and several drinks) on the flight in, dropped my bags and immediately met a friend out for more drinks. Needless to say, by the time I got back to the room I needed a snack. Room service ends at 10:30 and the mini bar was barren...in the end, it's for the best because I woke up with no regret of late night munchies, but some crackers may have staved off a hangover.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if the mini bar was not up to your expectations, and we are looking into this issues. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to earning a full 5 stars from you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    783
    444
    125
    58
    28
See reviews for
212
471
118
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Simply put, as a frequent business traveler (average 180 overnights a year) staying in 4-5 Star properties, this one took my breath away! From the time I drove up and my interactions with Valet to check in at the front desk, the staff was extraordinary and service oriented. Then when I go in the room OMG it was awesome! My first time staying at this property, and a bowl of fruit awaited me that I could actually eat...it was FRESH, a welcome note from the GM, and the ultimate sleek modern room with creature comforts that we're understated but right on point. The frosted bathroom and shower doors, and ultra mordern sink, and HEATED bathroom floors! What?????? I am telling you, I did not want to leave. The restaurant staff were just as attentive as everyone else on property, and the Onion Soup was to die for!!! Even bumped into a family friend in the lobby area ( who was staying at another hotel blocks away, but having a brief meeting at the The DuPont Circle Hotel..looking for quality service and high end accommodations...Ritz Carlton watch out!!! I have already canceled an upcoming stay in April from the RC even though the room type I want is not available...I will trade the space this time for an awesome experience!

Room Tip: 2 minutes from DuPont circle metro line...never had it so good! Park across the street. Gym is sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you truly took advantage of all of our amenities! We hope that you'll join us again upon your next visit to the DC area, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Valet parking returned my car to the front of the hotel with major scrapes and scratches to the passenger side doors -- about $5,000 worth of body work. Despite a police report attesting to the freshness of the scratches and the wall paint flakes dropped on the running board, after making me wait around for two hours, the hotel finally allowed us to speak to an assistant front desk manager who denied all responsibility, quite unpleasantly. A management trainee who had been sympathetic and quite certain that the hotel would compensate me for the damage changed his tune dramatically after the assistant front desk manager showed up.

My own insurance company will subrogate and sue the Dupont Circle Hotel.

I was attending a 100-person meeting at the hote lduring this incident, and the organizers of the event got involved in my dealings with the hotel,most helpfully. It looks as though the hotel doesn't want their business again, either.

Traveler beware.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDupont, General Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear KGB_12,

As you know I have tried to reached out to you regarding this matter in an attempt to have you clarify your comments here on Tripadvisor.

Here at the Dupont Circle Hotel, whilst being far from perfect, we do work very hard to look after our guests and I am proud to say we are honest, compassionate and transparent. We value our reputation and it is with this in mind that I write this response.

I am sympathetic that your car has been damaged but it did not happen at this Hotel. I have high definition video evidence to support this which I have shared with you. I would be happy to share this again, or with anyone reading this who would like a balanced view of what happened.

I would not write this if there was even a possibility that we were in any way responsible but there is not. I can be reached at scott_dawson@doylecollection.com by anyone wishing to balance their opinion.

Public forums such as this are a fantastic tool for travellers and businesses alike and I am grateful to have the chance to respond in such a manner so that those reading reviews are able to form somewhat balanced and objective opinions when choosing a hotel.

I regret that this incident occured but I hope you respect the fact that where appropriate I will absolutley defend the actions of my excellent team and Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Dupont Circle Hotel in mid-January, just after Inauguration Day.The hotel is in a terrific location-15 minutes walk to White House, you can walk to Georgetown, or back.Bus and Metro transportation is a 2 minute walk away from the door of the hotel. The surrounding area has lovely homes to get an idea of the architecture styles of the city. The Dupont Circle park itself would be a charming spot to sit in the warmer weather-but not when I was there!! All in all, a fine htel, in a terrific location for a visit to Washington DC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us in the Bar Dupont upon your return, and we look forward to seeing you again! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Excelent breakfast. Superb service. Excelent choice.
I had minor problem with the vathroom window. They fixed whithin an hour and offered to change rooms.
I sent several packages bought in Amazon. Efficiently delivered to my room

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Dupont Circle Hotel. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for a whole week visiting the US for an international educational program in April 2012. The hotel was booked by the organizers and I can only comment them on that. In brief:
Location: EXCELLENT! The Dupont Circle is a safe, trendy, stylish, happy area, fool of young people relaxing in the park area or sitting in the many cafes, bars and restaurants all around. It is half way between the centre of Washington and the phantastic monuments and cultural opportunities this city has to offer, and Georgetown which is definitely worth a visit, all in walking distance. I was together with my wife and we had a great time exploring the city or eating and drinking something at our favourite spot, Circa, just aroung the corner from the hotel.
Brekfast: Fine. It wasn't the usual boring buffet style, but one ordered from the restaurant menu, which I found great.
Rooms: One should be warned. If you are not traveling alone, rooms present a serious problem, since bathrooms are open and one gets no privacy at all. However the hotel staff did everything to help me with this. I asked for a room with a bathroom door and was presented with three different choices, before I settled on one actually intended for the disabled. Other than that decoration is modern and pleasant, nothing to complain about.
Restaurant-Bar: The hotel is a magnet for the young and the trendy, so if you fancy a drink you are in the perfect place. However please note that it may get very noisy in your room, especially on Saturdays. This was my only major complaint in this hotel, thankfuly it lasted only for the first night.
Staff: Very well trained, nice and accommodating.
To sum things up: If only I could come back to Washington and this hotel for another week!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a door! And a quite one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It is our prerogative to provide quality guest service to each and every one of our guests. We hope that you'll join us again soon upon your next visit to DC, and we look forward to your return to the Dupont Circle Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first time in Washington and selected the Dupont Circle because it was reasonably central. We weren't disapointed with either Washington or the Hotel. Fabulous city and superb hotel. We stayed for four nights in one of the huge 9th Floor Suites with dual aspect room give excellent views over the north and east of the city.
One advantage of the 9th floor is that you have your own lounge area where drinks and canapes are served each day at 5pm...happy hour in the bar at 4pm and then free drinks in the 9th floor lounge at 5pm...not that the whole trip was eating and drinking :-)
The hotel staff could not do too much for us, starting with our check-in with Dayonna, our personal introduction to the 9th Floor and our room from Cole (Guest Relations Manager) and fabulous restaurant recommendations from Siobhan.
We are now just trying to find a date to back to see the cherry blossom in late spring - can't wait and hope we get our favourite room (913)
Fantastic :-)

Room Tip: Push the boat out and go for a 9th Floor room...see if you can get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We can assure you our team will be recognized for their efforts in assisting you. We hope that you'll join us in the Bar Dupont upon your return. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-refurbished Dupont Circle Hotel features 327 residentially designed guestrooms, creating an oasis in which to relax and re-energize away from the clamor of the city. Level Nine is a separate and exclusive luxury hotel experience within the hotel offering an innovative leisure experience with personalized services, complimentary culinary excellence, and total privacy. Café Dupont serves world-class modern American cuisine and alternatively, visitors can unwind in the chic Bar Dupont. More than 9,000 square feet of magnificent, flexible and state-of-the-art meeting and event space can cater up to 350 guests. The full-service Dupont Circle Hotel embodies all that is distinctive, stylish and memorable about this iconic city and the neighborhood it is located in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Jurys Doyle, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.