We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
The Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The staff was friendly, professional, and extremely helpful. The facilities were very clean and well kept. If only we could surround the hotel building with better scenery! But hey, one can't have everything.
Special mention has to be made of Camille Sacro, Asst Front Office Mgr, and her colleagues for meticulously tracking my misplaced bag and sending it to my home! Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    595
    170
    69
    35
See reviews for
326
622
145
609
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Columbus Day Weekend, we stayed one night in the Dupont Circle Hotel. At first, I was unimpressed, as there was construction of the upper floors, including a crane blocking the roadway and the valet area. There was also some painting/maintenance when we walked in. I hate when hotels fail to inform guests of construction. We had two connecting rooms, and when we walked in we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were beautiful and beds were very comfortable. The pillows are down, so bring your own if you need more support. I slept fine, one family member could not sleep without more neck support. Our rooms were slightly different, which can be a good or bad thing. We all felt that one room was better than the other, with more room, a couch and a desk, and a well designed bathroom. The other room had no couch, and was less roomy. Both were King rooms. I also disliked the type of fridge/minibar in the room, where you cannot store personal items. The hotel is near to the metro, but my parents stated they would have preferred a room closer to the sights we were there to see. I would stay there again, and would model a bathroom renovation after this bathroom :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDupont, General Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear LaurenMB,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay here at The Dupont Circle Hotel. I would like to apologize for the crane that was blocking our front drive when you were checking in, we were undergoing some rooftop maintenance at the time. I wish we would have known about your pillow preference since we do offer alternate options that are a little more supportive. We are delighted that you will stay with us again during your next visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Scott Dawson
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Dupont Circle Hotel is literally at the Dupont Circle in walking distance or a short ride from all major DC attractions. The staff at the reception as well as throughout the hotel is very nice, friendly and helpful.

The rooms were suprisingly luxurious. The bathroom is made out of gray tile which even heats up in front of the sink and the mirror. The shower is an oversized walk-in shower which is separated from the bathroom by sillouette glass. The sink and heat-up tiles are part of the room, also again separated by sillouette glass. This is definitly for solo travelers or couple travelers. Friends/ coworkers might find it akward to see the other person's silouette through the glass.

The bed, decor is very modern, stylish and yet comfortable. Overall, I was pleasantly suprised by the overall experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Dupont Circle Hotel and it was wonderful. We spent two nights in one of the Level Nine suites. Our corner suite with balcony provided beautiful views of Dupont Circle and the surrounding neighborhood and great amenities that are expected at a luxury boutique hotel, (heated towel rack, fully-stocked refrigerator and bar, fresh fruit throughout our stay and assorted cheese platter upon arrival), all complimentary. The Level Nine executive floor offers privacy and the staff is attentive to the guests. We enjoyed our conversation and tour of The Heights with the building engineer and the hotel was very accommodating in allowing us to use The Heights balcony as a backdrop for our wedding photos. Special thanks to the entire staff, but especially Cole Kelly and John Paul Wood for ensuring a stress-free stay on our wedding day and providing extra touches upon our return after a day of wedding activities. The hotel décor is very nice and the Level Nine lobby and its amenities were great. The Dupont is centrally located and offers several things to do within walking distance. Valet parking is offered with 24/7 in-out privileges. A restaurant and bar are located on-site and room service orders for breakfast and dinner were well-prepared and delivered on time. We will definitely return for another stay on Level Nine.

Room Tip: Opt for Level Nine for ultimate privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDupont, General Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear ladyinmaryland,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion. We truly appreciate you taking the time to remember our team members’ names so that we can personally tell them thank you for making your experience memorable. Your stay is what we strive to do with all of our guests here at The Dupont Circle Hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Scott Dawson
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I had a couple of nights in this hotel on business.
The rooms are well presented, really modern, the bar is a great place to meet - always very buzzy.
It located about a 3 minute walk from the Metro station on the red line which takes you to most attractions. Free wifi all over the hotel which is great.
The bed was very comfy, although I found the road and corridor noise a bit loud. The only downer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed for 2 night in August and I will definitely stay there again. The rooms are very clean, and I could wait to get to the bed as it is so big and comfortable. The Dupont cafe is also very relaxing and cosy to sit and have a drink. Very good location for a hotel in DC. Overall I will give The Dupont Hotel 10/10

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDupont, General Manager at The Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear spann,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience here at The Dupont Circle Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our guest room as well as the location of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Washington soon and hope that you’ll recommend us to friends visiting DC.

Warm regards,
Scott Dawson
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
232 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed in the hotel for business and was impressed with the quick and professional check in. The rooms are not to big but nice decorated and with a very comfortable bed. The shower area is adjusted to the bed room. The hotel has a ok fitness room and a restaurant (outside dining is possible). Breakfast is a la carte and sometimes slow. In the area are many book shops and you are only a short walk away from the metro. In short, everything you need for a good business stay. For a romantic night away I would try to find another place :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle Hotel brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle Hotel's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or Brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Doyle Collection, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.