We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With our children or without, The Dupont will be our 1st choice in DC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
The Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“With our children or without, The Dupont will be our 1st choice in DC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Often my husband and I feel we have to sacrifice style when we travel with our children (7 and 9) if we are to accomodate their needs but FINALLY we have found a hotel that can meet both. From the moment we arrived at the end of April, The Dupont Hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was incredibly helpful and the property flawless. It is the first time ouside of NY that a hotel has been able to remain warm and friendly with such a hip vibe. The staff was terrific with our kids which allowed us to enjoy a "grown-up" atmosphere on a family vacation. Just as importantly, our children loved the fashionable rooms and the restaurant which offered healthy meal options for kids served in interesting ways. What a breath of fresh air compared to the circus atmosphere of most "family-friendly" properties! Thank you Dupont Hotel for welcoming us and helping to make our vacation one of the best yet!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    597
    170
    69
    35
See reviews for
326
623
145
611
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our first-ever visit to Washington. The location is excellent. The hotel has been renovated, the beds extremely comfortable, and the staff very helpful. The neighborhood is great as well. We did have a couple of issues though. The first room we were given had water damage on the ceiling above the bed. The damage was such that the paint had begun bubbling off, which gave the appearance of a large growth coming off of the ceiling and potentially falling on you while sleeping (room 630). The staff quickly checked us in to another room - with a little less water damage! Later that day, two of the light circuits blew so we had no power in the bathroom or the room, except for the nightstand lights. Apparently this was throughout the hotel. The issue still hadn't been resolved by the next day. At approx 10:30 pm, all the power went off! Nothing like sitting in a dark hotel room; no air, no lights, nothing. Oh yeah - don't forget those magnetic keys; they don't work either. The power returned about 45 minutes later.

I'd go back to this hotel despite the electrical issues. Be sure to ask for a room with a view on the Circle or one of the side streets as the alternative is in the "inner courtyard" with a great view of the adjoining wall and the air conditioning units. The hotel bar is hopping on Thursday - Saturday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Traveled with my wife and two boys, age 7 and 9.

Great hotel. Love the location; not in the heart of the tourist district, great selection of bars, restaurants, shops - literally across the street from Metro Station. Bar/food is overpriced, but staff went *out of their way* to provide fantastic customer service.

However...

I can not understand why every book and review we read suggested this as a family hotel. I'd come back with my wife in a heartbeat, but it's NOT for kids.

No pool. No in-room movies. Glass divider in the bathroom (no door).

Enjoy your stay, but if you need amenities for the kids... go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I made a reservation via expedia and received a good room rate for our stay. I have to agree that the bath room design is a not odd if traveling with other guests. The frosted glass doesn't leave much for privacy. However the heated floor tiles were a great touch. The beds very comfy. Room size overall not to bad as we had three people in 2 double beds. Spacing was a bit tight but manageable. The only thing that was that the windows over the bar/restaurant does not tone out the sound. Ask for a room that is opposite of the restaurant as the sound does carry. All in all a great hotel to stay in as it is very close to the metro and lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Had heard good things about the DuPont Circle Hotel and was not let down - from an extremely warm welcome, a well appointed room overlooking the Circle/Park, to an absolutely outstanding meal (try the veal - its a chefs speciality and was quite delicious!)
This hotel was well positioned for exploring DC, close to the main attractions, and its lively bar provided a pleasant spot from which to reflect on the days trek around the nations treasures. My wife and I are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We took our two grandchildren to Washington, DC. The Dupont Circle Hotel was fantastic. The proximity to the Metro and local restaurants were highlights. The room was fine for the four of us. The bathroom was very different with an open plan. It worked out fine but I can see if you were with a business partner it could be difficult. The concierge, Michael, was fantastic and suggested restaurants that were within our budget and perfect to enjoy with the grandkids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Woderful staff and very hip decor. Some rooms seemed small but we asked for and received wheel chair accessible room which was quite spacious. Awesome location on Dupont Circle. Walking distance to Georgetown and monuments/museums plus Dupont area is great. Watch the world go by from the outdoor bar and meet people from around the world. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,456 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle Hotel brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle Hotel's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or Brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Doyle Collection, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.