We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was severely lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #76 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Service was severely lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

I have stayed at the Courtyard Washington Northwest twice and both times were average. The location is nice and centrally located near the Dupont Circle Metro. The rooms are average, but I think it’s the service that is really lacking.

The valets are occasionally slow and sometimes just not there at all. So that is really irritating when you are looking to leave or come back. Also, we had a problem with someone at the front desk. This person was supposed to make a reservation for my boyfriend and me for our anniversary dinner and then when we showed up to the restaurant – there was no reservation and were told that no one from our hotel had even called at all that day regarding the reservation. We called a manager that night, left a message and never received a phone call back. The next morning, the same person who was supposed to make our reservation pretty much talked his way around his mistake and offered to comp us on a few things – so that helped a little bit, but there was still no excuse for the poor service.

Also, the maid would leave our remote on the floor in our room – so that’s just messy and annoying. The breakfast area is so disorganized that it’s almost not worth it. There are 3 people to help about 50 people. So there is little to no service here at all.

On the bright side, both rooms I have stayed in here had a nice view. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms are clean. My family tends to stay in Courtyards and because of the location, we may stay here again. Patience is key when staying here though.

  • Liked — Location and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Bad service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    137
    64
    17
    6
See reviews for
63
52
32
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

Despite its convenient location in between Dupont Circle and the National Zoo/Woodley Park neighborhood, this hotel was a bit of a disappointment. The lobby and room were basic but unobjectionable. When we checked in, the a/c in our room was going full blast despite the fact that the thermostat registered 61 degrees. The promised free in-room internet failed to function throughour our two-day stay -- a fatal flaw in a hotel that doubtless attracts many convention and business travelers. The mandatory valet parking operation, which we used, was disorganized and inconvenient. One night we returned to the hotel at 11 pm to find the garage closed and the valet booth locked and dark; eventually we walked up to the front desk and were told to lock the car and leave the keys with the desk -- hardly a reassuring maneuver.. Retrieving our car at the end of the stay, we were forced to carry our (heavy) luggage down a ramp from the front door to the waiting car while the valet attendants and bell staff looked on in apparent indifference.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nonfunctioning in-room internet -- totally unacceptable
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

My family and I stayed here for 4 days during April school vacation. We were originally booked at another hotel which turned out to be an unacceptable choice. We called this Marriott as it was recommended by "Fodor, Washington." They could not have been more accomodating. Our room was clean, beds comfortable, and the buffet breakfast was delicious. Everyone on staff was pleasant and answered any questions we had.
The location, about 5 blocks up from the Dupont Circle Metro stop was quiet and chock full of great restaurants and interesting shops. A nice change after a day of touring DC.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

This hotel was $140/night in July. My opinion - a wonderful deal!

The pool was very nice, and quiet!

Convenient walk to Dupont Circle, lots of restaurants/bars within walking distance

I've stayed here on two different occasions - and I cannot complain about either one. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

Whenever I come to DC, I stay at this place. It is an affordable alternative to the DC Hilton if you have a convention there because it is right across the street. The staff is very, very friendly and the prices are reasonable. It is only a few blocks from the Dupont Metro station which makes it convenient. Also, there are several local eateries in the area as well as recognizable chains such as Cosi, Starbucks and Chipotle nearby. A big plus is that there is free Internet in the rooms and in the lobby. I have never had a bad experience here and I have stayed with them several times.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Overview: My wife and I have stayed in a number of hotels in and about the Capital District during the last few years. For this particular weekend visit (March 28-30, 2008: Cherry Blossom Festival), we decided to try yet another hotel in different section of the city. We chose the Courtyard Washington Northwest, based primarily upon the price (AAA rate – other hotels that I wanted to try were priced ‘sky-high’ - for the Cherry Blossom crowd, I guess) and the location (Dupont Circle). I originally was going to write a much more positive review of the hotel, but in retrospect I changed my mind. Here’s why.

Overall, our stay was good but there were little things that were bothersome. The room was among the smallest we have stayed in during our DC visits. We like room to spread out and relax and we were a little cramped on space here. The floor to ceiling windows helped with making the room seem larger than it actually was. The décor was typical Courtyard. The public areas of the hotel were also small: check-in, lobby, “lounge/bar” area, exercise room. Despite numerous attempts to get the heating/cooling thermostat to work properly, I finally resorted to opening the window to adjust the room’s temperature. The fan never did turn off during our stay – not a major problem as it masked the street traffic noise on Connecticut Avenue, especially when the window was open to cool off the room at night, but still annoying. And even though we always ask for a room away from the ice machine /vending, guess where our room was - next to the ice machine.

On the plus side: the hotel staff (front desk, doorman, housekeeping) were friendly and pleasant. We asked for extra towels and an extra luggage rack and got them in a timely manner. The free wired internet connection worked great. The location, near Dupont Circle, was a definite plus: many restaurants and shops from which to choose. (Try Rosemary’s Thyme Bistro on 18th St, NW for a good, affordable dinner.) The view from our (small) room was very good: looking down Connecticut Avenue towards Dupont Circle, with the Washington Monument in view. The bathroom was adequate, although the nightlight on the hairdryer kept flickering on and off (somewhat annoying). The small refrigerator in the room worked fine.

All in all, the hotel was OK for what is was: a basic hotel, nothing fancy but in a good location. (We love the Dupont Circle area. It just seems so vibrant and alive.) Would we place it in the top five hotels we’ve stayed in during our DC visits? No, but it makes the top ten . . . maybe.

  • Liked — Location - Dupont Circle area
  • Disliked — Small accommodations - room too small!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

This Marriott is like any other Marriott (just as all Pizza Huts, Home Depots, and ShopRites are alike), so, while generic, it was functional and clean.

The location was AWESOME--right up the hill from Dupont Circle, close to the Metro, great shops and restaurants, and to the heavenly year-round Sunday farmers' market. We even had a great view...of the nicer boutique hotel next door.

The front desk staff, however, was HORRIBLE (but the housekeeping staff was lovely, at least). They couldn't recommend a restaurant or give directions. They promised to send toothpaste up to our room and then just didn't. They didn't have any idea about whether the vending machines were working (or even what floors they were on, it seemed), and behaved as though we'd asked them to sacrifice a firstborn when we asked to check in earlier than expected (5:30 pm rather than 7:00) and to EXTEND our reservation. It seemed they didn't even have the sense to take advantage of our extra business. Finally, they seemed surprised to hear that I'd hoped they might have phoned us when housekeeping found my car keys in the room after we checked out, and they NEVER apologized when their mistakes were pointed out.

The customer service at this Marriott was TOTALLY lacking. I'm generally inclined to make excuses for service industry workers who are perceived as sub-par--I don't envy them the pressures of their work--but this crowd was totally inept to a (wo)man. Unacceptable.

My mother-in-law suggested that the staff working during the Easter holiday might have been the second string, and I sincerely hope that's the explanation for our experience. If their full-time staff is THAT bad, there's not much hope for them.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle

Address: 1900 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle is a hotel located in the nation's capital with easy access to metro, attractions and landmarks as well as all 3 major airports (Reagan National, Dulles International and Baltimore/Washington International). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Dc Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Northwest
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.