We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, good location, a little basic but decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package! Book Now
Ranked #77 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great views, good location, a little basic but decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Courtyards generally offer a no-frills experience, and this is no exception: the restaurant is very basic, though they will give you a decent latte. But it's in a great location, a few minutes' walk from Dupont metro and its shops and restaurants, clean, with good staff, and if you get a room facing down Conn. Ave, fabulous views. The fitness room only has CV equipment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view down the Ave to the Wshington Monument. Stunning, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    161
    71
    21
    6
See reviews for
76
59
37
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we rented 3 rooms for 3 nights in this hotel, is a little bit retired from attractions, museums and monuments here in Washington DC, though we love the location because you have many choices to eat nearby, and a farmers market on Sundays. For a Courtyard the room is not that great, i've been in a couple of courtyards before, and let me tell you that this one is far from others. their staff is great, i don't have any complaints about them, but there's something missing... the pool is way too small but enjoyable as well. the price for parking is outrageous, 29.95$ per night wether you use valet parking or not, they will charge 29.95$ i stayed 3 nights here and spent 90$ only for park my car. WIFI is for free, they have a little market right across the front desk for a quick snack... all in all i think i'll not be back to this hotel, even that it wasn't a FIASCO, i have nothing remakable to say about it either. they had at the lobby a lemonade jar the day we arrived, then we didn't see it again. also the room is very clean, they keep it clean everyday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Over all we liked the hotel. It was in a nice neighborhood and close to the subway. The rooms were clean, a little small, but the beds were very comfortable. The restaurant was pretty basic, but was suitable for those of use who wanted a quick, inexpensive breakfast. The neighboorhood had several restaurants to choose from for other meals. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had never used a subway system before, so they were patient and knowledgable in their instructions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was a mixed bag. The property was nicely kept. Valet parking was a bit expensive but convenient. As noted in other reviews the staff was indeed very helpful and engaging.

The bistro was a bad experience. I had a family group of 8 and on the first evening, the single person working behind the counter didn't acknowledge me for 10 minutes while they were cooking. When I did place a dinner order it took forever to get the food, it came out in several batches spaced far apart. We had to request napkins and silverware. Some thought their food was forgotten then it finally came out after others were done eating. The staff seemed preoccupied, talking to other employees that strolled in. The food quality was average for a CY Bistro, which is pretty good but very expensive.

Breakfast was the same routine. Long line, took around 25 minutes to get to the counter. The food came out in batches spaced far apart. I got two Starbucks Coffees (mochas) on the way out and they were undrinkable, unless you like steamed milk with little flavor. We didn't taste them until in our car so they had to be thrown away. I think they forgot the coffee. Blech.

We had requested adjoining rooms with a view. The desk staff said they had two rooms reserved for us with a view of the Washington Monument. When we arrived our view was of two adjacent buildings and the pool. Hmmph. But at least the rooms were adjoining.

The room was dated but nice. There was a broken-off prong stuck in the outlet in the bathroom so nothing could be plugged in there. Also a hazard to the kids. The rooms small but quiet and the AC worked well.

Downtown was close, as was the Zoo, which we enjoyed. The location was nice but something of a pain to get into given the orientation of the streets. Be prepared to use your traffic kung-fu if you're approaching from the south.

I'd stay here again but I won't be visiting the Bistro, plan on eating dinner and breakfast somewhere else if you're in a hurry or have a party larger than 2.

Room Tip: I'm told there are rooms with a view of the Washington Monument
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is very well located in an area with lots of restaurants, shops and cafés which is very nice. It is situated just a few minutes walk from the subway station and you can walk to Georgetown in 20 minutes and the White House in 30 minutes. Rooms are fresh and clean, as is the rest of the hotel. Since the hotel is on top of a hill, you can get a very nice view of Washington in general and the Washington Monument in specific. Staff was very friendly and service minded, which is a big plus. I would say that it is real good value for money and can't find any real flaws. However, I would still cannot reward them five dots due to the fact that they are competing in a segment where it is almost impossible to receive a full mark according to my standards.

I didn't try the breakfast any of the days, so I cannot judge that.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor levels with a view of the Washington Monument would be my option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent 6 unfulfilled nights at this hotel, June 20-26, 2013. The only reference I can see to any other Marriott is in part of the name. First, the hike up the steep hill from the Metro is a killed, especially towing bags. There is absolutely nothing memorable about this hotel. I was told that a previous manager or part owner recently walked out and took a large portion of the staff with him. I think that the ones he took were the only good ones. The most memorable thing I can report id that a couple of afternoons, there was one container of lemonade to be shared by all of the guests in the Hotel. The house Internet was not encrypted so anyone in the area can potentially grab your communications. The mattress and the towels must be hand me downs from Motel 6. I have NEVER seen towels like this at any Marriott owned hotel. The room was very small. No shower vent in the bathroom, just one built into the wall (no fan) many years ago. The restraint staff had no idea how to work together, good thing as many guests stayed away. Other than in-room coffee, no coffee of anything else in the lobby for the guests. This hotel is marginable at best. for the price and location, I'm sure you can do better. There is another hotel on "p" street down the hill. Look to that one first. MUCH more accessible to METRO and shops and restraunts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to DC for the July 4th weekend. This hotel is at a very good location. It is about a 20 minute walk from all the monuments on one side and a 15 minute walk to Dupont circle on the other side. The staff was really great. I enjoyed my stay here and will stay here again each time I am in DC. They have a pool and a gym on the 3rd floor. The self parking is very easy but only $4 cheaper than valet parking so no big deal either way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle

Address: 1900 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle is a hotel located in the nation's capital with easy access to metro, attractions and landmarks as well as all 3 major airports (Reagan National, Dulles International and Baltimore/Washington International). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Dc Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Northwest
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.