We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super location, lovely staff, - but watch the rollaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #67 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“super location, lovely staff, - but watch the rollaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Family of five stayed one night over Thanksgiving weekend. A+ location; walking easily to subway while soaking in Dupont Circle atmosphere.
Staff were warm, helpful, knowledgable; they gave us adjoining rooms with a common entry at no upcharge for the one which had double beds, which was super hospitality. Rooms were clean and quiet,a bit small as others have noted, free internet easy and without glitches, beds comfortable. The rollaway, though, was AWFUL; we have used the Marriott Courtyard rollaways in many cities, from San Francisco to Chapel Hill, and usually they are real beds that roll standing up and have proper mattresses--anyone could sleep in one. That's what we expected, but what we got was: thin mattress that our 80-lb son felt metal frame rods through, and it was covered with plastic which crackled every time he shifted weight. Eek! He couldn't stay in it. If they can get such a suboptimal sleeper replaced with the usual high-quality rolling single the other Courtyards have, we can all get a good night's rest (I ended up with son in our bed, and husband tossing loudly on the crispy plastic!!!) But I have to say, our treatment was so wonderful that the net equation still weighs heavily in favor of this hotel. We would go back (and I'll sleep with a daughter in the other room) in a minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear beePitsburghPA,

Thank you for the great review. I will pass it along to our staff who appreciate great feedback on their hard work.

Please come back. SIncerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
Albert_Montone@doylecollection.com
202-332-9300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    172
    73
    21
    7
See reviews for
84
64
38
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving in Washington DC with family and stayed 3 nights at this Courtyard. Check in was very easy and friendly. A valet parked our car and a nice young man took our bags to our room.
Our nephew obtained a city parking pass for us which we used to park on his street .saving us the $25 plus tax parking fee. We walked almost everywhere we went and did not have to move the car until we left on Fri. DC is a great walking town!
Our room was small and the bathroom was small as well. There was no place other than the back of the toilet and a small glass shelf to put toiletries. There were basic amenities but no shower cap.
The shower was good. The towels were a bit thin but adequate. The beds were comfortable with average linens . There was a nice desk for computer work.
We had breakfast in the Bistro one morning. My husband had the two fried eggs with bacon and toast. I had the thick
cut French Toast (3 pieces). It was good but way much for me. They have Starbucks coffee in the Bistro and complimentary ( not Starbucks) coffee in the reading area. There is a Starbucks 2-3 blocks south that has good breakfast sandwiches.
The entire staff was courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear TwotravelersaikenSC,

Thank you for the great review. I appreciate you staying with us. Please come back.Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Colleciton
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@Doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Small, good hotel in a good location. Essentially on Connnecticut Ave. Easy walk to the subway. Small lobby, but with a cafe' that is handy. Rooms are typical for Courtyard by Marriott. Entry to the hotel,is a bit odd, but cabs know the drill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Duck1949,

I appreciate the great review on our facility. Please come back. Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/Dupont CIrcle
A member of the Doyle Collection
Albert_Montone@doylecollection.com
202-332-9300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place was great. Great for what it is, great location, great staff.

After a one-night stay at the Willard (see review) I transferred to this Dupont Circle hotel for two more nights in DC. On the taxi ride over, I thought it was going to be sort of a let-down. I couldn’t have been any more wrong.

The hotel is located a few short blocks from the heart of Dupont Circle, a vibrant and upscale neighborhood of the city with fantastic access to the Metro. Lots of shops, restaurants, bars, cafes, and so on. Very different from the area around the area where the Willard is located.

Check in was super friendly, and the entire spacious lobby area is very well set-up for working, lounging, eating, watching TV, getting ready for a day at work, etc. It has sort of an open-plan and it works well.

Although my king room was a bit small, it had an entire wall of windows with fantastic view of the Dupont Circle neighborhood and the Washington Monument in the distance. As the hotel sits on a hill of Connecticut Avenue, the views were even that much nicer. Room was simple and had a no-frills feel without seeming 'cheap,' and had everything you could need but a safe. Lots of outlets, a comfortable desk area to sit at and a lounge chair, a huge bed with six pillows. Bathroom was a bit small, as well, but was modern, spotless, and had plenty of towels and some basic products. I would say, though, that the sound insulation was a bit lacking, however. I could occasionally hear hallway noise, doors opening and closing, folks talking in the hallway, etc. Not a huge issue, but certainly noticeable.

We had breakfast in the lobby one morning and I was surprised at the quality of the offerings... Much nicer than I would have imagined.

So, in comparison with my stay at the Willard, the Courtyard Marriott was, by comparison, as nice a stay if not better. Totally different hotels, of course, but there was a sense of freedom to be in a more ‘normal’ hotel but with equally friendly, helpful service and in a neighborhood that has more to offer in terms of services and entertainment. Again, totally different hotels and neighborhoods, but it was interesting to stay in the places two back-to-back and to be able to compare. I think I paid somewhere around $290 (?) per night at the Courtyard Marriott on Travelocity and, all things considered, feel this was by far the better deal.

Would I stay again? Absolutely.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear MAWander,

Thank you for your comments and review. It is an honor that your perception of our service and facility outperformed the Willard Hotel. We are very proud to receive such high marks.

Please come back. Thanks again,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a perfectly suitable, adequate, small hotel in a good DC location. This is not the place to stay if you want luxurious or large Washington accommodations. But it has all the standards of a good Marriott, as well as a superbly friendly, helpful staff. The lobby level includes a small restaurant with cafeteria-like service and limited choices; hardly fine dining, but fine for breakfast and lunch, or to get very tasty sandwiches to bring to the room. Rooms were clean and well equipped, with all the essentials, as well as a good flatscreen TV and free Wi-fi service. Bad weather in New York forced me to stay an extra night; the staff could not have been more pleasant, helpful or accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Richchar,

Thank you for the great review. I am very proud of our staff and their spirit to serve. Please come back.

Sincerely,

Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@DoyleCollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is located on Connecticut Avenue NW about a 5 minute walk from the north exit of the Dupont subway station. My room was clean, and appeared to updated, it had a large flat screen television, and the bathroom was nice. The rooms was not extraordinary, but it was great for me and my wife for a two night stay. The hotel offers free computers and printers in the lobby, and free internet access in the rooms. The hotel is located in the Dupont circle area which is packed with restaurants and close to many embassies. This was an excellent location for a stay in Washington, D.C. The museums, White House, Washington monument, etc. are all within a 10 minute trip on the subway. I got this hotel for $70.00 per night on Priceline. It was an excellent value. No complaints. Nice, clean, good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the great review. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are very proud of our hotel and offerings. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here four nights, and can not stop raving about the staff at this hotel. Starting with the valet, front desk, housekeeping, managers, everyone was just incredible - they make you feel like you are at home. This is a place where everyone really "knows your name"!! I looked for the general manager to compliment him - a true reflection on him! Well done
The hotel is located in Dupont Circle, which is a great locaiton. Very close to the metro, and lots and lots of great restaurants.
This is a place I will definitely go back to, thanks to the staff in particular. See you real soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great comments about our staff. They have the spirit to serve as you mentioned. Your comments are very helpful to validate the efforts they make to please our customers. It was a pleasure to serve you. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont CIrcle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@Doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#90 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#81 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Churchill Hotel
#23 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
#51 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#59 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle

Address: 1900 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle is a hotel located in the nation's capital with easy access to metro, attractions and landmarks as well as all 3 major airports (Reagan National, Dulles International and Baltimore/Washington International). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Dc Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Northwest
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.