We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice in Dupont Circle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #67 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Choice in Dupont Circle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place was great. Great for what it is, great location, great staff.

After a one-night stay at the Willard (see review) I transferred to this Dupont Circle hotel for two more nights in DC. On the taxi ride over, I thought it was going to be sort of a let-down. I couldn’t have been any more wrong.

The hotel is located a few short blocks from the heart of Dupont Circle, a vibrant and upscale neighborhood of the city with fantastic access to the Metro. Lots of shops, restaurants, bars, cafes, and so on. Very different from the area around the area where the Willard is located.

Check in was super friendly, and the entire spacious lobby area is very well set-up for working, lounging, eating, watching TV, getting ready for a day at work, etc. It has sort of an open-plan and it works well.

Although my king room was a bit small, it had an entire wall of windows with fantastic view of the Dupont Circle neighborhood and the Washington Monument in the distance. As the hotel sits on a hill of Connecticut Avenue, the views were even that much nicer. Room was simple and had a no-frills feel without seeming 'cheap,' and had everything you could need but a safe. Lots of outlets, a comfortable desk area to sit at and a lounge chair, a huge bed with six pillows. Bathroom was a bit small, as well, but was modern, spotless, and had plenty of towels and some basic products. I would say, though, that the sound insulation was a bit lacking, however. I could occasionally hear hallway noise, doors opening and closing, folks talking in the hallway, etc. Not a huge issue, but certainly noticeable.

We had breakfast in the lobby one morning and I was surprised at the quality of the offerings... Much nicer than I would have imagined.

So, in comparison with my stay at the Willard, the Courtyard Marriott was, by comparison, as nice a stay if not better. Totally different hotels, of course, but there was a sense of freedom to be in a more ‘normal’ hotel but with equally friendly, helpful service and in a neighborhood that has more to offer in terms of services and entertainment. Again, totally different hotels and neighborhoods, but it was interesting to stay in the places two back-to-back and to be able to compare. I think I paid somewhere around $290 (?) per night at the Courtyard Marriott on Travelocity and, all things considered, feel this was by far the better deal.

Would I stay again? Absolutely.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear MAWander,

Thank you for your comments and review. It is an honor that your perception of our service and facility outperformed the Willard Hotel. We are very proud to receive such high marks.

Please come back. Thanks again,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    176
    73
    21
    8
See reviews for
85
67
39
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a perfectly suitable, adequate, small hotel in a good DC location. This is not the place to stay if you want luxurious or large Washington accommodations. But it has all the standards of a good Marriott, as well as a superbly friendly, helpful staff. The lobby level includes a small restaurant with cafeteria-like service and limited choices; hardly fine dining, but fine for breakfast and lunch, or to get very tasty sandwiches to bring to the room. Rooms were clean and well equipped, with all the essentials, as well as a good flatscreen TV and free Wi-fi service. Bad weather in New York forced me to stay an extra night; the staff could not have been more pleasant, helpful or accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Richchar,

Thank you for the great review. I am very proud of our staff and their spirit to serve. Please come back.

Sincerely,

Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@DoyleCollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is located on Connecticut Avenue NW about a 5 minute walk from the north exit of the Dupont subway station. My room was clean, and appeared to updated, it had a large flat screen television, and the bathroom was nice. The rooms was not extraordinary, but it was great for me and my wife for a two night stay. The hotel offers free computers and printers in the lobby, and free internet access in the rooms. The hotel is located in the Dupont circle area which is packed with restaurants and close to many embassies. This was an excellent location for a stay in Washington, D.C. The museums, White House, Washington monument, etc. are all within a 10 minute trip on the subway. I got this hotel for $70.00 per night on Priceline. It was an excellent value. No complaints. Nice, clean, good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the great review. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are very proud of our hotel and offerings. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here four nights, and can not stop raving about the staff at this hotel. Starting with the valet, front desk, housekeeping, managers, everyone was just incredible - they make you feel like you are at home. This is a place where everyone really "knows your name"!! I looked for the general manager to compliment him - a true reflection on him! Well done
The hotel is located in Dupont Circle, which is a great locaiton. Very close to the metro, and lots and lots of great restaurants.
This is a place I will definitely go back to, thanks to the staff in particular. See you real soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great comments about our staff. They have the spirit to serve as you mentioned. Your comments are very helpful to validate the efforts they make to please our customers. It was a pleasure to serve you. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont CIrcle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@Doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I traveled to DC for some vacation and some a technology conference. The Courtyard Marriott was a good place to stay but it is in a great location. It is right across the street from the Washington Hilton (where my conference was) and just up the road from the Dupont Circle area. We have plenty of choices for food and only a short walk to the Metro station.

The hotel rooms were smaller than we expected but were furnished nicely. I would have liked to have a mini-fridge in the room to store our left-overs in and some snacks. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I have tried a number of times to thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff. Hopefully, this message will be posted as a sign of our appreciation. Please come back when you visit Washington DC in the future.

Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The key to success at this hotel is the staff. We have stayed at many of the topnotch hotels in
DC such as the Fairmont and the Park Hyatt. We will return here due to the kindness of the
staff. They greet you by name after a day, they are helpful with directions, housekeeping is
top-notch and everyone is so pleasant! We had an extended stay that was not planned, and
they went out of their way to be kind to us. We had a room in the back that was quiet, and the
neighborhood has many nice restaurants. I am writing to the overall director of Marriott to
compliment this hotel. We will return here when we visit family again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back that was very quiet. We heard no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear ChicagoTraveler,

I appreciate the exceptional review of our facility. It is very rewarding to be put on the same level of service as the Park Hyatt and Fairmount hotels. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
200 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for four nights and were very happy with the hotel.

The thing that stands out is the staff - every team member really shone, from front desk, to the bar and restaurant to the housekeeping. The check in was flawless - I had asked for a high floor room (great views!) and we got what we asked for. The room was big (a twin, great Marriott beds, excellent flat screen that HDMI'd to my laptop) very clean, well laid out, coffee maker, really fast wifi - everything you expect. The location is brilliant - a short walk to Du Pont circle and an easy walk to Penn Ave and all the sights and 3 blocks to the subway. Strarbucks one block away and a convenience store just behind the hotel.

This is a property I would definately stay in again becuase every staff member was so courteous. We felt like very valued guests and that's what makes a great hotel. Thanks to all of you.

Room Tip: Views are best from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amont758, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Tryanythingonce,

It was our pleasure to serve you. I appreciate the great review and will pass it along to our staff. They have the spirit to serve and will be very pleased to be recognized by you. Please come back.

Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC\Dupont Circle
A member of the Doyle Collection
202-332-9300
Albert_Montone@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#88 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,422 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#82 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Churchill Hotel
#23 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
#42 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#72 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle

Address: 1900 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle is a hotel located in the nation's capital with easy access to metro, attractions and landmarks as well as all 3 major airports (Reagan National, Dulles International and Baltimore/Washington International). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Dc Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Northwest
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.