We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your bill carefully!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Washington, DC - Connecticut Ave.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Washington, DC - Connecticut Ave. to your Saves list
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connecticut Ave.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Ranked #108 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Check your bill carefully!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

The front desk tried to overcharge us more than $150 dollars at checkout not giving us the room rate that was clearly stated on our reservation. When I noticed the difference and asked to change the rate the front desk staff only VERY reluctantly changed it. Also there is a big sign in reception saying that the charge of the safe in the rooms can be taken off at check out if you ask for it, but this is not true. This sign is highly misleading as we asked but were told that it could not be taken off even after we pointed out the sign and the attitude of the front desk was actually quite rude.

The first night we were given a room that smelled really badly as the vent from the Italian restaurant below went right into the room and nothing in the room worked. It took staff about three hours to find out that they could not do anything about the tv. If you stay in winter you will need extra blankets as the duvets are awful! Running a hotel they should know that you cannot wash duvets in a machine. They were lumpy and worse than i would even expect at a backpacker hostel. The worst I have ever had at any hotel I have ever stayed at!!! As they are really just two sheets with some lumps in we asked for blankets, which we had to ask for three times and took hours to get there - after the receptionist making it very clear that we were being a nusciense.

No point in trying to contact the hotel/reservation team in advance either. We wanted to change our reservation to include one more night. When you e-mail them it says that they will get back to you within 24hours, but after two months I am still waiting. We then called and were told it was fine and that we could have one more night for the same price, but the hotel had not been made aware of this change and we had to pay a higher price for one night because the reservation team cannot communicate with the hotels.

I would NEVER stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone. The service was absolutely awful and although it is fairly cheap I don’t think it was good value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    388
    295
    114
    86
See reviews for
284
206
124
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I have been trying for days, based on Trip Advisor reviews, to book this hotel for a month or more while I relocate to DC. I made a reservation online for one month. By the time it was confirmed, the reservation mysteriously changed to one night. I called to change the reservation and got the voicemail. Three days later, no response. I called and spoke to a reservation attendant who repeatedly and dismissively stated she was sorry but did not remedy the issue. I advised her that someone staying for a long term should not be expected to pay daily fluctuating rates. She said I had to speak to someone (who I will not name) specifically. I left this person a message because all I got was voicemail. It is the second day and she, too, has not responded. I am going to find somewhere else to stay that actually cares about potential customers. Apparently, there is no recession affecting their bottom line and there is no intrinsic willingness to provide appropriate customer service in this, a service industry.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed here for one night. It is not near any attractions (located in upper NW DC), but only one block from Van Ness Metro station, which is 6 stops from Metro Center - about 15 mins from Downtown.
If you have no problems with no frills, this Days Inn may save you big time during the week. If you've never stayed in Washington DC before, the weekend is cheap but staying during the week is exceptionally over-priced. Being near the Metro station is the clincher. There's also a few dining options, a pharmacy and Starbucks nearby, so you're not adrift.
There's free wi-fi which was unexpected. The rooms are fine - some limited cable channels, clean, quiet. Strangely, the pillows are really lumpy and hard! Probably the only minus of this standard hotel.
P.S. Make sure you put the privacy sign out on the door if you like a sleep-in, housekeeping came past at 9am.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Hotel was clean, staff was friendly. Not spectacular, but reasonably priced and in a really great location near the Metro and some really good restaurants. Skip Potbelly's, it wasn't great, but the Tesoro Italian Resturant right next door was AWESOME. Really convienient location. After walking and sightseeing all day, it felt just as cozy as home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

I just stayed at this hotel last week when I stopped by DC again. I have to agree with what other posters have said positive things about this hotel. I don't want to repeat everything that has already been mentioned. Generally, it's a fantastic hotel under $100/night for a decent clean room in a quiet safe neighborhood, next to fast food restaurants Burger King, near grocery store and bank ATM, within 5 minutes walk to the west entrance of the "Van Ness-UDC" Metro station on the Red line. The only potential down side (for a hotel <<< $100 - don't forget what you pay for) I can possibly come up with is that the room doesn't have refrigerator or microwave, and it takes 10 to 15 minutes Metro ride to get to downtown DC (Smithsonian, Metro Center, China town, Capitol hill, ...) Then again, if you're a tourist or someone who has plenty of time or someone who doesn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, what do you care because you would want to travel around to do sightseeing or other business errands anyway. Right? Think about that!

I want to make one important suggestion that I don't seem to read about. If you decide to stay at this hotel, DO NOT book it through the pre-paid websites like Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, etc. because they're non-refundable. It's slightly cheaper and more flexible to book directly at the Days Inn website because it's NOT pre-paid (unless you don't show up and don't cancel before 4:00PM). The hotel will charge you only at check-out time. The main reason is obvious. If you book a room for 5 days and decide to check out after staying for 2 days for whatever reasons (say you don't like the hotel), Days Inn will only charge you for the nights that you actually stay (as long as you stay for at least one night of course.) However, you would be stuck and screwed if you book through the pre-paid website because they're non-refundable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

This Days Inn is in a great location, just a 5-minute walk from the Van Ness-UDC metro stop, next door to Burger King (important because the hotel does not provide breakfast) and across the street from some pizza places. CVS pharmacy, Potbelly's, Subway, and some nice European breakfast/lunch spots are nearby between the hotel and the metro stop. I would advise guests to look at their bills carefully upon check-out, however, since they automatically added parking fees and in-room safe fees to my bill even though I was without a car and did not use the safe. The ironing board in my room was not clean, but everything else seemed in good order.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

We stayed there for 4 nights in November, around Remembrance Day. I found this hotel by reading through the Washington hotel reviews on Trip Advisor. It was our second trip to Washington and we flew in and did not have a car.

What I liked about this hotel is the convenient location. We landed in Reagan National Airport and were able to find our way to Van Ness UDC station by Metro, luggage and all.

The hotel is like a 3 minute walk from the Metro station. When we got to the hotel it was about 10 AM and we left our luggage in the hotel and received a baggage ticket. When we got back 10 at night we got our luggage back and went up to our room. We did the same thing on the day we checked out, and it really made things easier to have this handy luggage service.

If you leave the Metro on the west side, you are on the same side as the hotel. If you leave on the east side you can go into Giant food which we did each night to pick up breakfast food or food for the next day.

One day we walked from the hotel to Marjorie Post's Hillwood Estate which is in the Van Ness district and had a pleasant visit there amid her beautiful French and Russian furnishings and art works. It is an intriguing place to visit.

The king bed in the room was very very comfortable, and getting online was no problem. The bathroom was nice, with a granite countertop and nice towels, but turning on the shower and adjusting the temperature was a little iffy, even after three days. The room also had a hair dryer and ironing board.

There were lots of school kids some nights in the lobby, but our floor was very quiet and it was nice to come back to our room at the end of the day.

My husband used the computer in the lobby to print our boarding passes for the flight back home. We liked this hotel which added to our enjoyment of our trip to Washington DC, a great city in itself.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#111 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#112 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#106 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#102 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#120 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Washington, DC - Connecticut Ave.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Washington, DC - Connecticut Ave.

Address: 4400 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Washington, DC - Connecticut Ave. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in town on business or pleasure, our Washington, DC hotel offers quality accommodations, generous amenities, an first class service just three miles form the heart of downtown DC, and just one block away from METRO accessibility. The Days Inn Washington DC-Connecticut Avenue is the perfect hotel to experience the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Washington, DC - Connecticut Ave. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Connecticut Avenue Days Inn
Days Inn Washington Dc
Days Inn Connecticut Ave Washington Dc
Washington Dc Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Washington, DC - Connecticut Ave., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.