We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel steps away from Dupont circle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Morning Glory
Ranked #41 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Charming hotel steps away from Dupont circle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel. Our room was spacious and staff were very helpful..

Our flight was cancelled and we needed an extra night stay. The front desk made our additional night much more enjoyable than the first night!.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear channelkatz,

Thank you so much for your great review of your stay at the Topaz. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you when your flight was cancelled and you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope you will come see us again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    322
    80
    31
    13
See reviews for
149
255
98
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A very well-located and affordable Boutique Hotel, a few blocks from Dupont Circle, one of the most lively neighborhoods in DC. The bedroom was large and elegant, the bathroom functional and the bed very comfortable. Wifi was available free of charge. Breakfast was taken at nearby French bakery "Le Pain Quotidien".

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Equinoxe2013,

Thank you so much for your amazing review of your recent stay at the Topaz. I am really happy to read how much you enjoyed everything and how nice of a time you had.

We hope you will come see us again on your next visit to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

First Kimpton experience.

Older, boutique hotel one block from Dupont Circle. Perhaps, in my opinion, 2 years past it's prime. Booked via a last minute app for a Friday-Sunday stay. At check-in, I was reminded of my method of booking, as if I had not just filled one of their empty rooms. Our room, across the elevator, was as big as the bathroom was small. Great view from the 5th floor. Not sure how I feel about the shampoo/body wash dispenser in the shower. Through several interactions with the front desk over our stay, I just feel as if the staff was unable to help with my questions/requests.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevator as the narrow hallways of this older building gives you little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Jorge V,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall but I do apologize that the team was not able to assist you more with your requests or questions.

We hope you will come and give us another chance on your next visit to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, WA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our group of six had a fabulous experience at the Topaz. We often stay at Kimpton Hotels because of the ambiance, service, and small luxuries like the complimentary wine in the early evening, and the animal print bathrobes! HIghlights of this particular Kimpton were its excellent location off the busy main thoroughfares (a leafy, neighborhood feel to the street), and the genuinely helpful and friendly service of everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Little touches like citrus-flavored water and fresh fruit in lobby at the end of a hot, humid day of sight-seeing are nice touches, as well!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel and higher up tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: All Kimpton Hotels encourage recycling by placing recycling-specific bins in the rooms, but I noticed we had fresh towels every day, despite hanging them up for re-use.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sarah N,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit so much and found the location so comfortable and quiet. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the little touches that we like to do to make things fun and feel more like home.

We hope you will come and see us again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Excellent location - short walking distance to the metro, a block from coffee shops, and when the weather is good, you can walk to a lot of the attractions.
Located off of Dupont Circle, you would miss the hotel if it wasn't for the entryway.
The lobby is small - serving desk functions and the daily wine social Kimpton hotels are famous for.
The room however was very spacious, and decorated in typical Kimpton style (each room in every hotel is a pleasant surprise). Clean, modern, excellent Wifi coverage, and all the amenities you would expect.
Outstanding, friendly service starts before you enter the hotel, and extends throughout the stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Noam Z,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so happy to hear that you had such a good time and found your accommodations to be so comfortable. I am also really excited to read how much you enjoyed the level of service you received from the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Found the Topaz through an online service, as I was in DC for a quick business trip. The Kimpton line is a favorite & Topaz did not disappoint. Expecting a small room, I was surprised by a large space, lovely amenities, and, overall, the gracious Kimpton hospitality. The location is a short walk from numerous interesting neighborhoods, dining choices, etc.

Contrary to the reviewer who complained about dogs, I did not spot or detect any in 2 days. As to parking, in DC, as in many major cities, hotel rates are typically over $40 per night. An alternative is to use a public lot, which average $30 for overnight rates.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Springtraveler06,

Thank you so much for your great review of your recent stay! I am really happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and how comfortable you found your guest room.

I am glad that you were not inconvenienced by any dogs and were able to find a suitable parking option as well and thank you for your understanding on the pricing structure.

We hope you will come and visit us again!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a long overdue review. My family and I stayed here last May and were treated so nicely by the staff. They gave us rooms across from each other and made sure that it was located at the least noisy spot. The rooms are large with a nice layout and even had a powder room. I loved the complimentary wine and location. It is walking distance from restaurants, shops, and the metro. The lobby is a little small and so were the elevators but the staff and hotel itself made up for it. Looking forward to staying at Topaz again and at other Kimpton hotels.

Room Tip: Corner room is large. Had double beds and a a daybed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear samantha l,

Thank you for your amazing review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so happy to read how well the team took care of you and how much you enjoyed your time with us. I am happy that the entire family had so much fun.

We hope you will come see us again on your next visit to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.