We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room near DuPont Circle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $10
Ranked #27 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spacious room near DuPont Circle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family (husband and 2-year-old daughter) stayed in the hotel for one night during a business trip. We had a wonderful room with an modern bath, separate vanity area, large closet, nook with a daybed, desk and lounge chair.

Membership has its' benefits...as an InTouch member, I got free wi-fi and a ($10) mini-bar credit.

The hotel is in a great location. Parking is expensive (over $40/night), but valet service is very efficient and street parking is almost impossible. Staff was warm and greeted me upon entry and exit of the hotel each time. The front desk was well-staffed.

Bar area could be refreshed and the food could be better, but all in all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear jdhlee,

Thank you so much for your great review of your recent stay here at the Topaz. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and the perks of being a member of Kimpton in Touch, our loyalty program.

I am happy that the staff took such good care of you and you enjoyed your guest room so much.

We are looking forward to having you back with us on your next visit to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    285
    71
    27
    12
See reviews for
132
231
91
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here over Memorial Day Weekend. Great location, convenient to restaurants, bars, shopping, transit, etc. Rooms funky and clean. Loved the wine happy hour and fresh fruit infused water. Join tbe rewards program and get free wifi and $10 towards the mini bar! The only bad thing I could say is the water pressure in the shower wasn't too great. Everything else was perfect! Thanks Topaz! We are officially kimpton lovers!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear yennikat,

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us. I am excited to hear how much you enjoyed holiday weekend and the Kimpton experience, including the perks of the loyalty program.

I do apologize about the water pressure, I will look into what issues we may have had over the weekend and thank you for letting us know.

All in all it looks like you had a great time and we can't wait to have you back again. Maybe bookend your summer and come check us out for Labor Day!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After reading good reviews and getting a great deal directly from the hotel (under $150/night when all the other hotels in the area were $200+!), we decided on the Topaz for a last-minute Memorial Day weekend getaway. We drove down from NY and arrived around midnight. We were tired after a long drive, and were pleasantly greeted by a woman at the front desk (Stephanie, I believe). She was friendly and helpful, and even let us know that we were upgraded to an exercise room and would receive free breakfast, wifi and a $10 mini bar credit. (When we told her we would NOT be exercising on this trip, she let us know that the exercise bike would double as a clothes rack - good tip!)

The room was huge, but mainly just wasted space - a couch sitting area, chair & ottoman, desk, velvet curtained chaise lounge "room," vanity sitting area. Given the upgrade, I was expecting a much larger bathroom, but it was just a small, standard one. Also, there were no closets or drawers - bizarre, but didn't really matter for our short 3-night stay. Don't get me wrong - it was great to have the space, but just not necessary unless you were having a lot of guests over. Overall the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean, and that's what mattered most to us!

The location of the hotel was great - on a quiet street in Dupont Circle, a few blocks away from either the Farragut North or Dupont Circle metro stations. We were able to stop at a Starbucks each morning on the way to the metro, there were lots of cute restaurants and shops in the area, and we always felt safe walking around any time of day.

We did try the free breakfast one morning - it wasn't great, but for free, what can you really expect?

Every staff member we spoke to at the Topaz was friendly and helpful. Little things like asking how our night was when we came in, or pressing the elevator button for us, made the stay even better. They even stored our luggage for a few hours after we checked out so we could go to brunch before leaving.

Overall, we had a great stay at the Topaz, and would recommend it as long as you can get a good price! Totally worth it!

Room Tip: Try PMI parking garage around the corner on DeSales - much cheaper than the valet-only option at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Aimee P,

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay here at the Topaz. I am really happy to hear that Stefani was so helpful and you enjoyed your guest room.

I am glad that you enjoyed the location and the staff as well, we hope you will come see us again on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I love Kimpton Hotels and I love that they allow pets (though we were not traveling with ours this time). This hotel was good, but it needs a little updating. It looks like they took an old apartment building or hotel and tried to refurbish it, but they skimped a bit. The bathroom doors are old. The lighting isn't great. The elevators looked worn. That said, the service was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and we couldn't really hear any noise from other rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the elevators. Three of the floors have ice machines - ask which o...
See more room tips
Green Features: Wish they had recycling cans in the rooms for plastic bottles and newspapers, etc.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Diamond00,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your information on the finishings, we will certainly take a look at where we can update some of the doors and design features. I am glad that you found the staff to be so helpful and enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is well located just off of Dupont Circle. Our four night stay was fine from a hotel standpoint, a nice, relatively spacious room had a small bath but this was offset by a handy dressing room. What made the hotel outstanding frankly was the attentive, friendly staff who were extremely helpful and made every guest feel at home. Cold, fruited water in the lobby was a nice touch for hot days and in-touch members receive a $10 credit towards mini bar purchases and free wifi so be sure and sign up before you arrive.

Room Tip: Noise can drift up from the street if events are taking place next door but the view is nicer than i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Tori750,

Thank you for your outstanding review of your stay at the Topaz. I am so glad that you had such a good time with us and enjoyed your room so much. I am super happy to hear how well the team took care of you and how at home you felt. I am glad that you enjoyed the fruit water as well as the perks of the Kimpton In Touch Membership.

We can't wait to have you back with us! Have a great summer!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of my favorite Kimpton hotels in the DC area! The Topaz is cool and low-key, with spacious, stylish rooms. Not sure how similar each room layout is, but I loved the separate dressing area & vanity! Also notable is the food menu in the Topaz Bar... impressive, delicious, and reasonably priced! The location is convenient to everything you need - metro, restaurants, bars. Since the hotel is small, it never feels too busy and you're always greeted by staff when you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Kathleen H,

What can I say, what a fantastic review! I cannot thank you enough for the amazing and kind words. I am so happy that we are one of your favorite DC hotels and we hope you continue to come and see us. I am encouraged to hear how much you enjoyed the Topaz bar menu and how much you love the area as well.

We hope you come back soon.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

With DuPont Circle just two blocks away, this hotel is in a great embassy neighborhood with perfect proximity to eateries, bars and the Metro, without being adjacent to the loud traffic or late-night carousing. The hotel is pet friendly, and separates visitors onto pet- and non-pet floors, so you may run into a Pekingese in the lobby or elevator, but if you're not a pet person, your floor will be yelp-free.

Though we did not dine at the hotel, the bar had a pretty delicious looking menu with veggie options.

The front desk staff is delightful. Parking is pricey, but few of the neighborhood garages allow overnight stays. One block over, at the Cathedral, there is an underground lot that allows overnights for $20 per night, and it is a quick walk back through the alley (not sure if that would be safe at night or not, though we did walk the pups around the neighborhood around 10 and felt perfectly safe). Overall, just great. We are always delighted with the decor and accommodations at Kimpton Hotels. Just because they are pet friendly does NOT mean they are Travelodge-like. In fact, very much the opposite. Posh. Just plain posh.

Room Tip: We like corner rooms. but the view from our spot at the back of the hotel wasn't so pretty; from...
See more room tips
Green Features: The chain is super enviro-friendly. You'll be pleased.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear megawattage,

I am so happy to hear what a nice time you had with us here at the Topaz. I am really glad to hear that you and your pups enjoyed your time with us so much and everything worked out so well for you.

I couldn't help but notice you are from Stroudsburg, PA. I was born and raised in Stroudsburg, right off Chipperfield Drive and graduated from SHS. Small world! However, I digress, most importantly, I am super excited that you had such a great time at Topaz and we do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to DC.

Thank you again and Go Mounties!
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.