We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 50% off parking!
Ranked #22 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Weehawken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My partner and I spent a weekend in Washington DC recently and stayed at The Topaz. From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed and special. The location, near DuPont Circle was convenient -- right in the middle of everything. We enjoyed cocktails and dessert in the Topaz Bar and had a great time. Our room was easily one of, if not the largest we have ever had. We got an Energy King and enjoyed its amenities. But the best asset of the Hotel is the staff. To a person they were helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The hotel does not have fitness facilities (although they do offer free guest passes to a nearby &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ChrisandCarlos,

I am so happy to hear what a wonderful time you guys had with us at the Topaz. Looks like you really enjoyed yourselves and thank you so much for the kind words. Those Energy rooms really are nice and spacious and we are super lucky to have such a great team. Although its easy when you have great guests!

Thank you again so much for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Thanks,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    270
    65
    26
    10
See reviews for
126
216
87
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at the Topaz this past weekend and once a few years ago. The hotel itself is in a very quaint location, located next door to the historic Tabard Inn, and not at all far from the White House and other famous Monuments on the Mall. The rooms at the Topaz are spacious and clean, and the robes are a funky zebra stripe! The mini bar has plentiful snacks and seem to be more reasonably priced than at larger chain hotels. Good, friendly, helpful customer service. I definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear lisalisa0626,

Thank you so much for the outstanding review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Topaz so much and you enjoyed so many of our amenities including the robes and mini-bar.

I am happy to hear how well the staff took care of you also. We look forward to the chance to do it again. Hope to see you on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Topaz in the middle of April and really enjoyed the experience. From the warm and friendly greeting by the doorman to the check in staff, and Rick the Barman during cocktail and canapes hour, we felt welcomed and very much at home. We like the low key, down to earth, but always friendly and helpful manner of all the staff. Any time we left or returned to or from the hotel, we always received a warm greeting. A very good team.

Room Tip: We chose a corner room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ColinGToronto_Canada,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such an outstanding review of your stay at the Topaz. I am really delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your experience and how well the desk team and Rick took care of you.

We can't wait to see you again so we can do it all over.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Topaz for a couple of nights while visiting DC. The hotel is a couple of blocks from DuPont Circle so it is in a very nice and trendy part of DC.

Our room was very nice and overlooked N Street. The views of the brownstones was nice. The windows were big and across the entire room which allowed plenty of light into the room and really made it feel open and airy. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was nice. There isn't much room for toiletries by the sink since the countertop is small due to the modern sink.

The staff at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming. Definitely liked the Happy Hour they offer from 5 - 6pm in the Bar area which includes complimentary red and white wine and beer. They also have a some basic apps included. All in all a very nice touch. We purchased some additional apps and the food was very good. We also ate breakfast there (Continental) during our stay as we had free breakfast included with our stay. The choices were more than sufficient (bagels, pastries, breads, yogurts, granola, cereal, etc). A very nice way to start the day off. They even had complimentary bags to make your own trailmix to take out with you as a snack.

Another nice perk is that you can use their bikes to bike ride through the city. It is complimentary (loaned) and is great especially compared to how expensive it is to rent bikes through the bikeshare program or the inconvenience of having to bring your own bikes. Definitely worth taking advantage of this nice little perk.

They offer valet parking ($50/night) which is rather expensive. There is a much more affordable parking garage operated by PMI on M street between 17th and 18th that is only $22/night. It's a very short walk and will save you $28/night that you can put to better use, like food and booze!

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Topaz and would stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear ThePhillyCritic,

Thank you for the outstanding review of your stay here at the Topaz. Looks like you really engrossed yourself in the Kimpton experience while you were with us. You are able to enjoy our breakfast, wine hour and bike program! That is awesome to see that you not only used them, but enjoyed them as well.

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the size of the and bed. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Service is terrible. Was expecting a retro kinda hotel but not so outdated... They need to seriously do an upgrade. Felt unsafe, only one fire exit in every floor. Was told that there's wifi, but you have to sign up and pay for it.Bottom line very poor customer service, not worth of the price we pay. The only upside that I could think of is the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sorcor,

I am very sorry for the poor stay that you had with us. I am honestly somewhat surprised that you had such a poor experience and I was hoping to get some more information from you. The team here really prides itself on delivering top quality service to all of our guests and I am sorry that we did not deliver for you.

Just some minor clarificaitons on some of the items that you mentioned, the property underwent a full rooms and public area renovation only 2 years ago, so the product is still fairly new. Also, we do in fact have 2 fire exits on each floor, one on either side of the elevator. Wireless internet is in fact complementary if you sign up for our Kimpton In Touch loyalty program, which also entitles you to $10 off of your mini bar charges among other perks.

That all being said, I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience and I would like to get some more details if you are willing, please send them directly to me at ryan.cimei@topazhotel.com.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We got a great deal through Snique away and we took the queen/queen room. The location is excellent, the staff is outstanding!!! The service and the smiles are amazing, they really go out of the way to help you.
The hotel is charming and quirky, clean and quiet.
Great breakfast, great happy hour.
We will be back! Thank you guys!

Room Tip: The queen queen is nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Globetrotter25,

Thank you so much for the amazing review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so excited to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and how well the staff the staff took care of you. We are lucky to have a great crew here.

I am excited to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast as well, we just rolled out that menu and I am happy to hear that its being well received.

We can't wait to have you back with us again next time.

Thanks again,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I typically like Kimpton hotels for their funky atmospheres. This one is tucked on a quiet street in Washington DC. I chose a yoga room out of curiosity. The bedroom was huge and It literally had a little meditation corner along with yoga mat & blocks. Also was an exercise bike by the TV. I loved waking up, doing yoga stretches, then hopping on my own exercise bike for a spin while watching TV. Great way to start day while on a business trip! Staff there was friendly. Free coffee/tea is lobby in morning. I arrived too late for wine party. Only downside was I noticed mold in my toilet so housekeeping could have been improved. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear 2travelingscientists,

First off your screen name for Tripadvisor is probably the coolest one I have seen to date, love it! Secondly, thank you so much for the amazing review of your stay here at the Topaz. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time so much and the yoga room worked out so well for you. Sounds like you are a morning person, up and working out and stretching bright and early. Good for you! I do apologize for the minor houskeeping issue, I will follow up with my team to make sure the details are being really look at.

We hope to have you back with us on your next visit. Maybe you can get motivated for a morning workout. Haha.

Thanks again,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.