We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed in our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #25 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed in our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Topaz for 4 nights the first week of April. It is a great little boutique hotel located on a very nice, quiet residential street. The decor is sort of a strange Moroccan vibe but the rooms are large, clean and quiet. We loved the location within easy walking distance to great shops and restaurants on Dupont Circle. Actually, an easy walk to the White House and even Georgetown. We had omelets every morning and they were delicious, fairly priced and quite a bit of food. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We didn't have any drinks at the bar but did have drinks at the Tabard Inn next door. We loved the bar there. Very small but a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear nordahl44,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so excited to hear that you had such a nice time and were able to get around the city so easily. With all that walking, hopefully you had on comfortable shoes.

I am also super happy to hear that you enjoyed your omelets at breakfast, we just added those items to the menu, so it is great to hear that they are being well received.

We hope to have you back with us on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    294
    72
    28
    12
See reviews for
134
240
95
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Topaz definitely met my expectations of a Kimpton property during my stay. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful in any and every way. I had occasion to inquire about the fridge in my room and was impressed (if unsurprised) by their speed in addressing the issue and following up with me. The property itself is extremely well-located, clean, and comfortable; the room was much larger than I would have expected! I did have some issues with the television; grainy reception made it difficult to watch most channels, which was odd. I was not in the room long enough for this to be an issue, so I didn't mention it to the staff but have every confidence that they would have resolved the issue if I had. I travel to DC regularly on business and suspect that Topaz will become my go-to hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LaurenandRyan,

Thank you so much for the amazing review of your recent stay at the Topaz. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your guest room and how well the staff took care of you. As you noticed, we are currently working through some issues with TV signal, but we hope to have that taken care of ASAP.

We look forward to hopefully being your hotel of choice on your travels to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thirteen members of our family stayed here for a family wedding. There were also another 20 or more wedding party members, family and friends staying here for several days. All of my family felt it was one of the best hotel experiences we have had. I did not hear any negative word from any of the other folks either. The best part was the very personal service from staff who remembered my name, were very well-informed about local directions and recommendations, and were sincere warm individuals! They even had hula hoops in the lobby for the children during the weekend! Loved it and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear CJD454,

Wow! What an outstanding review of your family's time here at the Topaz. I cannot thank you enough for the amazing kind words. I am so happy to hear that the team took such great care of you all and that everyone had such a nice time.

Weddings are always a fun and joyous occasion, and I am glad that we could help to add to the fun atmosphere and vibe.

We hope you have someone else get married in DC so we can do it again!

Thanks again,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our room at the Topaz was a good size and comfortable. The soundproofing in the hotel is very good. We never heard any noise from another room. All of the employees we encountered were helpful and polite. The location near Dupont Circle was what we expected, with a very short walk to the metro.
We are Kimpton in touch members and have high expectations that have been met at the New York Kimptons we've stayed at. Therefore, we were not happily surprised to find that there was a good sized hole in a sheet that we discovered after we were in bed. We requested the linens be changed the next day which they were, but ... We also have a paper delivered to our room as in touch members. This did not happen one day of our stay. When I was at the front desk I noticed a large stack of papers behind the desk. Apparently, they never delivered them to the rooms. In other words, although we would stay here again, there was not as much attention to detail as at other hotels in this group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear siva2,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you overall enjoyed your stay and you found the staff helpful. I am also glad that you were not disturbed by any noise from the hallways or other guests.

I do want to apologize for the issue with the sheet and the inconsistencies in the service. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will certainly look into where the breakdowns were.

We hope you will come see us again and thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton hotels.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I absolutely loved staying in this hotel. For an adorable boutique hotel in a fun neighborhood, it is very affordable and offers up a lot of cute touches that set it above and beyond. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the room was spotless with a ridiculously comfortable bed. The toiletries in the bathroom are high quality, and if you're a Kimpton member you get a $10 credit towards the minibar. There is also a wine and cheese happy hour reception every afternoon. We skipped the breakfast, but it looked pretty good, and they have frequent website promotions that include free breakfast with the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Emily K,

I really can't thank you enough for your oustanding review of your recent stay at the Topaz. I am so happy to hear how much fun you guys had and how well you enjoyed your guest room, the service and the perks such as the wine hour and mini bar credit. Next time all you have to do is make sure you enjoy breakfast!

Thank you very much again, its always a great way to start a day to read about how much fun someone had staying with us.

We can't wait to have you back next time.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over a holiday weekend and were so pleased. Very good location to the metro and good nearby restaurants, comfortable and clean room, excellent service. Our dog came along with us and it was very easy with her. We look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Chaz717,

Thank you for your outstanding review of your recent stay at the Topaz. We are all super excited to hear what a great time you had and how much you guys and your pup enjoyed your entire experience.

We look forward to having you come back and see us again!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We find that you can't go wrong with any Kimpton Group hotels. We've stayed at so many and found that The Topaz in DC was a wonderful respite from the main DuPont Circle hotels.
You can expect a friendly staff, wonderful decor and very comfy beds. Our room on the 6th floor was very spacious with a separate desk area, dressing area and couch. They always have a complimentary wine hour...wish it was from 5:30-6:30 instead of 5-6, but they'll take care of you if you're a bit late.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear theleftbank,

Thank you so much for the outstanding review of your stay here at the Topaz. We are all so excited to hear what a great time you had with us and how much you enjoyed the staff and your guest room. We are also glad that you were able to enjoy our Wine Hour, not a bad idea keeping it open until 6:30.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.